We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family liked it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Syphay Restaurant

Syphay Restaurant
6010 - 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
780-438-8338
Improve this listing
Ranked #200 of 1,885 Restaurants in Edmonton
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Agree with others.Hole in the wall but good food inside. If you don't know what to Oder just ask. Sever very helpful. Don't park south of the building you'll get a ticket.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious Food at a hole in the wall restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

From the outside, Syphay is very unassuming (I've driven past it several times without realizing it was there), but the food was fantastic. We eat a fair amount of Thai food and this is the best we've had in quite a while. Service was good, and fast, and the food was yummy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Tasty Food Despite the Looks of the Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Yes, the outside looks nasty, the service was slow, and the place could use a general facelift, but the food was extremely well prepared. Just had the lunch special which consisted of 5 tasty and greaseless spring rolls along with a green tofu curry and some of the best coconut rice we have tasted. Throughout the meal, people from all walks of life came in to pick up orders they had phoned in, another indication the restaurant serves good food. If they just did a little investment on a facelift, the place would really take off. They have another restaurant downtown which the waitress said look much better so try thatne at 9445 Jasper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pad Thai is the way to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Tried this for the first time a little while ago (the location on Gateway), and I'm certainly glad I did. We tried the pad thai, and it was fantastic. I ordered mine a bit spicy, and it came out just right. Others in our party that have been to Thailand suggested it was the most authentic pad thai they have had outside of Thailand. The coconut rice is also a great side! The restaurant is a little cramped, but still ok. Parking, however, is quite difficult and you should be ready for that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Nothing positive about my experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was hesitant to try this "restaurant" but my mother had read some good reviews and convinced me to go. Upon arriving we both questioned whether we would proceed with our plans. Frankly, the outside of the building looks like somewhere one might acquire food poisoning. I had driven past this place so many times and always failed to notice it. If I had, I would have assumed it was a condemned abandoned building! We were skeptical about eating here after seeing the condition the "restaurant" was in, and only ended up ordering a few dishes that the waitress recommended. We barely touched what we ordered, the flavours were very ... unique, but not in a good way. The dishes with seafood in them were inedible because they had a very prominent fishy taste which was very unappealing. I think the fish was off, and they should not have been serving it. Needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syphay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Syphay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Syphay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.