We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a spa experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sante Spa

Sante Spa
508 24th Avenue SW | 2nd floor, Calgary, Alberta T2S 0K4, Canada
4032282772
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 140 Activities in Calgary
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a recognized leader in the Canadian spa industry and after years of extensive research and testing, we are pleased to introduce our new advanced skincare and body treatments to help you transform and rejuvenate.When you look and feel great about your face and body, confidence will follow. Our results oriented treatments will help you redefine yourself, while evoking your inner glow, beauty and vibrancy.The perfect urban sanctuary, our luxurious spa in Calgary is custom designed for relaxing in our stylish lounges and ladies change room with infrared sauna. Our men's private treatment suite is carefully appointed for maximum comfort and relaxation.Santé Spa's highly trained, skilled and experienced therapists will advise you on the treatment that will be most beneficial and to address your needs, concerns and desired results. All of our treatments are proven, safe and effective; administered by highly experienced professionals in accordance with the Quality Assurance Standards of Leading Spas of Canada, and the Global Best Practices of the International Spa Association.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a spa experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Appointment booked for french polish with gel , then at time of service told they didn't do that so would have to settle for plain manicure. Needed to call several times to confirm appointment and services planned then when they finally did confirm ( 2 days later) they had changed the time. Sante pedicure ( which costs extra ) means you get to soak your feet longer - no extra care. No massage of feet with pedicure. THIS spa was good in its day is tired and old looking, only one toilet , and sink in ladies change room. Steam room out of service ( this was not communicated to us ) , left alone for long periods during services which stretch out time but .... Better manicure pedicures at Bella nails for 35$ each( they also take an hour + for the service and can French polish - no ambiance but I'd rather have the service than pay to have dim lighting , lounge area with cold fake fire, dirty Flores and out of order signs)

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaRitual_SanteSpa, Public Relations Manager at Sante Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our service, and we apologize if your experience did not meet your expectations. We have reviewed your concerns with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We are always looking for ways to improve, and would like the opportunity to learn how we can improve. Please contact Kim Hochstein, The Spa Director at Sante Spa at 403.228.2772, to discuss your concerns.

Christina Arthur-Dick, Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    1
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Over pricy for average service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

For $25 for a brow wax I'd expect perfect brows but my esthetician was in a super rush, took two minutes, left hairs astray and then sent me out still waxy. The receptions staff had another esthetician put me in a room and rub soothing lotion on them. I was totally hurried and had better waxes for $8 in an old neighbor's basement.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaRitual_SanteSpa, Public Relations Manager at Sante Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Janine,

Thank you for commenting about our services at Sante Spa. We appreciate your feedback, and apologize if your treatment did not meet your expectations. We have looked into your concerns with your experience. We encourage our guests to arrive 15-20 mins prior to their service to avoid any delays, and guests are informed that their service time will be shortened if they arrive late so as not to inconvenience other guests. We apologize for any remaining wax, as per request we had applied aloe due to your skin condition, which does not remove wax.

We hope you will consider some of our other treatments and amenities at the spa, and look forward to your next visit.

Christina Arthur-Dick, Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice Spa with a great ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is my favorite spa from the ones that I have visits so far in Calgary. It actually feels Ike a spa unlike some that are more Ike a doctors office.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaRitual_SanteSpa, Public Relations Manager at Sante Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Sante Spa. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit to our Spa.

Christina Arthur-Dick, Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Massage, Meh Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

My SIL and I both went for prenatal massages and they were great. They don't have a super relaxing lounge area or a sauna or anything so if you're looking for that, this is not your spa.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaRitual_SanteSpa, Public Relations Manager at Sante Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our massage treatments at Sante Spa. We take pride in the training, knowledge and talent of our staff, and are pleased you enjoyed your experience. We will take your comments into consideration to improve the spa experience of our guests, and look forward to your next visit.

Christina Arthur-Dick, Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Spaaaaaaah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This was my third trip to Santé and I could easily visit monthly. I had the Vichy scrub and massage, and the experience of being scrubbed and then warmly rinsed all while lying immobile on the table is an experience just this side of heaven. Also appreciated is the lounge area, with its quiet decadence, warm blankets, fire, and range of snacks - not all healthy snacks. Sometimes you just want a little sugar with your spa day. Santé is worth a visit, alone or with your best friend.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpaRitual_SanteSpa, Public Relations Manager at Sante Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We encourage Guests to visit monthly to maintain their health and wellness, and the products used during your treatment can be purchased to extend your experience at home. Our Spa is Quality Assurance Accredited by Leading Spas of Canada and our staff are extensively trained to ensure all Guests receive the same high quality experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Christina Arthur-Dick, Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sante Spa also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Sante Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sante Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.