We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B in Lovely Neighborhood in Calgary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calgary Historic Bed and Breakfast at Twin Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calgary Historic Bed and Breakfast at Twin Gables
Save
You added Calgary Historic Bed and Breakfast at Twin Gables to your Saves list
611-25 Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2S 0L7, Canada (Mont royal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B in Lovely Neighborhood in Calgary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed several nights at the Calgary Historic Bed and Breakfast at Twin Gables. This is a beautiful old historic house in a lovely neighborhood in Calgary, within walking distance to many interesting restaurants, and a short bus ride to the downtown. The owner, Deidre, could not have been more accommodating or helpful. Our room, the Mount Royal Suite, was very spacious with a nice bathroom and a large spa tub. The bed was very comfortable and there was a set of comfy reading chairs with ottomans and a large screen TV. Internet service was available in the room. The decor was decidedly Victorian, and charming. Deidre prepared wonderful breakfasts each morning, and told us great stories about this historic house. Many of the architectural details are in tact (lovely woodwork and stained windows). We would definitely return to the Twin Gables if ever in Calgary.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
31
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed just the one night, the room had a sun room attached and a huge bathroom with a great bath. The house does have great charachter and its not to far into Calgary a long walk or short bus ride. Some good restaurants are nearby. The breakfast is unbelievably good (do not be tempted away from the waffles). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

My recent stay at the Twin Gables was very impressive. It was my first experience with a B&B. The room and breakfast were absolutely superb. The hosts are really friendly people. Deidre is a great cook and helpful on local information. TG is rated a 5-star B&B by the Canada Select. By all means, it's well deserved.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at Twin Gables while visiting friends in Calgary. Deirdre and Henry are excellent hosts who are very friendly and welcoming. It is centrally located near excellent restaurants and shopping on 17th Ave and 4th St. My room was lovely and spotless. The breakfasts were delicious and nutricious and helped start my day on a great note. I highly recommend people stay here as you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

This was a B&B beyond all expectations. There was nothing our charming and friendly hosts would not try to accommodate our special needs or requests. The house itself is beautifully restored and furnished. Every room is unique, and special little touches were added to welcome guests. Deirdre produced magnificent breakfasts in an inviting and comfortable dining room. I wouldn't hesitate to take an opportunity to return here for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

This was a great find for the last night before we flew home. The owner was very helpful by e-mail prior to our arrival & then once we were there. Our room, the Mount Royal I think, was spacious with a big spa bath. The bed was a little on the soft side for me, but my husband had no problem with it. Everything we could need was in the room from drinks to guide books & magazines. Breakfast was great too & it was nice to hear stories about the house from Dierdre. Hope that she's still there next time we visit!

  • Liked — Beautiful old house in great area
  • Disliked — Having to carry all of our luggage up the stairs (we had far too much!)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

My husband was reluctant to try the bed and breakfast experience remembering being booted out once breakfast is done in England. Not here. We had the executive suite which was more like an apartment: bedroom, shower room sitting room/solarium and giant bathroom with claw foot tub. The owner, Deirdre Brost, was gracious. The property was clean, beautifully decorated and central: shopping, starbucks, every restaurant you could want. Also added perks: fridge, microwave, coffee maker, bath robes, lots of bathroom supplies!

Deirdre Bradley
Ottawa, ON

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calgary Historic Bed and Breakfast at Twin Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calgary Historic Bed and Breakfast at Twin Gables

Address: 611-25 Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta T2S 0L7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Mont royal , Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calgary's only Canada Select 5 Star Bed and Breakfast. Luxury accommodations, all rooms have en-suite private bathrooms. One block to many restaurant, cafes, shopping. 20 minute walk to central business district. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calgary Historic Bed and Breakfast at Twin Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.