We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada (Calgary Trail South)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites mid-February during a quick trip to Edmonton for shopping. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hallway was very quiet even though it was a holiday weekend and there were lots of families and children about. No noise at all. The breakfast room was bright and clean with lots of choices for breakfast. We were very surprised at all the selection from a full breakfast with eggs, bacon and sausage to cereal, breads, cinnamon rolls, and even pancakes. Lots of milk, juice, and yogurt. A daily newspaper is a nice bonus. Parking is good. We didn't use the pool area or fitness center - too busy shopping and burning up the calories! The hotel is basically across the road from South Edmonton Common and IKEA is just down the street a minute or two. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Staff were all friendly. There is coffee, microwave, and fridge in the rooms. If I had to complain about one thing, it would be there was no fan in the bathroom - but no big deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear SaskatoonSunLover,

Thank you for your encouraging review during your mid-February visit with your friend to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We are glad to hear that you have had a pleasant experience with us and that we are able to meet up with your expectations. It was truly our pleasure to serve you both.

Our staff will be extremely happy to know that they have given a friendly impression to our dear guests. Thank you for your compliments on our clean comfortable room, quiet surroundings, bright breakfast room with plenty of food and beverage choices, and good parking. Our hotel is situated in a convenient location for both business and entertainment. We are nearby lot of shops, supermarkets, international cuisine, cinemas, etc.

Sorry for the confusion about the bathroom exhaust fan. Our hotel is using the Central Exhaust Vent system. There is an unnoticeably quiet exhaust vent in every bathroom. We would be pleased to show you how it is working on your next visit.

We hope that you could try out our fitness centre and the indoor pool as well. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you and your friends as our regular guests. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    59
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
62
25
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night (valentines day) en route to Jasper. It was a nice, clean, modern hotel. Quick check in, slow elevator, clean and comfy standard room.

Breakfast was decent (what I expect from a hotel breakfast)- pancake machine is kind of neat but I still prefer waffles. They also had a managers banquet when we arrived in Thursday evening, we did not partake but it's a nice extra for their guests.

My only complaint was the smell of cigarette smoke wafting in from the back doors while waiting for the elevator.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear WinniCalGirl,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South as your Valentine’s stay enroute to Jasper. We appreciate it very much for taking time to share with us your reviews.

We are delighted to learn that you found our hotel to be nice, clean and modern with quick check-in and clean comfy room.

A high traffic volume usage between floors could increase the waiting time for the elevator a bit at times. We will look into the cigarette smoke smell coming from the back door as it should be kept close at all times. Our houseman will clean and sanitize the lobby and surrounding areas regularly. We will remind them to deodorize the area again to eliminate any odour. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We are so happy that you enjoy the morning breakfast and find it fun to use the pancake machine. Please join us at the managers ’ banquet next time you are here. We hope to see you back to our hotel again very soon with your loved ones on your en-route back from Jasper or otherwise on your next occasions.

We, at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South wish you and your family a happy New Year 2013.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athabasca, AB
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. My most recent stay was on Jan. 31st. the staff was professional and polite, and gave complimentary late check out (2pm) on my request. The rooms are clean and smell clean, too. Beds are comfortable. The fridge & microwave in my room was very clean and no funky fridge smell. I slept in past breakfast so no comment on that. the fitness center is adequate and clean. The pool area was clean although the chlorine was rather strong (I may have been there right after a pool treatment)..... the Wi-Fi internet was a little slow at times. Will probably stay again when I have things to do in the area. In my opinion, this is better than the run-down, so-called "luxury" hotels in the city center, and it's cheaper too.

Just as a general FYI - Parking was free and there was plenty of it in the back (along with a back door directly next to the elevators). Across the highway is a major shopping center with stores and restaurants at various price points. Also a convenient location if you are heading to the international airport or heading south towards Calgary by car the next morning since it is right on the highway.

All in all a good, decent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear daypack,

We appreciate your time to write us an amazing review about your Jan 31st stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

It is a great pleasure reading your reviews telling us how we are able to measure up with your expectations in providing a fulfilling and relaxing stay with us. Your review has certainly light up the hearts of our entire staff team; our eyes are all smiling and our feelings are up and beyond clouds nine…

Thanks for telling us our staff are professional and polite. Our rooms and amenities are clean and smelling good. Our beds are comfortable plus free parking space within the premises. We hope you are able to experience our breakfast on your next visit. We will try our utmost effort to upkeep with our excellent services. Thank you for being so supportive to our team.

We wish you, your family and friends a Happy, Healthy, Lucky and Prosperous New Year 2013.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Walburg
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I needed to be in the South Common area of Edmonton for a couple of days so I picked the closest hotel. This Holiday Inn is pretty new with a quick check in, great breakfast and sparkling clean rooms. Everyone I dealt with was professional and courteous which is a bonus these days. Its kind of off by itself where it sits but all the shopping and restaurants are only a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear deadmetalrising:

Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy schedule to write us a review to express your personal experiences during your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed our great complimentary breakfast and sparkling clean rooms. Our front desk clerk was able to make a positive impression to you by providing quick check-in on your arrival. We are grateful that you have pointed out that all the shopping and restaurants are only a couple blocks away from our hotel.

