We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edmonton Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18220 - 100th Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2V2, Canada (Place LaRue)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Edmonton
Fillmore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Edmonton Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The size of the swimming pool was the only thing that we were not overly impressed with. The rest of our stay was very nice and I would most certainly recommend this hotel to family and friends wanting a shopping getaway in Edmonton. Very nice rooms, good continental breakfast and close to West Ed Mall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Appreciate the positive recommendation as well your thoughts on the rooms, service, and cleanliness.. In respect to the size of the pool - agreed it can get busy but only on rare occasions does it get too busy to cope. My apologies you unfortunately hit one of those occasions.
Jim Wirun GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    261
    118
    42
    26
See reviews for
339
106
29
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the west end location and the water park. Location was okay, very handy to the west end and West Edmonton mall. The Water Park was actually just 1 water slide that was lined up with adults and kids, half way down the stairs at times. The pool was so terribly small that as spectators watching our kids on the water slide, we got splashed every time an adult came down the slide.
The beds were soooo hard with very thin matresses,the walls were paper thin, I must have woke up 5 times during the night to noise in the hallway. My daughter had a pubic hair in her bathtub and my sister had some kind of orange mold on the side of the tub.
The breakfast that was included in the $ 162.00 per night stay,( tax not included.) was very decent, and probably the best part of the 1 night stay. First and last time I stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Very sorry to hear of your experience - certainly not what we're use to receiving from our guests. Pleased to report that those "hard beds" are in the process of being replaced with a top-of-the-line Pillow Top. in respect to our breakfast - thank you, a lot of people comment on being pleased with what we offer. I can assure you that your comments are noted and addressed completely! Jim Wirun GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for one night based on them having a water slide. There were four of us booked in - 2 adults, 2 kids. Got in the room and noticed there were only pillows for the one bed. I tried calling down to the front desk but the number wasn't going through on the phone so I had to go downstairs. There was a long lineup and only one person at the front counter. The wait was long but the receptionist was friendly and helpful despite being so short staffed. We went out for supper, came back to our room, went to have a shower and realized there were only 3 towels in the bathroom so back downstairs I went and this time the line up was longer. The pool was so packed that my daughter refused to go in because she was worried she would hit someone when she came down the water slide. It was 10:30 p.m. The pool was supposed to close at 10:00. When we checked out the receptionist asked us how out stay was. My husband said the sleep on the hide-a-bed was very uncomfortable. She said "oh, had we known you were using the bed we would have brought up an extra pad to make it more comfortable". I'm not sure how she thought we would have slept all four of us in one bed! They were not prepared. The hotel was reasonably clean though, staff friendly, windows don't open so no fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Appreciate the recognition of the friendly staff and clean hotel, my apologies regarding some of the guestroom "Miscues" as well the long lines at the front desk and in the pool area. It does get extremely busy at times and I appreciate that the staff did what they could to serve you. You stated "They Tried.. Be assured given the opportunity we'll "Try Harder"!!

Jim Wirun GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Pretty nice hotel overall. If I had really wanted to use the pool I might have had a different opinion. The breakfast was great. The first morning they had bacon. Never seen that before. And a ton of other stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Appreciate you taking the time to offer a review - Breakfast is often a hit as can the pool, waterslide, and hot tub - I think you may have enjoyed that - perhaps next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West

Address: 18220 - 100th Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#14 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#19 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the West Edmonton Mall, Wingate Inn Edmonton West offers 105 guestrooms and suites. Renovated in 2010, guest amenities include an indoor waterpark featuring a pool, hot tub, waterslide, mushroom and fitness centre. For the business traveller we have a 24/7 business centre, free wireless internet, large writing desk in all rooms, and catered meeting rooms. All guests receive free parking, in-room safe, microwave and fridge, as well as a FREE deluxe hot breakfast for each night of their stay. Relax, it's included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Edmonton West Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Wyndham
Wingate By Wyndham Edmonton West Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.