We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs Were Good But Otherwise Mediocre Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montana's

Montana's
Calgary International Airport, Calgary, Alberta, Canada (Northeast Calgary)
403-221-1792
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #896 of 3,019 Restaurants in Calgary
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
745 helpful votes 745 helpful votes
“Ribs Were Good But Otherwise Mediocre Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The ribs here were good, tender and flavorful, but the place exudes chain North American blandness to the gills. The decor is meant to represent a Wild West flavor, but I found it overdone, and really quite annoying. There are other ways to be creative. The service I found slow and not at all friendly.

Might come back for ribs again, but not any time soon!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    22
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome antojitos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Food and service was very good for an airport location. The "Awesome Antojitos" are awesome. Beer was cold, service was fine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Suprised to see in the airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Airports seldom have a decent place to eat. Too much emphasis on fast food. So it was a delight to find Montana's at the Calgary airport. Took in a meal before heading on a late afternoon flight to Toronto. I've eaten at this chain's other locations so I knew what to expect as to the menu. But I just hate having to wait.....and wait...and wait for the tab, especially at an airport where time is of the essence. Enjoyable and filling overall. Now just fix the service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant at the airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We ate supper here on our way to Phoeniz. The food was good but the service was uneven. There weren't too many customers in the restaurant but the servers were not that attentive. Ribs were good. Hard to get "no dairy" even when asked for and the server wasn't too interested in ensuring no dairy. We didn't get the exact food we ordered but it wasn't worth changing it. The meal was enjoyable despite it's problems .

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Went on a Thursday night and after 25 minutes waiting nobody came to our table, though four "servers" were chatting at the back. When we decided to leave to another restaurant not even an apology was offered

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's also viewed

 

Been to Montana's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.