We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Calgary Northwest

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Calgary Northwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4420 16th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 0M4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge) (Northwest Calgary)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 98 hotels in Calgary
St. Paul, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was located close to where we had to go while we were in Calgary. This is an older hotel but has been completely renovated. The place was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious with enough variety. I would, highly, recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing Days Inn Calgary Northwest! We are perfectly positioned for hospital visits or a short commute to downtown. I will pass along your positive comments to our Housekeeping Team; the cleanliness of our hotel is a top priority. In fact, we have just been recognized with the 2013 AHLA Housekeeping Award. We hope to see you on your next visit to Calgary. Thank you for your review and recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    124
    32
    7
    7
See reviews for
116
45
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Spent the weekend at the Days Inn and would not stay there again. Checked in Friday evening.
Front desk clerk seemed a bit rattles so it took a few minutes longer than needed. Called back to the front deck for dining information in the area and found the front desk too busty too talk she requested to call back. 30 minutes passed no call back. We had found the information we needed on the internet.
Saturday morning no HOT water for shower. Staff acknowledge there was a problem and would let manager know about the problem. Went for breakfast and heard a number of guest complaining about the same problem. At breakfast (it was busy) the pastries were still frozen, garbage was over-flowing, ,out of waffle batter and the room was a bit of a mess.Had hot water by around noon.
As mentioned by someone in a review the comforter is to heavy for the room temperature which we couldn't control and the sheet was not enough.
The noise in the halls was loud until about ten and then it was fine.
Sunday had hot water but breakfast was still not very good.
Never saw or heard from a manager during our stay. It appears that there is just the front desk staff to field all comments and deal with any issues that arise. It is very difficult with only one person on duty to handle it all.
Front desk staff were pleasant and tried their best to deal with the problems.
Had a fridge, microwave and nice tv. A channel listing would have been a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I would like to apologize that your stay was anything less than perfect. I assure you we take the comfort of all guests very seriously. You are correct, we are a small hotel and there is not always a manager on duty. I was informed about the hot water, it appears what happened was we had 2 large teams in the hotel that ended up showering at the same times; this is a very rare occurrence. The hot water had replenished within an hour. We do have a breakfast room attendant on duty during the hours that we serve breakfast, it's disappointing to hear your description but very pleased you brought it to my attention to be used for training purposes. The heat and air conditioning is controlled by a thermostat on the wall, we are pleased to say that they are being replaced before the New Year with a more user and eco-friendly version. Thank you for the note about the TV listing, we are actually having our guest directories printed and there will be a TV channel listing available there. Great to hear the staff did a good job at keeping the noise down after hotel quiet time which is 11pm-7am. Thank you for your review, we hope you choose to give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Was a busy week in Calgary and didn't want to pay what some of my regular stops were costing so decided to try this Days Inn. Great location, close to downtown, seems to be newly renovated.

Very good staff at checkin and checkout. The continental breakfast was more than adequate and the gym was small but sufficient.

Room was more than large enough, comfortable bed, good TV and bathroom was great. It even had a fridge and microwave.

Great place to stay for business close to downtown or in the west end of Calgary

Room Tip: It is a little noisy on the "street" side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah C, General Manager at Days Inn Calgary Northwest, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you wanted to try somewhere new! As you mentioned we are perfectly suited for the corporate traveller with great rates and easy access to downtown. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Calgary Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Calgary Northwest

Address: 4420 16th Avenue NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 0M4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Calgary
#22 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Calgary Northwest 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly RENOVATED Days Inn Calgary Northwest. We are conveniently located adjacent to Edworthy Park, 15 minutes to downtown and minutes to Canada Olympic Park, Calaway Park, The University of Calgary and McMahon Stadium - home of the Stampeders!You will love our new guest rooms with plush beds, 40" LCD flat screen TV's, fridge and microwave in every room. Our renovated guest bathrooms include some with walk in tile shower and all with 6 function shower heads and granite counter tops.Enjoy complimentary: Deluxe Continental Breakfast, Wi-Fi and parking.Come see for yourself a boutique style home away from home. Our location makes us great for business travellers and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Days Inn Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Calgary Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Causeway Bay Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Calgary Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.