We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay, but you need a car to go anywhere else” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada (Calgary Trail South)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #25 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Victoria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“nice place to stay, but you need a car to go anywhere else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for several days on family vacation. Room was quiet to external noises, but the a/c (which we needed) was noisy (although effective) when it went on. The hot breakfast was very good for a hotel. Beds were comfy and the fitness room was adequate. Staff were friendly and seemed competent. My least favorite part of the stay was the location. Yes, reasonably easy to find and access, but in a part of town which demanded using a vehicle for going anywhere. There is light rail access to downtown, but it is a 1.5 mile walk to reach (and that park and ride lot fills early) - and we didn't see a bus anywhere near the hotel during our stay. There is shopping and dining nearby, but it is very spread out in a big box development and not easily accessible on foot. There was an independent family restaurant/diner next door (walking distance!) which we tried and liked. Overall, very good value, but don't plan to walk anywhere - you'll need a vehicle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear 65Rambler,

Thank you very much for your time to post a review on your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

First of all, please accept our apologies for the air conditioning noise you had encountered. We conduct routine check up on a regular basis. Please do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk so we could send our maintenance staff to solve the problem immediately.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the quiet rooms and comfortable beds. Thanks for your compliments to our friendly and knowledgeable staffs, as well as the very good complimentary breakfast and the well-equipped fitness room.

It is great that you found it easy to locate our hotel though we are not situated directly along the bus stop route. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance close by our hotel such as a family diner, the Saratoga within 1-minute walk on left of the hotel. About 2-minute walk from the hotel, you will find Nellos Italian Restaurant, Japanese Village Restaurant. A 3-minute walk will take you to the Cora Breakfast & Lunch Restaurant. A 5-minute drive will bring you to the South Common Strip Malls where there are lots of shops and restaurants. A 10-minute drive will take you to the Southgate Centre shopping mall with shops and a food court loaded with F&B outlets serving international cuisines. To name a few: KFC, A&W, Arby’s, Edo Japan, Pizza Hut, Opa Souvlaki, Thai Express, Koryo Korean BBQ, Taco Time, New York Fries, Joey Seafood, Extreme Pita and so on.

It is certainly more convenient to have a vehicle as it will only take minutes to the shopping malls such as the South Common, Southgate Centre, Kingsway mall, West Edmonton mall and other sightseeing spots. In the case you do not feel like walking or driving, you can consult our Front Desk staff to provide you with a list of restaurants who offer take out menus and delivery services.
We hope the above information will help make your future stays more relax. We sincerely hope to have the opportunities to serve you and your family on your next vacations.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    57
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
24
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I am a big fan of Holiday Inn Express Hotels and choose them as often as I can. This property is one of the reasons I do so. A nice looking hotel in a good location with easy parking all around. A nice greeting from the front desk where they immediately acknowledged my "Gold" status. Check in was prompt and they changed our room to the top floor (my personal preference) without a fuss). The rooms are typical HIEX but nevertheless, very nice. Refrigerators and microwaves in every room, good counter space, a large flat screen TV and a nice reading chair with a lamp. The bath was large with lots of counter and good lighting. The room in general felt crisp and clean (as it should). There is a nice size pool and hot tub along with a business center that is very useful. The breakfast was one of the best I have had at a HIEX. Instead of one attendant (as there usually is) there were 3 and they greeted each person as they arrived. The food was plentiful and hot. There was a choice of bacon and two different types of sausage as well as a choice of scrambled eggs or a omelet. A real but important distinction for me was they didn't water down the fruit juices as so often is the case. The internet connection was easy and strong. I will stay here again when in Edmonton.

Room Tip: There is not good or bad side to this Holiday Inn Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear jwkrengel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review from your recent experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We are glad that you found our hotel location convenient with easy parking. It is very nice to hear that our hotel exterior, interior decorations and in room amenities and hotel facilities such as the complimentary breakfast, indoor pool, hot tub and business centre, internet connections have measured up to your satisfaction.

We will definitely pass on your kind comment to our colleagues at the front desk, breakfast room and housekeeping department to show them their job well done have met our valued guest’s expectations. This will certainly motivate them to continue to provide exceptional services.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We value you as a IHG Rewards Gold member and we sincerely thank you for your wonderful comments and full support to our team.

We look forward to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumbler Ridge, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here on July 18 to 19th, 2013. Easy to book online and was easy to change up reservation when my plans changed

Rooms were nice and clean and the air conditioning worked!!

Breakfast was great....not just cereal and toast. The breakfast room was busy, and there was still room to move around and serve yourself.

Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Roxanne G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review from your recent experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We are delightful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate and thank you for telling us our housekeeping staff have accomplished their job well and were able to deliver nice and clean rooms with functional air conditionings.

We will share your encouraging remarks with our team and it will definitely make their day.

We are also very happy that you found our breakfast varieties to be great and that you found our breakfast room got sufficient space to move around comfortably in spite of the busy mornings.
It is indeed very convenient for you to be able to make hotel reservations and any amendments with us online at your own comfort whenever necessary.

