We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch for extra charges on your Card!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada (Calgary Trail South)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Watch for extra charges on your Card!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

While the room was alright, and the buffet was ok but it was included so good enough, I'd stick to cereal and fruit. After check-out we realized they charged us for my mother-in-law's room. This took quite awhile to fix because the first person we talked was rude and unwilling to do anything about it. Overall, I wasn't impressed, back to the Ramada for me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Danielle N,

Thanks very much for your review on your recent trip to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

After reading your concern, our Management team will look into our portfolio to see why your mother-in-law room charge was being billed to your account at time of your check-out. We usually charge our guests during their check-out according to their booking and billing instructions provided by the reservations department, unless otherwise specified.

The scenario that your mother-in-law’s room charge was being billed to your room account, are possibly due to a miscommunication on either parties or an unintentional human error on our side. The fact that the first front desk agent was rude and unwilling to help you is totally unacceptable to us. Nevertheless, we will investigate these issues and rectify it so as to avoid similar misunderstanding or inappropriate manner from occurring again. We sincerely apologize for any confusion and frustration caused.

We are glad that the second front desk agent was able to fix your account in the end. On the other hand, we are sad to hear that you are upset and not impressed. We hope that you will forgive and forget about the unfortunate incidents and will come back to visit us in another time.

Our front desk agents are professionally trained to ensure all our guests have a memorable experience throughout their stay with us. After all, we have great confident and believe that you will find us to be friendly, helpful and impressive again should you come back.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    59
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
62
25
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Beautiful hotel and kind and professional staff. Nice breakfast and very clean rooms. Heated pool and jacuzzi are great.

Room Tip: Reserve early for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear JohnHolloway0528,

Many thanks for sharing your invaluable compliments to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South on your recent stay with us, which we deeply appreciated.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us. We are extremely happy to know that you have found our hotel to be beautiful, rooms to be very clean, breakfast are nice and our staff and Front Office Manager to be kind and professional. It is also great that you were able to relax and enjoy the heated pool and the Jacuzzi while you stay at the hotel.

On your next visit to our hotel, you may also love to make use of the fully equipped fitness centre on site. We have also got a fully equipped business centre for your business and communication use. Should you need a meeting room for your special meeting occasion, you can contact our front desk agent for assistance.

Providing our valuable guests with a fresh and clean environment in addition to offering the highest quality of hospitality service remains to be our number one priorities.

Thank you again for sharing your wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcome you to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I am writing this review for the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Edmonton South. My daughter plays indoor soccer and after winning cities, we were off to provincials in Edmonton. We always stay at the Ramada, which has been nice for our family and our team. Our last tournament into Edmonton we noticed the Holiday Inn Suites and thought we would stop by and check it out. After our tournament and on our way back to Calgary my wife, daughter and myself stopped in for a look. We were welcomed by a fully staffed front desk that was very eager to help us. We told them that we had always stayed at the Ramada and asked them to show us why we and the entire team should make the switch. They showed us the guest rooms which are large, modern, clean and easy to get to. They also showed us the pool, work out area, meeting rooms (team gathering room) and the breakfast area. They told us what was included with our stay and one of the hardest things for us when going for the tournaments is Breakfast. We thought about it, pitched the team and we all booked. A little nervous, as we hoped they could come through with what they had explained to us. Upon arrival I asked to speak to Robin the Front Desk Manager, well lets just say, one of the best most professional people I have dealt with in a long-time. I explained that we were looking forward to our first visit with our team to her hotel. Well to shorten the story, they passed with flying colors. Fully staffed all the time, breakfast was a game changer for our girls and very accommodating for our team. This hotel has earned our business in the future and we will be letting everyone know about our fantastic experiences and will encourage them to stay there.
John Whitney

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Mr. John Whitney,

We would like to thank you for your valuable review on your recent visit with your family and the athletic team to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

It is a true inspiration for those who have the privilege of serving you, your family and your team. Through all these positive comments, it will enable us to further upkeep and improve the quality of our hotel facilities and customer services in the right direction to attain the highest level of hospitality professionalism.

We would like to express our sincere thanks to your appreciation to our friendly front office, breakfast and housekeeping teams for their good customer services. Robin will be so happy to learn that she has made an impressive welcome on your visit.

We are very grateful for your generosity to promote our hotel through your personal recommendation and experiences. It is wonderful to see some of our loyal guests, such as yourself, continue to return to our hotel. We take great pride in providing our guests with outstanding hospitality services and we are proud to be your “favorite hotel in Edmonton”.

On your next family gatherings and/or athletic team events, you might consider hosting a luncheon parties at one of our meeting rooms, we will be happy to assist in catering arrangement. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of assistance in any aspect.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming your back to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is my 2nd visit to this hotel. They are getting better & better. Same time last year, the breakfast room was packed with long line up. This year they added a separate hot station to place all the hot items which was good as I don't have to wait in queue anymore. Kim & Losa serving at the breakfast bar are very caring and friendly, making sure I am ok. I love my spacious room, the houskeepers did a fantastic job and I was able to soak in the sparkling clean tub. I enjoyed my stay here and feeling very relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Mr. Willy G,

Thank you for spending time from your busy schedule to write us an appreciative review. It will certainly uplift our team members work spirits to perform better and best to serve our valuable guests like yourself.

