We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and excellent meeting facilities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18220 - 100th Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2V2, Canada (Place LaRue)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Edmonton
Miramichi, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great staff and excellent meeting facilities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I hosted a 3-day workshop at the Wingate and also stayed at the hotel. The meeting facility was very comfortable, bright, well serviced and the staff in that department could not do enough to help .. at least 5 different staff stopped in to check that we had everything we needed and the temperature was comfortable. Among the best I've encountered in over 25 years of doing this.

As for the guest accommodations, they are very spacious and clean. My room had a small fridge, microwave, and single serve coffee maker, which were all very handy. The bathroom is a little smallish, but spotless and a great shower, and has Neutrogena products.

The breakfast has a lot of variety including hot and cold foods, fresh fruit and lots of coffee, tea, juices, yoghurt. The staff kept it well stocked, even on the first day when I arrived at 9:30. They do not close the room itself during the day, and it seemed that a number of people used it for small one on one meetings which would be pretty convenient.

The restaurant is not part of the hotel, but about 50 yards from the main entrance..the Homefire Bar & Grill. Food is really good and has Aboriginal dishes such as bison and bannock in addition to a good variety of Canadian foods and a pretty good wine list. The hotel gives you a coupon for a complimentary appetizer.

The only drawback was that I did not have a vehicle and it is a bit of a walk to places like the West Ed. Mall, etc. which wouldn't be bad in the summer but not so nice in the colder months.

We will definitely use this facility again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you Miramichi !! It is our goal to exceed customer expectations and it appears that we did just that! Your comments in reference to the Homefire Grill are much appreciated - sometimes overlooked as a seperate building to the hotel - we consider to be one of the best restaurants in the area. We know you have choice in selecting your accommodations and are pleased you chose us!! Best wishes for a happy holiday season!

Jim Wirun CHA
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    261
    117
    40
    26
See reviews for
335
104
31
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan/Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We were here in July 2011 when we got a call to return home as a disaster had happened in our community. Packed up 4 small children and returned home the very night we got there. The hotel management sent us coupons for free nights for the ones we didnt use. The rooms were large enough for 4 adults and 4 children. The fridge /microwave in each room is an asset. The staff at the front desk are honestly some of the BEST I have ever come across. They really treated us with smiles/respect and seemed genuine happy that we were there.When we asked for anything they all went out of their way to get what we needed. (Traveling with 4 small children means we usually forget stuff)
The breakfast was a huge hit with 8 people all wanting something a little different than the next one. The dining area was spotless.... the food was hot and replenished as needed. They had a very nice selection of breakfast items to suit any appetite. The dining room was also cleaned quickly when people were finished to accommodate the new ones coming in. Close to the WEM with a lot of places to eat close by. Very Family Friendly!!! Thanks to the staff and management for a great hotel stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. Comments such as your makes our daily efforts to be number 1 in West Edmonton that much more satisfying!! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

Best Regards,

Jim Wirun GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This hotel was very average. Some of the staff are really nice, but other look like they hate their job and would not even give you a smile.
The room was spacious, mostly clean (I was not too impressed with my bed sheets), the bathroom is basic but I like all the Neutrogena products they had.
The breakfast is good if you go early (around 7 a.m.) because if you go later you might not find as much food and besides by then people would have made a mess of things.
This hotel is very family friendly, which is not necessarily a good thing if you are single and traveling alone and like to enjoy some quiet time. Even at 10 p.m. there were kids running up and down the hallway.
If you are staying here, you could try the restaurant right in the parking lot, called the Firehouse, the food was very delicious and the prices are reasonable. Also, this hotel is about a half hour walk from West Edmonton Mall (WEM) or about 5 mins by car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Jim Wirun GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This Wingatte Hotel has services that are second to none. Location and the rooms were great. Will be staying again in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Looking forward to your return!! Agreed... great location, our guests really love the oversized rooms as you mention. See you soon!

Jim Wirun GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Quiet, clean and comfortable large room. About a 20 min walk to west edmonton mall and about a $10 cab ride back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you to YELLOWKNIFE !! We are pleased you found us to be both clean and comfortable.. it is important that we meet that standard at a minimum while striving to stay #1 to so many in Westend Edmonton.

Jim Wirun GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

i am a road warrior living in hotels 10 months out of the year across Canada and the US. That being said I consider myself a hotel expert. My 8 night stay at the Wingate was excellent for the following reasons: 1) Spacious rooms with modern decor. 2) Very good location for my business; two min drive to west Edmonton mall and only 15min drive to the airport. 3) Very friendly staff at all levels. 4) Great breakfast that goes until 10am on week-days and 11am on the week-end (a lot of hotels shut off their breakfast at 9am seven days a week). 5)my room and hotel in general was very clean. 6) flat screen tv (who wants to watch an old tv anymore). 7) Fitness room had modern equipment where everything worked. 8) My king bed was extremely comfortable. 9) Business center was good and met all my needs. 10) Hot tub was great at the end of a long work day.
Overall the Wingate was perfect for my business trip and the kids at the hotel looked like they were having a good time on the water slide

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Thank you "Scott" for this stellar review from obviously a very seasoned traveller. We appreciate that we not just met but exceeded your expecations in so many areas of the hotel. It will be my sincere pleasure to share your comments with so many dedicated professional associates that work hard every day to achieve this kind of result.

Again, a sincere thanks from all of us!!

Jim Wirun GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed one night at the Wingate and thankfully it wasn't any more... This hotel should have never made the top 20?of Edmonton hotels. The pool was freezing, so cold we didn't even go in judging from the discomfort of other guests. All night we heard running in the hallways, laughing, and sounds like furniture moving from the room below. The walls were paper thin and you can hear any little sound but the hotel in general was party central. Beds are uncomfortable - hard as a rock and we could feel the springs. There was a hole in the bathroom wall, the tub appeared to be painted with half the paint scratched off, and a large one inch gap between the door and the floor didn't help the noise issues. We will never make the mistake again of staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirun, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while a guest at the hotel. I can assure you that the issues you mention are not the standard for our hotel. We take pride in delivering quality service which is evidenced in the majority of our reviews. The comments you made are being investigated and corrected to ensure we exceed expectations of each and every customer we serve during future visits.

Jim Wirun GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West

Address: 18220 - 100th Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#14 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#18 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the West Edmonton Mall, Wingate Inn Edmonton West offers 105 guestrooms and suites. Renovated in 2010, guest amenities include an indoor waterpark featuring a pool, hot tub, waterslide, mushroom and fitness centre. For the business traveller we have a 24/7 business centre, free wireless internet, large writing desk in all rooms, and catered meeting rooms. All guests receive free parking, in-room safe, microwave and fridge, as well as a FREE deluxe hot breakfast for each night of their stay. Relax, it's included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Edmonton West Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Wyndham
Wingate By Wyndham Edmonton West Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.