We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elan to your Saves list
Hotel Elan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1122 16th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0T6, Canada (Beltline)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 40%!
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Just amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was going to stay with some friends but at the last minute decided to book a one night stay at the Hotel Elan, boy am I glade I did. The location was great for downtown walking and sightseeing. In addition they had the friendliest staff who took care of me like I was family. They had a managers cocktail reception that was perfect for a little nibble before my big event. In the morning I was greatly enthused and looking forward to breakfast and again Hotel Elan did not disappoint. They had an array of choices from pastries, cereal, fruits, omelets,sausages potatoes... basically the works. The bed was more than amazing.. they even had heated toilet seats !!!!!!! Now who does not like that ... Very highly recommended !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Since Hotel Elan is a boutique style property this allows us to have a more personable service and yes we treat all of our guests as members of the Elan family! Sophie I am glad you were able to attend our Managers reception as well as our complimentary Elan Energizer breakfast. We really appreciate your business and your taking the time to submit your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    45
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
77
8
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed for one night in a standard room on Valentines Day. I loved the bathroom and toilet as they were warm and cozy. The floors and toilet seats are heated. They provided toiletries including mouthwash which was definitely a plus! However, I did not particularly fancy the room itself. There was too much stuff in the open -the microwave, ironing board, coat rack, coffee maker etc making the very small room look cluttered. I felt that it took away from the nice decor. It felt more like a business kind of room but definitely nowhere near romantic. I would not recommend this room for a romantic night out but rather when one goes on business. I usually go out on romantic 1/2 night outings every month. Overall, it is a nice hotel with little bonuses here and there. Many reviews seem to recommend the 1/2 bedroom suite. I wish I had had an opportunity to view one as per their invitation but I had to rush back home to my twins:) . Thanks for the Valentines chocolate. That was a really nice gesture!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to submit your review Debra on your stay during our Valentine Day weekend discount specials. The theme of Hotel Elan is Simplistic Elegance with a strong clean European flair. The beauty of our high end boutique style hotel is that we can offer many different room types and styles as well as price points. The hotel room style lends it self well to the business or leisure traveler who requires a comfortable over night stay. For a little more space our one bedroom suites boosts a separate living room area. Completing our inventory is our incredible Serenity and Energizer suites - 935 to 973 sq. ft. these suites that have the Chaise Lounge sofa in the main living area and the Chromotherapy soaker tub in the spa like bathroom. When your schedule permits I would love to have you back for a site of all our room and suites types? I am sure you will agree that these suites will be on your wish list for next Valentines Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Elan during a visit to Calgary for our birthdays, and it is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. The rooms are very modern with a 2 headed shower and a seat warmer in the bathroom! I've never stayed in a place this luxurious before, and such well priced! It's also in the best part of Calgary (in my opinion) - closer to the red mile in a nicer part of downtown, making the walk to and from the restaurants and shops part of the experience. The bed was extremely comfortable, we didn't want to leave. And fantastic staff! Highly recommended! Calgary's hidden gem!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Belated Happy Birthday Amy! What a great way to celebrate your birthdays! So much fun on 17 Ave with many places to dine and shop followed by a little Hotel Elan pampering. Prefect way to spend your special weekend. We look forward to your next stay with us but hopefully we do not have to wait a year to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My partner and I came here during the Calgary Comic Expo for just one night. We usually stay at the Delta, but after last time's dirty, bug-filled room there we decided to try somewhere new. Boy, am I glad we did. The hotel is exceptionally clean and very bright and modern. The decor was pleasing and efficient. TV was huge and had an excellent variety of high-def channels. The bathroom and shower were so lovely. It did have a bit of a business hotel feel, but I found it really charming. The location is also not too shabby - a short cab ride to the Expo grounds. Customer service was super and breakfast buffet had a lot of variety. Overall couldn't recommend more. Great value!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Sometimes a change is in order and I am so please to hear that you and your partner decided to give Hotel Elan a try! We pride our selves on the incredible product and amenities that our owners created in the development of Hotel Elan. It is our responsibility to insure it stays exceptionally clean and provide super customer service. Glad you had a great weekend at Calgary Comic Expo, that you feel you received great value on your stay and we look forward to seeing you back on your next rip into Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel Elan just generously sponsored rooms for a celebrity charity fashion show in Calgary and their customer service and facilities were unbelievable! We were SO impressed and will use them exclusively for events! If you are in the Calgary area you must check out this trendy boutique hotel! The private patio is lovely, the suites are total luxury, the staff are world class.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Alison it has been a true pleasure working with you and your team. It was very nice to meet so many of the group at our Managers reception last evening! We look forward to working with you on many more of your upcoming elite events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The facade looks like a new block of flats. It's like Dr Who's tardis once you're inside it's something different, a smart and trendy hotel. The rooms are a good size and classy, with all the mod cons you would expect from a new hotel. Bathrobes, and good quality toiletries provided. We spent two nights here in April 2014. The hotel only serves breakfast but there are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and other eating places nearby. We had dinner at the revolving Calgary Tower restaurant with amazing views of the city and the Rockies. Enjoy, I would definitely recommend both.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of Hotel Elan. Over a two year period a massive renovation has produced the smart and trendy hotel as you say! The Philosophy toiletries and bathrobes really do add the final touch to an enjoyable stay. Great choice on the Calgary Tower restaurant to take in all of our beautiful scenery while enjoying your dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with two young children. Everything was excellent. The front desk service, the prime location (close to some great restaurants), the room decor, the tech touches......heated toilet seat!

The breakfast was not in your face, it was self service with a varied selection.

The housekeeping staff did a great job every day, I don't mean the typical change your towels out, they cleaned everything and each day it was like walking into the room on day 1.

Highly recommend the suite for the extra sitting space, we were in the 1 bedroom king suite. The bed was very comfortable with a selection of firm and soft pillows.

In a nutshell,there were no little things not taken care of. Hotel Elan is our fav hotel in calgary now, and we will be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Yashar thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Elan and taking the time to submit a review on you experience. The one bedroom suite is a great value and perfect for a family. We pride our selves on attention to detail not only in the amenities that are offered i.e. heated toilet seat but also the thorough cleaning that our housekeeping staff make standard practice. We look forward to welcoming your entire family back on your next trip to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Address: 1122 16th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elan 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.