We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joey Eau Claire

Joey Eau Claire
208 Barclay Parade SW, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-263-6336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 2,927 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: An original that defines what's great about originals. Lounge, dining room, and a patio in summer, right outside Eau Claire Market in downtown Calgary.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
“Very good, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Generally, this is a very good restaurant, but I find that attention to detail always seems to prevent it from getting that extra star to bump it to "excellent". The food itself is generally excellent, and I find the companies effort to reach out to the vegetarian and gluten-free community by making special menus for them fabulous and they should be commended for that. I ordered the "beach salad" off the vegetarian menu which is supposed to come with soy chicken strips, rather than real chicken strips. My salad came with out any strips. When I asked, the waitress said she would get me some but they never came and i just ate my salad as i was hungry and the rest of my table of 6 was eating. All of the food was very good. Then when it was time to pay, we all had separate bills and all of had things from each others bills put on others bills, so it took over 20 minutes to sort it all out. This really reduced the pleasure of eating there. prices are quite expensive too. They have a very nice patio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    63
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Tried here for the first Time, my Husband did enjoy his Striploin, although he had hoped for some type of Potatoe and received a Spring roll filled with mash potatoe, (different) I had the Chicken Cesar salad, the Chicken was very tasty, but the salad left a lot to be desired....... No Bacon bits, not enough garlic Flavor and drowned in dressing. Service was good and very accommodating. I would give it another try, thinking they have potential to deliver. We shall see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Well I totally love it there, the outdoor seating is amazing, and to top off this hot day I had the "summer salad" it was SO GOOD! I always have my dressing on the side, and I rarely ever use alot of dressing but this dressing was totally delicious, I almost used all of it ! The service was so friendly. I recommend this place it's always consistent it never disappoints. Love it !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Typical Calgary Average Food at High Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Well the food is okay, not great, it's another overrated Calgary place that serves average food at high prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

How many restaurants have you been to where they give you a free glass of wine while waiting for a table to be cleared? Joey's actually did this! They also offered a tasting of an appetizer they were promoting, were incredibly friendly and genuine in making sure the dining experience was a pleasant one.
Atmosphere is great although a bit noisy for a business conversation. Food is fine, it will not make you forget your favourite foody restaurant, but all in all, great value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey Eau Claire also viewed

 

Been to Joey Eau Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joey Eau Claire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.