We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Neighbourhood Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Rouge

Bistro Rouge
1919 Sirocco Drive SW, Calgary, Alberta T3H 2Y3, Canada
403.514.0561
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Rouge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #138 of 2,873 restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Continental, Eclectic, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Signature Mall by 17th Avenue SW and Sirocco drive
Transit: LRT West at Sirocco station.
Description: At Bistro Rouge, the foundation of our food begins with the best ingredients. We partner with local food growers. Preparing these quality ingredients with respect and expertise gives our French cuisine its regional flavor.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Neighbourhood Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Love the location, so easy to access and park. Bistro concept with simple menu works. Steelhead Trout was excellent (thanks for the tip fellow Trip Advisor reviewer), fine wine list. Service was professional. We will be back for sure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    20
    15
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocrity!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

They cannot serve rare steak - why? Pasta was hand cut but really so thick it was tough. Over priced for food value. Service was great! Should have gone to Rouge Restaurant for our anniversary - the Bistro was a mistake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good Food and Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I met a friend here the other night for dinner; neither one of us had been here so it was a first...and we left saying that we would definitely come back. We shared the greens of the day salad followed by the plat du jour - a deconstructed lamb stew - delicious and perfect for a grey and cool Calgary evening. In spite of thinking there was too much meat on the plate, both of us ate it all! We shared the salted caramel sticky bread pudding and it was finger licking delicious! Nice selection of wine by the glass - from Canada and elsewhere although i think $12 for a 5 oz pour is a bit much. Service was very pleasant. Lots of natural light floods the space and the view from there isn't too bad - suburbia but it could be worse. I will definitely return and bring along my other half!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a really good restaurant. The menu is one that makes you want to come back because there are so many great options!! My wife had the special...it was great but the only problem was that there was too much food. I had the Steel Head Trout....it was one of the best meals I have had in a long time. The cold salad made the dish!!

Will be back for sure to try something else on the menu!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“High End Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As we've always wanted to try Rouge Restaurant, we looked forward to eating at its sister bistro when an occasion came up last week. The location is great and the atmosphere enticing. Our waiter however was either off his game that night or just exceedingly arrogant. We ordered a bottle of wine and he brought something different out, placed it on the table and left. When he came back several minutes later we mentioned it was not the wine we ordered and he explained that our wine was chilling so he thought we should try this one while waiting. Fair enough, but an explanation and offer would have been nice to begin with. We waited for our wine to be chilled as we were only having one bottle, and it was just a few minutes wait. Dispite his continued poor attitude we all enjoyed the evening and our meals. The menu takes some explanation and has a nice, but limited, selection of dishes all nicely prepared and delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Rouge also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Bistro Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.