We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property with poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice property with poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for the fist time and was disaapointed from the very moment I checked in. Unlike other IHG hotels where they greet loyal members of the Priority Club program with goodies and all smiles, the staff here had a could not care less attitude. The rooms were nice and clean though the quality of towels left a lot to be desired. The breakfast was average by Holiday Inn standards. The poroperty has everything going for it if they can train the staff better and stop cutting corners.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors with a view of the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    58
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
44
37
9
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This hotel has a lot of good features...its new so everything is modern and clean (meaning no cracked tiles in the bath, nice furniture, big flat-screen). This last trip I had the 2 bedroom suite . I had called to ask if it was 2 separate bedrooms, and a separate living room , as it was myself and a colleague staying. I was assured it was...and it was but in a strange way - you walk through one bedroom to get to the other. So it is good for families with kids, but not if you want private rooms.
I am not a fan of the beds. They use some form of foam (I'm guessing?) as a mattress topper - so they feel great,, but if your body is hot at night (like mine), you will not sleep well. I kicked the covers off, but it didnt solve the problem as the heat was coming from below. I thought I may be crazy, but I stayed at 3 other hotels on this trip and none of them did this...
If you are a Priority Club member, there is no special recognition. The breakfast is the same as any other HIX (blah), but the foyer is very charming. There is a Moxies next door to eat at, and it is easy to get to. Not my favourite hotel at Calgary airport, but not so bad that I wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed overnight at this hotel in Sep 2011. I got in early and was able to check in right away. The front desk gal was very helpful regarding places to eat and get around outside the hotel. Because of the airport expansion, the location is not as good as it was (Barlow Trail all but dies, just past the hotel now!) I got to my room - very clean and roomy. It had a mini fridge, small sink and coffee maker; I noticed a piece of baseboard was on the counter. Not long after I settled in, a repairman came up to glue the baseboard on, and he wound up giving me all kinds of information about getting around and eating a good spots!

I worked out in the gym - it was big enough to be comfortable, one treadmill, elliptical, bike and lots of free weights. The air conditioning was great and the air circulation made the workout enjoyable. I didn't use the pool, though it was nice, with an indoor hot tub.

The business center - 1 computer - was easily accessed and the breakfast in the morning was standard for HI. The shuttle in the morning was on time, clean and efficient.

Overall, I would stay here again for an overnight stay for the airport. It is a fair distance from downtown and the attractions of Calgary, especially if you don't have a car; although the repairman said there was an LRT station not far from the hotel, and the shuttle would drive me there if he wasn't too busy with the airport rides.

Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during the September long weekend while we were there to play ball at Jaycee Park. We were travelling with our whole ball team as well as our kids and were very happy with our stay! The staff is very helpful and pleasant, the kids loved the pool, which had a great (and fast!) slide and for once the main pool wasn't freezing cold!
The breakfast in the morning was great, more than enough selection and something for everyone!
The rooms were very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. This hotel was great for our ball team and awesome for a family travelling with kids!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night here, returning from Banff for a flight out of
Calgary the next morning early. We stayed the night of September 19, 2011.

We arrived a full two hours prior to check-in and I was just going to let the desk clerk know we were here and ask when we could check in. The very pleasant and efficient young lady at the desk proceeded to check us into the room as soon as I informed her of the reservation.

The hotel must be relatively new. Everything was spotlessly clean. The room was large and the bed comfortable, everything worked as it should, very comfortable. We left too early to have the included breakfast but the room where served was very large and again spotlessly clean.

The location was convenient to the airport, you did have to drive from the south end of the airport where the hotel is located to the north end where the terminal was located but the desk had already prepared written directions right on the counter to take for guests. The road was very direct with few intersections and a very easy drive.

The location was somewhat industrial, not a very pretty surrounding but the desk clerk recommended a restaurant at an adjacent hotel and we had dinner there. It was a quick walk, no need to use the car. There were many more restaurants within driving distance down a main road straight south, very easy as we took a "sight seeing" drive for the fun of it.

I reserve five of five ratings for premium properties, so called luxury hotels, and but for this I would rate this hotel 5 of 5, but sticking to my method I give it a four plus. Only the barren surrounding detracted from the property but after all this is an airport hotel and proximity to the airport is the chief location issue.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a great difference in rooms, perhaps request one away from the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Missed connecting flight, but was pleasantly surprised by the staff, service and accommodations at the Airport Holiday Inn Express in Calgary. Great staff, great shuttle drivers and a great room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is flying in/out of the Calgary airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was a great place to stay when traveling by air. We checked in on Wednesday August 10, slept there, ate breakfast and took the shuttle to the airport. We were able to leave our car on the premises at $5.00 a night which was far less than airport parking.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is included and has just about everything that you could want. Staff are friendly. Check in is fast and efficient

We arrived back late on the evening of the 18th. Our room was held for us and although we were very tired from our long journey back we were in our room in minutes and we enjoyed a restful sleep followed by a delightful breakfast.

I would consider staying there for our next trip to Calgary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary

Address: 45 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Calgary
#33 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Holiday Inn Express Airport Calgary’s outstanding guest service and expect a great rest in one of our 101 elegant and spacious guest rooms. Located south of Calgary International Airport (YYC). Hotel amenities include free airport shuttle, free wired and wireless high-speed internet access, business centre, pool and waterslide, fitness centre and guest laundry. Each guest room includes at least one 32” LCD TV, large work desk with ergonomic chair, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and voice-mail. Our complimentary Express Start Hot Breakfast Bar is served every morning in our Great Room – start your morning off right with the world’s best tasting cinnamon roll.Jetting out on a vacation ? - leave your vehicle here unattended for just $7/day for a maximum 7 days. The Holiday Inn Express Airport Calgary would love to be the host of your next corporate or leisure meeting. We have a variety of meeting rooms to accommodate between 10 to 100 people. Family suites and jacuzzi suites available for the perfect weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Airport - Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.