We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercato

Mercato
2224 4th St. SW, Calgary, Alberta T2S 1W9, Canada
403-263-5535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 2,772 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Never, ever a disappointing experience - every item we have ever tried we have loved. Great atmosphere, we love to sit at the bar and watch the chefs work. If you work your way through the traditional courses it may seem a bit expensive to some for a meal but to be honest when you get your money's worth I don't consider it expensive no matter what the bill is.

Staff is very knowledge and helpful (we have even been told we are ordering too much!) Always excellent wine suggestions.

This is simply my favourite restaurant in Calgary.

And don't forget the lovely little Italian delicatessan/market attached. We just enjoy every visit in fact its been too long we should go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
“Nice delicatessen lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Mercato is a pleasant fairly large restaurant annex delicatessen with some private parking on the side (good for about 20 cars). A good and afforable lunch or dinner can be compiled from the extensive delicatessen shop, paid for by weight and consumed at the bar. There is a la carte dining, too. The wines are expensive and the cheapest ones were not all that great. Service was a little absent minded but well intended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favourite Calgary Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Amazing Food in a great atmosphere. Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful with the menu and wine list. All the recommendations were excellent. We will be back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too much salt...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was one of my all time favourite restaurants however, the last time I was there and ordered the tuna I couldn't eat it. Way over salted! The waitress did take the meal off our bill and said that the chefs do love their salt. Then my friends were there for dinner a week later and before ordering were told by their server that they do use a lot if salt in cooking. Again, according to my friend... The fish was overly salted! Bummer....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I have been to Mercato many times. I have NEVER been disappointed. It's always our #1 pick in Calgary for a night out or to enjoy a nice lunch. Fantastic atmosphere! The open kitchen not only smells incredible, but it adds such excitement to your dining experience. Great wine selections, friendly and knowledgable staff, parking in the back (which is helpful downtown) and most of all - the food is always top choice! Fresh ingredients, amazing, authentic meal selections and an original menu sets this place apart from the rest.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.