We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience from reservations to checkout!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18220 - 100th Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2V2, Canada (Place LaRue)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An excellent experience from reservations to checkout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about the service we experienced at this hotel. From the phone call with Debbie while making our reservation, to the quick and friendly check-in, through til the time we checked out we were greeted with warmth, smiles and enthusiasm. We truly felt appreciated as guests and that goes a long way toward encouraging our return to this property. And as a military family making frequent trips to Edmonton this year, odds are very good that we will have need to return. It was well worth the extra drive to stay here instead of at the hotels nearer the airport.

We had a suite booked and it was beautiful. The king bed was extremely comfortable, the room was spacious, and the kids enjoyed having their own space as well. The bathroom was huge and appeared to be well maintained. The "dinner and a movie" basket of goodies that was part of our stay was a delight and really added a special touch for the kids in particular.

The pool is great for families, with a shallow area and fun sprinklers for the little ones, a waterslide for the older kids, and a relaxing hot tub for mom and dad.

The hotel's restaurant, the "Homefire Grill", was a treat for us with a good variety of dishes offered at reasonable prices, and a very cozy atmosphere. Dinner for the four of us (no drinks or dessert) came in at under $50.00. The breakfast provided by the hotel was excellent with eggs, sausage, bagels, fruit, yogurt, juices, coffee, tea, and of course waffles!!

As for value - this hotel definitely scores points in this category. The rates are competitive with other properties, but the offering is much better.

Even the layout of the hotel shows some thought in the small things - it was appreciated by us all that we did not have to walk through the lobby to get to and from the pool, but just had to get off the elevator and walk a short hallway.

I have only a few small criticisms... The hot tub could stand to be cleaned more often, as the bottom was gritty. And in order to have the sprinklers/water slide turned on, one must go to the front desk and request it. (Maybe there could be some thought given to providing on/off switches in the main pool area?) The bathtub in the room was extremely slippery, so be prepared (or perhaps the management could consider either tub mats or non-skid coating?). And for some reason there was very little information in the room about hotel services, local restaurants, etc.

Aside from these very small things, this stay was stellar from start to finish. We would definitely recommend and return to this property.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    261
    117
    40
    26
See reviews for
335
104
31
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We chose this hotel after reviewing this website. Even still, it exceeded our expectations. The hotel is located right on 100 th Ave as you come into town and is only a 5 min drive from the mall. It is also right close to a number shops and restaurants on 100th Ave. The rooms are quite large and very clean. The staff were also very friendly. We chose the "stay and play" package which included the hotel room and passes to the water park along with a gift basket with towels and goggles. I figured we saved at least $40 off of what the water
park admission would've cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
I would like to thank you for the great comment that you put on tripadvisor about the hotel and staff. When putting our packages together we do try to make sure that there is a good savings for our guest.
Here at the Wingate we enjoy reading comment from our guests, good or bad this helps us to improve our customer servies. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you
Debbie Tomchuk
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Nice Value for families ( or anyone ). Best Free Breakfast I have seen anywhere.
Lots of updates and very clean. Big Rooms for Families and kids Loved the Pool and Slide.

Very Nice Business Center and free Wi - Fi are wonderful .
3 MInutes from the Mall if interested

Would Recommend

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Hotel has been undergoing renovation/refurbishment but aside from there was no inconvenience or noise issues and the updated room we had was really nice.
Homestyle Grill restaurant in parking lot is a mid-priced place, very nice atmosphere, very good food. They've tweaked the family restaurant concept with local food additions.
Complimentary breakfast in the hotel was comprehensive and can't beat the price on that (free)!
Desk staff service was excellent. Room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I had an issue with booking a room at the Wingate through hotels.com - specially the event I was going to attend was cancelled and therefore, I no longer required my booked rooms. Hotels.com insisted that there was no way they could refund my money as the Wingate wouldn't waive a penalty. After contacting the Wingate directly I was assured this was incorrect and that hotels.com were the ones not wanting to issue the refund. The Wingate'sGM contacted hotels.com directly confirming that they were not going to charge hotels.com for my rooms and that they in turn, could refund me. My original email was answered within less than 24 hours and my refund was issued in less than a week from my original email. The Wingate took the stand of doing the right thing in this particular situation - something that isn't always found these days. I will definately stay at the Wingate where customer satisfaction seems to be a priority for them.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Excellent pool facilities for families! Excellent huge continental breakfast. Nice clean and spacious suites. Excellent location... close to everything and easy in off the yellowhead and easy out again. Everything about this hotel is perfect for a family stay! Only a few minor negatives... this is a very busy hotel, don't expect to get into your room early on arrival, housekeeping is hopping trying to keep up. The water in everything could have been hotter.... start your shower about 10 mins before you want to get in and you'll be fine. Not the most soundprrof hotel if you are a light sleeper. Request a room on the top floor and at the end of the hall away from the elevator.
We would stay again, no question!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Whole building is very noisy, could hear the guest walking around upstairs as if it were in a house.

Had to call three times late in the evening, to complain about kids bouncing on beds and running around.

Was charged twice for my pre booked and pre paid room, was hung up on twice when trying to rectify this problem.

Older teens hanging out at the front door late in the evening both nights, with skateboards-and 'hood' attire, made my kids very uncomfortable.

Pool did not have towels on hand, when requested more, only 5 were brought.

There was a used bandaid stuck to our shower curtain.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West

Address: 18220 - 100th Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#14 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#18 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the West Edmonton Mall, Wingate Inn Edmonton West offers 105 guestrooms and suites. Renovated in 2010, guest amenities include an indoor waterpark featuring a pool, hot tub, waterslide, mushroom and fitness centre. For the business traveller we have a 24/7 business centre, free wireless internet, large writing desk in all rooms, and catered meeting rooms. All guests receive free parking, in-room safe, microwave and fridge, as well as a FREE deluxe hot breakfast for each night of their stay. Relax, it's included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Edmonton West Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Wyndham
Wingate By Wyndham Edmonton West Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.