We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
2612 39 Avenue NE, Calgary, Alberta T1Y 7J9, Canada (Northeast Calgary)
403.250.1120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 2,927 Restaurants in Calgary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Northeast Calgary
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A great place for dinner, espacialy if you are staying in a hotel close to Calgary airport. We took one of the menu suggestions: Tataki, pepper steak and key lime. Quite a busy place, but offering sufficient privacy. Yet the staff gave the impression to be a bit stressed; we could hardly follow their speed in serving the dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    99
    18
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neepawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Have always had interesting entrees with this franchise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A tip if you are visiting this restaurant franchise, order one of the chefs creations. You will not get standard fare. It will be a perfect blend of ingredients that add to the flavor of your entree. I had salmon with a mustard based sauce that was excellent. My wife likes the Hunter Chicken and our freinds had ribs. Their wine list is a little more expensive than the Keg list but varied enough to make a good selection.
Our server had time for us and took the time to describe entrees and wine choices. She said she had worked there for 5 years and had an obvious pride in her employment.
The portions mentioned by others may not be huge but we personally do not feel you have to go home stuffed. We felt portions were just right.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Bellini heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Love the ambience of the Cactus Club, it is a great place to go with friends, always lively but still private and quiet enough to have a good chat session.

We split a bunch of appetizers as we couldn't decide what we wanted, one of them being the prawn ravioli...wow so rich and decadent, I couldn't imagine eating more than two of these, what a treat. We also had the beef carpaccio, calamari and flatbread appetizers. All delicious, but the calamari was a little too over seasoned once we hit the bottom of the plate.

Service was a bit lacking towards the end of the evening due to a number of large groups in our section but all in all a positive experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Same old same old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Booked a table (well, booth - what is it about Canadians and booths?!) for 6pm. Already crowded since everyone eats so early. So service was slow, food was indifferent at best, poor at worst. Do not have spicy chicken legs as a starter. The competition to serve big courses in Calgary reaches ridiculous proportions in every sense with this dish. Apart from thinking 12 wings as a starter is just silly, the 'spice' part was truly awful. Sent it back and should have refused to pay. Expensive mediocre wine, overcooked vegetables and some chicken which purported to have a cheese topping which might also have been lino. Attractive waitresses who smile well but have no idea about food or wine. Avoid like the plague.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Never miss stopping here on every trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is an excellent spot to either unwind after getting off the plane, or unwind after a long work trip, before getting on the plane.
Good location that is pretty close to the airport.
Service is always top notch - attentive, knowledgeable, friendly
Food is consistently good.
Clean with a great atmosphere

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Club Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.