We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceana Seafood, Steakhouse & Bar

Oceana Seafood, Steakhouse & Bar
#101 - 7th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 5M3, Canada (Downtown)
(403) 245-8787
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceana Seafood, Steakhouse & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #779 of 2,927 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $16 - $104
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 1st Avenue
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I had a nice meal here before seeing a movie and we both enjoyed ourselves. The food was quite delicious and the service was helpful. It wasn't anything life-changing but I think a lot of the reviews here are a bit harsh. My halibut was very tasty and my wife's prawns were also very good. I do agree though that the prices are a bit too high.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Too expensive and not enought food for the money they charge,I could have much better food at the keg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Hubert, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trendiest sea food restaurant in Calgary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Huge wine selection, interesting menu and great sea food. Had the Pan Fried Oysters....to die for.
Must go again...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Made a reservation - still turned away at the door”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had made a reservation at Oceana for my birthday dinner. When we arrived we were told that the entire restaurant was booked for a private party, and that we would have to find somewhere else. The only explanation what that someone "should" have called to inform us that they had cancelled our reservation.

Oceana looks to be a nice restaurant, but not being able to organize the front of the house does not bode well for the rest of the restaurant experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go Next Door...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Do yourself a huge favor and go next door. This restaurant needs much help starting with the management. The manager cares very little about customer service and if you do a search on Urban Spoon about this restaurant you'll find out the truth. If you complain about your food, he will ask if you're a food critic.. if you're not then 'what do you know about what food should taste like?'. Are you kidding? If you make a reservation for a window seat, expect to be judged whether you are worthy or not when you walk in the door. They will very obviously stare at you, look at the seating chart and wipe out your name from the window table and put you in a dark corner.
I wish I was making this stuff up. This is a great place to learn how NOT to run a restaurant. Oh and the food? Previously frozen or fresh from weeks ago, your choice.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceana Seafood, Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Oceana Seafood, Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceana Seafood, Steakhouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.