We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapeno's Mexican Grill

Jalapeno's Mexican Grill
821 4 Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0K4, Canada
(587) 353-1484
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 3,019 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I travel for a living and I'm on the constant look out for good locally owned and operated restaurants. I'm especially fond of Mexcian and Italian cuisine. I found Jalapeno's Mex Grill by accident. I was pleasantly surpised by the quality of the food and service. I spoke with the owner himself about the various dishes and how they are prepared. Everything is fresh and prepared daily.The atmospher feels more like a fast food, but not the food. There are a few things that I would add, such as a more extensive salsa bar and chips, but I'm fussier than most. That being said, my tostada meal was very good and worth coming back. I look forward to visiting again when I'm in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Amazing - the most friendly service ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a gem. It's a cafe style place for a quick burrito. The owners are passionate about their food. They are so friendly, they deserve and earn your business. The food is fresh and is prepared while you watch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delicious beef tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

what a delicious tacos and the fresh salsas we had at jalapenos last weekend finally we found us mexican's taqueria :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“STILL AWESOME!!! Feb 11th, 2013...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Celebrating my mom's B-Day at Jalapeño's on the weekend was the best decision ever...She wanted an authentic taste of Mexico and she got it...Simply delicious...We were there in November and I was pleasantly surprised to know that the quality, freshness and quantity of the food and great service was even better...So delicious....my mom, LOVED the salsas and she tried them all...the food so tasty and juicy....and the Horchata, OMG, wonderful!! Will be back many, many, many times for sure....Highly recommend this place....Jalapeño's has no competition what so ever....STILL AWESOME!!!. Sandy

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good fast food Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Overall the restaurant is more of a cafeteria style establishment. (Not unlike a Mexican Subway). I had the 10 dollar tacos. You get your choice of meats and I tried the al pastor and the chicken. I thought the chicken was the winner as the al pastor was missing that fresh flavour you would find in Mexico. If you are craving good, fast Mexican food, Jalapeño's is worth a visit.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapeno's Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jalapeno's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalapeno's Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.