We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies will love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercato

Mercato
2224 4th St. SW, Calgary, Alberta T2S 1W9, Canada
403-263-5535
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mercato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 2,872 restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
Restaurant details
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Foodies will love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Watch the chefs prepare your meals from the freshest ingredients. Eat at high-top long bench tables. Great market place with gourmet foods, as well as, fresh. flavorful foods. Wines relatively good as well.

All the food was great. We had 2 appetizers, 3 pastas and a platter of squid in a mouse like sauce made of salmon roe, garlic and onions (excellent), the steak cooked perfectly and most flavorful as were the fresh green beans, onions and mushrooms. 2 cheesecakes and a tiramisu (tiramisu was actually only OK not awesome like the others).

Net, Net, I’m going back next time I’m in Calgary. Great food, great ambiance and an exceptionally goodtime.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    16
    14
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CALGARY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mercato keeps on pleasing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Mercato on 4th Street SW continues to be a go to spot for a great Italian Fusion meal. Service is typically prompt and friendly, food arrives at appropriate intervals and is always succulent. Unless you enjoy tons of rock salt, let your host(ess) know to hold back on the added garnish. Lunch, afternoon or evening Mercato is a great place to socialize, enjoy and relax.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is a real Italian restaurant, you could be in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The dishes, the wine, the cooking, its all authentic and right out of Tuscany. The dishes are for sharing, the food is delicious. Just came back from Italy and now appreciate the restaurant even more as it is the real Italian experience and not an American appropriation of what Italy might be. Best for friends and large groups as the dishes are meant to share. Also the cellar is a very respectable selection of second to none Italian wines in all price ranges. The owner is still very much around, and his wife and friends make some of the specialty pasta. The market in the restaurant will sell you sauces, pasta, tomatoes. Parking in the back, with access direct through the shipping doors to the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very entertaining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My daughter and I love to sit at the food bar and watch the chefs at work! Interesting service, very good pasta and salads -- though we haven't been able to tackle the huge steaks yet! Maybe next time when we go with the menfolk! Lots of action. Probably our fave place in Calgary for a fun girl's night! Not easy to get a res at a "normal" time -- had to wait til 9 p.m. even after booking two days in advance!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good food, good service, lots of noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We went here for dinner on a weeknight, and it was packed. With an added bar area, the place has room for even more people who talk louder as the spirits flow. Pretty soon, EVERYONE is getting louder just to be heard. There is music playing adding some indeterminate noise to the mix...it would take a team of forensic audio analysts to figure out what was playing.
That said, the level gets sorted out in your head, and you can enjoy the food. It's really good. We had crusty ribs, a tasty Caprese with buffalo mozza, green beans, and a simple pasta with tomato sauce. Everything was excellent, our server was personable and efficient, and the water glasses were never empty for more than a minute. It's medium expensive, but worth it.
The only downside was the cheapo" balsamic vinegar of Modena" at the table. When the ingredients list starts with red wine vinegar and includes caramel coloring, you're eating a watery, bitter, pale imitation of the real balsamico. The olive oil is family prepared, and is quite good. If you're into real Aceto Balsamico , bring your own.
We ate at the downtown location. Next time we may try the new West location. Either way, we'll be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercato also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.