Your compliments to our hotel and services meant a lot to our staff team, there is nothing better and more meaningful and encouraging to them than the genuine positive remarks directly from our hotel guests on their performances and we will definitely share your lovely review with our team.

We will sure to read through the lines of your review over and over again, to remind our team their hard work are being rewarded by the great appreciation of our dear guests, who tell us they are happy while their stay with us, and enjoying the professional, courteous and efficient services we have provided.

We hope to welcome you, your family and friends back again as our regular guests and be part of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South family in the years to come.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is an account of our stay on Dec. 7th to Dec. 8th.
It had been a while since my wife and I had stayed at the HIE Edmonton South, but when a deal came up for an upcoming trip to Edmonton, we decided to book again as we remember it being a very welcoming and an enjoyable stay.
Our initial greeting was well received but we were not offered complimentary bottled water and snack upon our arrival. This was offered before to Priority Club members the last time we stayed (Jan. 2012). I did not inquire but was a bit disappointed loyalty members were getting the same perks as before. Our check in was prompt, which was a plus.
We did not stay in our room long after check in as we had plans that night. However, we were looking forward to a comfortable stay as we had come to expect a clean and comfortable room and had rarely been disappointed with this HIE location. Upon returning to our room at approx. 1:00AM, we began to notice long dark hairs on the pillows and bedding, indicating that a proper turn down/cleaning service had not been completed prior to our arrival (or possibly longer). We asked for extra pillows, which were promptly delivered to our room which was a positive, considering the hour.
The next morning, more of the same long black hairs were found in the bathroom, with large amounts in the hair dryer. My wife had to pick them out herself to use the hairdryer. Upon checkout, we brought our concerns with the front desk (different employee from the previous night). She shared our concern and quickly wrote the incident down in a ledger to be passed on to the housekeeping service. She assured us that our Priority Club membership would be compensated 1000 points (according to her, the equivalent of a nights stay). She said the points would be in our account within 2-3 days. We thanked her and left.
Today, I checked to see if the promised points had been added. To my delight, they were, however, I also looked into how many points are ACTUALLY required to redeem a full nights stay. Much to my dismay, for a night's stay at the HIE Hotel and Suits Edmonton South, I us redeem 15,000 points. So in fact, we were not compensated at all for an insufficiently clean room. For future visitors, I would ensure that all issues are brought up AND dealt with as soon as possible to ensure 100% satisfaction.

As a Priority Club Member, I did not feel like my loyalty was rewarded with this stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Dan N,

Thank you for writing us a review for your stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

Priority Club Rewards program rewards members for their room reservations made directly with the Holiday Inn hotels only and not for bookings made and paid through a third party. As your booking was dealt with a third party, we were unable to provide the program reward points and the complimentary bottle of water and snack for your room night on December 7th. We apologize for that.

The number of points required to redeem a reward room night is varied based on different hotel category and room type. Please refer to our hotel official websites for more information.

We wish you had notified us of the long black hairs found on the pillows and bedding when we brought in your extra pillows so we could take immediate action to renew your beddings or get you another room instantly. Turn down service is not available at the Holiday Inn Express hotels. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We did double check that u received 1000 bonus points for any inconvenience, it will be on your next statement.

We hope to welcome you back again to experience our true hospitality service.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Edmonton for one night for his company Christmas party.

I have stayed in several hotels recently, and I must say that this was the cleanest room I have stayed in.

The service at the front desk could use some work (and some personality), especially when dealing with rewards members (shouldn't you know how to look up the rewards # on the computer? They can at other Holiday Inn's!)

The continental breakfast is awesome, with lots of selection of hot & cold foods and the fruit was fresh.

All in all, it was a decent stay and we will be back when visiting Edmonton.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Calgarygrl11,

Many thanks for writing us a review to let us know what we have done right and where we should make room for improvements.

We are glad to hear that you found our room to be the cleanest one you had stayed by far. We are also happy that you found our continental breakfast to be awesome with sufficient choices of hot and cold items with fresh fruits and that you enjoyed very much.

We will ensure all our front desk team including the newly appointed know how to deal with rewards members. Thank you for pointing that to us and we apologize if there was any inconvenience caused.

We hope to welcome you and your spouse back to our hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here with my hubby & kids. Seriously not convenient to drive to. Suite was small & not worth what we paid. Beds were hard & lumpy. Room was so hot I had a bleeding nose & 2 of us were sick by morning. Would not go back to this holiday inn

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear T O,
Thank you for your time to write us your experience at Holiday Inn Express Inn & Suites Edmonton South.

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the beds in our room. We are also surprise to hear that your room is too hot as there is an adjustable thermostat available in each room. You are welcome to contact the front desk 24/7 should you need any assistance.

We hope that you will visit us again so we can demonstrate our true hospitality.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.