We thank you so much for your kind recommendations, wonderful comments and great support at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had reservations at another hotel that ended up giving our room away. Holiday Inn Express South were so amazing when we called looking for a room. They had two left, one that would fit our family of four. They gave us a discount as well and were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, up to date and well looked after. We will definitely stay here again. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Christina D,

Thank you for sharing your first personal experiences with us during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

It is our pleasure to be able to provide you and your family with comfortable accommodation and good hospitality services. We are always here ready to help with any of your accommodation needs and we are just a phone call away. We are very glad that you found our room modern and clean. Thanks to our diligent housekeepers and we will share your encouraging words with them all.

Our hotel is in fact located in a very convenient part of Edmonton. Should you need any local dining, shopping and entertainment advice on your next visits, please do not hesitate to contact our front desk clerk, they will provide you with the numerous options of restaurants, shops, malls, cinemas, around the hotel area.

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to visit us again soon, until then, please take care.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just went to Edmonton for a concert with family. The reviews were excellent for this hotel, they were right! The room looked brand new and the beeding was fantastic. It was exceptionally quiet, even slept with the window open. Spacious room with a new large LCD TV. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied with lots of options including an automated pankake maker, breads, danish, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt and cereals. The coffee was excellent and even took one to go. The staff was accomodating and friendly. The dining area was more spacious than most hotels have for breakfasts. Very convenient location with ample parking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Travelfoodwrtiter,

We appreciate your time to write us your personal experiences about your recent stay with your family at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

It is a joy to read your reviews telling us our hospitality service team has performed and met with your high expectations. Our team is extremely happy and super excited to learn that they are able to provide you and your family a happy and relaxing stay with us.

Thanks for mentioning the convenient location of our hotel with ample parking; rooms are spacious, quiet and fantastic beddings like new with a large LCD television. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed the complimentary breakfast with plentiful options of hot and cold items and excellent coffee. You are welcome to help yourself a cup of hot coffee on the house any time during your stay with us.

Thank you again for such a supportive and encouraging review.We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The general room cleanliness was not up to par for the price of the room. There was still previous guests hair in the bathtub and used soaps on the bathroom counter. The pool area was very untidy with wet towels all over the floor and the whirlpool was not hot at all, I wouldnt even call it lukewarm. Very unsatisfied, not worth the $155/night. I will not stay here again, nor would i recommend this location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Jen1907,

Thank you for your review and comments which we appreciate.

Our hotel follows the IHG Corporate guidelinein room cleaning and set up procedures. Our Housekeeping Supervisors will conduct a final check-up for each and every room after they are being sanitized and made up. In extremely rare occasion of any oversight human errors, we will be happy to make it up on the spot by either redo / replace a new room for you. We apologize and hope for your understanding.

Our pool and whirlpool have just been renovated and we had follow every strictly to the City’s health regulations in maintaining its hygiene. The pools are very popular in our hotel and constantly in use by our guests. At times, kids had left behind towels on the ground without placing back to the laundry bin. Our housekeepers will collect them from time to time only if they hadleft the area.

The temperature of the whirlpool is computerized and pre-set at a comfortable level for all guests. Individual body temperature may react differently to the water temperature.

Please be informed that all hotel room rates are set daily and fluctuates based upon supply and demand. Early reservations will guarantee you the rate at time of bookings. You might be interested in our Jacuzzi room on your next visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I found the hotel to be just OK. The hotel seems to be fairly new, and reasonably well-maintained; I found staff to be pleasant. The issue for me is that I'm a light sleeper, and always ask to be assigned a room in a quiet area of the hotel, away from elevators. I requested this at the time of booking, and confirmed that this would be the case at the time of check-in. I got to my room (about three down from the elevator), and found it to be directly beside a very busy and noisy road. Add to that the fact that there were hairs on the bathroom floor, and a faint smell of BO in the room, I won't be returning any time soon.

Room Tip: Away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Cheekywoman,

Thanks for taking time to write us your comments on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We thank you for the nice compliments to our pleasant staff and well-maintained property.

We are sorry to hear that you found your room location not to your preference, though it was away from the elevators at your request. Please be informed that special room request from guest during bookings are subject to availability. We could never guarantee or confirm any guest room request until they check-in at our front desk. And, we will try our very best to accommodate our guests needs based on the actual hotel scenario such asroom occupancy and roomtype availability.

You mentioned about finding hairs on the bathroom floor, and a faint smell of poo in the room – which were shocking to us. We wish you had brought these up to our attention on the spot during the time for our immediate investigation and rectification. We take cleanliness and hygiene of our hotel property very seriously. We take pride of our housekeeping team for their hard working and dedication each day to disinfect and clean every corner of each and every room thoroughly and professionally. We will never sell a room that have bad smell without final inspections and approval by our Executive Housekeepers or Supervisors. Again, we apologize for any mishaps and inconvenience caused byhuman errors or miscommunications.

On your next Edmonton trip, please accompany your family and friends to visit us. We are confident and believe that you will be happy to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.