Your satisfaction of our staff team members’ performance will highly motivated their enthusiasm towards better hospitality professionalism. We are truly proud of our team members who are able to attend to details to ensure our dear guests having a pleasurable and wonderful stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

At Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South, each staff members are always readily to serve you and to observe your needs. We will definitely share your favorable remarks with our breakfast attendants – Kim, Losa and our housekeeping team members at our operation meetings.

We understand the importance of having a nice heart-warming and good nutritional breakfast to start a fresh morning, either preparing for a long busy work day or having fun with families and friend for sight-seeing tours and shopping. A cup of great aromatic coffee on the house. After a long day of work or fun, you may also like to dip into the whirlpool for some relaxation.

We are very happy to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us. You may also like to utilize the business equipments featured in our Business Centre. Our hotel priority is to ensure that all our guests both on business and leisure to find our hotel amenities, facilities and services to be exceptional and beyond their high expectations.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Front desk was caring and very helpful as were the excellent breakfast staff. Hotel is new and easily accessed from highway. Rooms are very modern and comfortable though could have been cleaner, ie: a hair in the bathroom corner, smudges, deeply scratched doors and badly wrinkled, though clean, I hope, bedding, The elevator cars were also very dirty, especially for such a new hotel. Also, build quality seems to be falling.
Breakfast was very good as is with most Holiday Inns.
Beds are excellent and room was very quiet.
Next time we will look for better maintenance. Another $20.00 and we,re in a 4 star.
I would like to end by saying "Nice and New" but I have to say: "New and and a little pricey".

Room Tip: Demand Clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear TucsonGrant,

We thank you for your time to complete the review on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South. As a valued business traveler we sincerely appreciate your feedback.

We are very happy to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us, the modern décor of the rooms and the comfortable bed. Our front desk staff and breakfast staff are so thrill to learn that they had made a caring and helpful impression on your trip.

We do apologize for the mishaps you experienced in the bathroom corner due to a hair being oversight by our housekeeping staff. If we had noticed this upon your arrival, we could have got you another room.

It is also disappointing that you found our elevator to be not so perfectly clean as these are not our usual standard. Our houseman has constantly cleaned the public areas including the elevators at regular intervals. We will investigate all the situations you have mentioned and will take immediate actions to improve our cleaning and maintenance schedules. We sincerely apologize again for the unfortunate occurrences you experienced during your stay.

Taking this opportunity, we would like to introduce you to our in house fitness centre fully equipped with updated exercises equipment, and an indoor swimming pool and a whirlpool, where you can enjoy and relax. You can also make use of our function rooms to host family reunions, festive gatherings and holiday parties.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, in hopes of restoring your confidence in us and to provide you with a more memorable, relaxing experience

Warmest regards,
Holiday Inn Express Inn & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn this past weekend while we were attending my daughters soccer provincials. Although the location is South it allows for easy access to the major routes to get around town. West Ed Mall is approx. 20 min drive. Great bowling alley a couple of walks away and numerous restaurants within 5 mins. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Mr. Gerry B,

We are very happy to note that you and your family had enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

Our hotel priority is to ensure that all our guests both on business and leisure to find our hotel amenities, facilities and services to be exceptional and beyond their high expectations.

On your next family trip to Edmonton, we hope you could spend some time for Rest and Relaxation with us to experience our other facilities. I am sure you will enjoy the well equipped Fitness Centre, the indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. We offer complimentary hot and cold breakfast with numerous choices such as our popular cinnamon rolls, aromatic coffees, fruits, bacon and eggs, bagels, etc… on a daily basis

Our hotel is situated in an extremely ideal location, close-by the mega shopping and entertainment complex “South Edmonton Commons” and the Southgate Centre. In addition to these, there are also numerous options of restaurants of various cuisines nearby the hotel area. Our front desk receptionist will be happy to provide information on tourist site, shopping and entertainment venues to ensure that your holidays to be a memorable and an unforgettable one.

Thank you again for your favorable review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel and to be of services to you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed here with a friend Feb 18 and 19, 2012. We had a rental car at the airport and drove to the hotel which easily reachable. Staff were really friendly and the room was very comfortable and cosy. I requested for extra pillows and they were already in the room. We did not avail ourselves to the breakfast as it was quite busy when we went down. We did not have to pay for parking. We were treated to free bottles of water and snacks. We enjoyed our little stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear travelbugberni,

Thank you for taking time to write us a valuable review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with your friend at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

Thank you for sharing the fact that our hotel is conveniently located and within easy reach. Our hotel staff members are always amazed and encouraged to hear from our valuable guests like yourself that they have made a positive impression on your stay and be able to make your stay a comfortable one. It is our mission to enable guests staying with us to feel like at home away home.

We hope that on your next trip back to Edmonton, you and your friends will stay a bit longer with us again and be our guests, and come join us at the breakfast bar, we have hot and cold breakfast available along with hot/cold beverages. You and your friends can also make use of the fitness centre fully equipped with up to date exercises equipment. We also have a whirlpool and an indoor pool on site.

Until then, we hope to welcome you and your friends back and be at your service again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.