We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent meal but not cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matador Pizza & Steak House

Matador Pizza & Steak House
4625 Varsity Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta, Canada (Northwest Calgary)
(403) 286-3133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #667 of 2,927 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Northwest Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A decent meal but not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We recently ended up at Matador's after trying to get into another restaurant on a very busy Friday evening. It has been years since we've been here but always had decent meals in the past. When we arrived, there was a small line-up for the restaurant but we were able to get into the bar right away (where it was considerably quieter). By the time we left there was a long line-up for both. I ordered the peach mandarin spinach salad and my husband had the fish & chips. Both meals were tasty and good-sized portions. The pizzas seemed to be the most popular item, at least in the bar and they looked delicious. The service was prompt and friendly. The meal was not cheap, especially with a couple of drinks thrown in but that seems to be par for the course at most restaurants in Calgary. I would go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
YYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Used to be a favourite - what happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I went for dinner at 7pm. We don't go often, maybe two or three times a year and it has been quite some time since we were here last. Service was good. We ordered a house salad with house dressing to split. My wife ordered the lasagna with meat sauce and I ordered the same pizza I have been ordering for at least 20 years, the Matador Special. It has been reliably very good pizza and is the whole reason I come to this restaurant. The salad was good. My wife said her lasagna was good but not as cheesy as it has been in the past. My pizza was a total letdown. It looked and tasted nothing like the pizza I have been getting in the past. To top it off, the crust was partially burnt. I mentioned it being burnt but was effectively blown off. Too bad, won't be back and now I have to find a new old-school pizza joint.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were looking forward to a nice meal for New Years Eve. Didn't happen. Vegetables were cold. The server took them back and after a long time they came back luke warm. Baked potatoe was warm and no server came around with condiments. Stuffed potatoe after reheating was over cooked. Took forever to get a second cup of coffee. Won't go back for anything other than pizza.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

First time visiting this place. Very good deep dish pizza. Lots of toppings and cheese. Side salad was good too. Fast service. Will visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Large portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Three of us went for dinner at the Matador. The meal was good with large portions. Not inexpensive but decent value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matador Pizza & Steak House also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Matador Pizza & Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matador Pizza & Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.