We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earls Calgary 16th Avenue

Earls Calgary 16th Avenue
1110 16th Ave., Calgary, Alberta, Canada
403-289-2566
Improve this listing
Ranked #483 of 2,927 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Expensive but good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to earls for lunch today. It was good. Great service. Always spot on with drink refills. Viewer was good and well served with a request for no mayo.
Burger was expensive though at just under $14. Similar burger at fast food is $5.

Good for a treat but only going back for business when I'm treated.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    18
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“A fun Friday Evening!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went with friends who are regulars and found it to be a lively Friday night spot! A bit loud but fun! Great service, excellent food! Attentive to Shellfish allergy! We enjoyed a relaxed evening, close. To our hotel! The crowd that night was younger but that was great, good for all likes and ages! Clean and that is important!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Awesome steak, lacking in service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a good choice for dinner. There are a couple of other places close by that were over the top so that is why I gave Earls only four stars, but this place is pretty good as well. The food is great, but the staff is where they could use some work. The first time we visited we got an okay server but the second time we ate at the bar and our bartender was clueless. She was very slow and there was no one at the bar. If you can ignore the service staff then you will enjoy your meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Loved the Prawn Dynamite Sushi Rolls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We went there while visiting Calgary and thoroughly enjoyed the Prawn Dynamite Sushi Rolls with the sriracha mayo! You get 7 or 8 of them and they are quite filling...don't forget to ask for soya sauce on the side. We also tried the pecan crusted chicken salad and the albacore tuna sushi salad. Both salads were good but the albacore tuna salad had a bit too many veggies, sauce etc as it took away from the taste of the tuna. The server was was attentive and informative about menu items and the cost was average. Would definitely return for the prawn sushi rolls!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great friendly staff , Not so great steaks !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We, a family of 3 eat at lunch time at this restaurant on our way back to BC. The staff and our server was very friendly.The food was average and not so good like we expected at earls.We expected great steaks in Alberta. By the way Earls in Kelowna , BC is by far the best.The restaurant we visit the day before in Calgary was 1/3 of the price and also a lot better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earls Calgary 16th Avenue also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Earls Calgary 16th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earls Calgary 16th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.