We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree 100% with last review.. The worst restaurant experiance.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Deerfoot Inn and Casino

Save Saved
You added Deerfoot Inn and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deerfoot Inn and Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11500 - 35 Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Z 3W4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Agree 100% with last review.. The worst restaurant experiance.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We had new year eve steak and lobster (our only option) 6 oz filet more like 2. cold coffee, poor service, did not taste like normal food experiance, awful feeling after, pricy as well. Will never go back. This was 2nd and final experiance for us.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear RonandJo,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize that we didn’t meet your expectations during your visit here. We are disappointed to hear about that the quality of the food that you received was less than acceptable. We are well known for our exceptional service and the quality of food that we serve here at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We hope that you would return so we can show you the level of quality that we pride ourselves on.

Best Regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    32
    16
    11
See reviews for
33
27
6
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

The rooms were fine, as was the service and the pool and waterslide. The Mohave restuarant was awful. Probably the worse I have ever had. Pricey and poor quality. The resturant phone rang for the whole 1hr we were there. They messed up several of our orders, wrong drinks and wrong salad dressings. The food all tasted like it had been cooked in oil and the steaks were just poor quality. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ponoka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Went during Calgary Stampede, even though a little out of city centre was a great hotel to stay at. With the casino and the restaurants and buffet breakfasts it has all we could have wanted. We're big Spruce Meadows fans so will definetly be staying there when we go as it's very close...just minutes from Spruce.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

We travelled to the Deerfoot Inn & Casino as a group with young children. The water park was amazing for the kids, the food was fantastic in the Mohave Grill, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The casino itself was very clean and fresh and we all enjoyed the atmosphere. Overall the facility was beautiful and i would recommend it to anyone for the overall entertainment experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

I stayed at the Deerfoot Inn with a group of clients for 4 days and my expectaions were greatly exceded. The hotel was very clean and beautifully designed. The staff were polished and very helpful. The rooms were big, very clean, great views and very comfortable, and they even offered me a room with a board table in it. The Casino was a great environment. There staff were all in theme outfits to make the experiance, there was live entertainment in there lounge and also in there Showroom. They have a very nice Martini and Sushi bar which we felt was a very classy touch to a very well rounded stay. We will definelty be back!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Corporatetraveller44,

Thank you very much for your stay with us at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We are thrilled you decided to share your experience with us. It is our goal to provide the best level of service to our guests, and we are grateful you have allowed us to show you our interpretation of Calgary hospitality. We would love to welcome you back for another visit any time.

Warm Regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We did not stay long enough to visit the casino but our visit was long enough to learn that the staff were just great. One of our party was not happy with her room and the staff bent over backwards to accomodate her. Rooms were large with flat screen t.v.'s and couches. No complaints --- it is a fine place to rest up if one is journeying on towards someplace else. I don't think I'd want to stay more than a day or so, however, as the area around the Deerfoot Inn is pretty barren and industrial looking. The breakfast grill served up pretty good food, which was include in the price of the room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear djangobibby,

Thank You for sharing your experience with us here at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We are thrilled we were able to meet your expectations. It is always very satisfying knowing that we have pleased another of our guests and we are able to extend our interpretation of Calgary hospitality. Thank you again for taking the time to share your satisfaction. We look very forward to having you back as our guest on your next visit to Calgary.

Best Regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Went back for the second time for our anniversary, paid almost 400+ for a suite. We tried to watch a movie and the speakers on the crappy TV in the bedroom were so shot we couldn't understand the movie over the loud buzzing. Next morning the coffee machine didn't work. Worst of all when I told the girl at the from desk she responded back with a bored 'get lost' attitude. I also wrote the hotel manager an email and never heard back. They don't care, 'take your money and run' seems to be the attitude.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deerfoot Inn and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfoot Inn and Casino

Address: 11500 - 35 Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Z 3W4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 98 hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerfoot Inn and Casino 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Deerfoot Inn and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Calgary
Deerfoot Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerfoot Inn and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.