We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 7 Seas Seafood & Grill Restaurant

7 Seas Seafood & Grill Restaurant
7521 Macleod Trail SW, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 3,003 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Filipino
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Today is my first visit. We were there at 7.15 pm and is full house on a regular Thursday night. Waitress are all friendly and helpful. They explained the menu in detail and do certain recommendation. We ordered grilled platter, pig hock and pork soup. They are all good. Portion is big and suggest 4 people to go if you want to try more different items. Yes we will go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent food and a real welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We picked 7 Seas for my mother in law's birthday meal and were delighted to have done so. As many have said this restaurant certainly doesn't look anything special from the outside but as a dining experience it was very special. the food is pretty simple but very good quality and absolutely delicious. The prices were very reasonable given the portion size and quality. The restaurant is clearly popular with Philipino people (which is an indication of the quality of the food) but was certainly welcoming to everyone. The owners and staff were very happy to advise on the food and explain items which we didn't know and their friendliness made this a very enjoyable meal. We didn't mention that this was a birthday meal when booking but it came up in talking to the staff and we were delighted when they came out with a desert with a candle and sang happy birthday to us at the end of the meal - a really thoughtful touch. Both we and the rest of our party were really impressed and will definitely be back - my only fear is that with all the good reviews we won't be able to get in!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Definitely give 7 seas a try! We had a fabulous meal. We've travelled from out of town and looking for a good meal at a reasonable price! We were delighted with the service, the atmosphere and the most...our meal. Quality all the way, excellent flavour! We ordered steak lobster and shrimp and when they delivered the food wow!...served on a sizzling plate and we also had grilled platter 4 kinds of varieties of dishes for $39.00 that's cheap and the garlic rice yummy! Incredibly fabulous! The dishes were attractively prepared. Small restaurant with a Big Bang! Excellent food! I will recommend 7 seas to everyone we know.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy, Just Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As others have mentioned, 7 Seas doesn't look like much from the outside....or the inside. But looks can be deceiving. Two things make this restaurant special: the quality of the food, and the friendliness of the two owners. Their cheery, polite manner and willingness to take the time to describe the qualities and flavors of various dishes from the expansive menu is most refreshing. It's very evident that they enjoy providing their customers top quality food at reasonable prices. The Philipino community seems to be very supportive of this clean and cozy restaurant, if the number of diners happily chowing down was any indication. The authentic Philipino dishes looked interesting, but my partner and I decided to go traditional and started with Tempura shrimp, which was lightly battered, crispy, and not oily at all. For our main, we chose to share an order of garlic rice and the Grilled Platter with beef ribs, mango salad, kingfish in coconut sauce, grilled shrimp, and calamari. All of the items were excellent. For me, the highlight was the ribs....they were outstanding. Thin-sliced and tender, the Korean BBQ flavor was delectable. The dipping sauces provided complimented the meal nicely. We were too full to try dessert....that will be next time. We were the last diners there, and were never encouraged to rush out the door....in fact, the owners spent time casualy chatting with us as they went about cleaning and preparing for the next day. Genuinely nice people. Located in a small strip small just south of the Econo Lodge on the west side of Macleod Trail, 7 Seas is definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dynamite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place was awesome! Superb! Service from the moment we arrived. Especially the food is so tasty, just melt in your mouth, nothing better! Both of us ordered different dishes and were totally blown away by the faultless. We didn't expect that it is this good! You will be highly recommended to our friends and relatives!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Seas Seafood & Grill Restaurant also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to 7 Seas Seafood & Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 Seas Seafood & Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.