We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude manager, unreasonable rules and Don't eat the food!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Deerfoot Inn and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Deerfoot Inn and Casino to your Saves list
Deerfoot Inn and Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11500 35 Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Z 3W4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Kindersley, Canada
1 review
“Rude manager, unreasonable rules and Don't eat the food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked for a hockey tourney as a group to receive the group rate. However, apparently when you receive a group rate, group rules apply like a 72 HOUR cancellation policy!! We were unaware of this rule and tried to cancel 1 night. After putting up quite a stink, our family was able to cancel the room. The manager was rude and swore over the phone.

One of the parents of the team was hospitalized for food poisoning after eating breakfast at the hotel (free breakfast = free trip to the hospital I guess). Several children were not feeling well from our team and other teams that were also staying at this hotel.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will never stay or recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Tanya S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to apologize that you didn’t like our standard cancellation policy. After we have held a room for you within the 72hr period prior to arrival there is a full charge for cancelling the reservation you requested. This is also why we request a credit card and inform you of our cancellation policy when you book your hotel reservation. Our policies are well known industry standards that are used in hotels all around the world. I’m a little bit surprised to see a complaint regarding the cancellation policy when you weren’t charged the fee for it. I can understand your frustration regarding your confusion here but I also wanted to point out that we received great remarks from the other guests related to the tournament you were attending. I'm sorry your stay was less than satisfactory for you.

Warm Regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    51
    35
    17
    11
See reviews for
38
28
7
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was at a convention for three days. Rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and very clean. No problems with anything in the room. Fridge, coffee maker, flat screen TV, WiFi worked very well. Swimming pool and hottub appeared to be well looked after. Staff accommodating. Meals at convention were very tasty and hot with excellent waiter service. Casino is attached and is fairly good size. i would stay there again. Reasonable rate. Only drawback is it is not easy to get to and no shopping within walking distance that we saw.

Room Tip: We were at the back and quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear MarionP2,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s great to hear you liked the décor and service around the property. We recognize how important it is to leave a lasting impression on our guests and we would like to thank you again for sharing your wonderful experience. We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Warm regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenfell
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights at a convention. Everything ran smooth, rooms were nice, staff friendly and helpful, catered meals were tasty. Restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was good quality. Location remote so was a bit inconvient as we had no vehicle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Maureen C,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us while you were in Calgary. We are very glad that you enjoy our property and our quality of service. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Calgary.

Warm regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff at this concert was like being in a prison. They were unfriendly and rude, the blonde girl with her hair in a braid was the worse person I've ever met.. Definitely she made the whole trip of diving to Calgary, staying in our room because the casino atmosphere with her was unbearable.
The money you spend on tickets and rooms, they should find staff to make it enjoyable, not like a prison camp.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Donna H,

I have to say I am a little surprised to receive this review of your experience. I was personally a part of the wristband process and also was also the host at the doors in assisting all guests to their seats prior to the show. In dealing with the majority of our guests throughout the evening all the immediate feedback I got was fantastic. People were happy with the service and really enjoyed Dr. Hook. I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us that evening was less than that of the rest of our guests. I am also a bit confused relating to the blonde lady with a braid that you mentioned in your review. I was in there from the time we opened the doors until the show started and I don’t recall a blonde with a braid anywhere. We always hope that our guests are able to enjoy the high quality of service that we strive to provide. I am very sorry if yours was less than satisfactory during your night away. Please feel free to contact me anytime direct at the hotel to discuss the events of the evening further if you wish. Thank you.

Warm regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Spent 4 nights here for convention. Hotel bent over backwards to accommodate us.
Large rooms, nice indoor pool, large casino,
Fabulous buffets Sat. Night and Sunday Brunch
Friendly staff
Nice that they always have water (variety of selection) in lobby available. Coffee there in the mornings.
Nice lobby lounge with fireplace. One of the nicest I've seen.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
BCLady48,

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for sharing your experience. I’m so happy you were able to enjoy the superior quality of service that we have to offer here at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. I am also glad to hear that you liked the décor and dining options around the property. Hopefully your luck was also very good inside the casino. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Calgary. Thanks very much.

Warm regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay in the last 6 weeks. On both stays the rooms were clean, comfy and quiet. The staff at the front desk were cheerful and very helpful. We live in calgary so these visits were a part of our "stay-cation" and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sparkle1999,

I am happy to hear that you choose to spend your “stay-cation” here with us at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great experience with us. It is our goal to ensure that our guests are able to relax and have fun during their stay with us and it’s very rewarding to get feedback from people who have enjoyed the property and quality of service. We look forward to hosting you back as our guest on your next night away. Thank you.

Warm regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadians in paradise
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We enjoyed a most enjoyable and relaxing night in the Cowboy Suite! Exceptionally comfortable king size bed with a beautiful log style bed frame in a separate bedroom. The kids room had a log style bunk bed and a beautifully painted cowboy themed wall. It is a bit of a climb to the top bunk but lots of fun for kids. The washroom was massive with a Jacuzzi tub. The sitting room was comfy with a leather style sofa. The kids really enjoyed the basket of snacks and especially the iPad! The Cowboy Suite is an experience that will truly be loved by the entire family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Flames97,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on our Cowboy Theme Suite. We are very happy to hear that your family was able to enjoy a fun evening with us here at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We hope that you also took the opportunity to enjoy our many facilities around the property like our waterpark or family restaurant. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Calgary.

Warm Regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deerfoot Inn and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfoot Inn and Casino

Address: 11500 35 Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Z 3W4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerfoot Inn and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Deerfoot Inn and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Calgary
Deerfoot Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deerfoot Inn and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.