We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khao San Thai Kitchen

Khao San Thai Kitchen
1314 17 Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
587-353-2668
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 2,927 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a perfect restaurant to do small plates or share the bigger dishes. A group of four women went on a Tuesday evening and are grateful we had a reservation. We decided to order five different appetizers and share. The corn fritter was the best ever. The presentation was outstanding. The dishes only gave us a nibble of each item so we ordered a prawn entree as well. It was delicious . With two alcoholic beverages the bill was just over 100.$ an excellent value for Calgary the service was impressive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“authentic thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

when we first arrived the restaurant was pretty empty and we were a little worried. Staff were friendly and the restaurant quickly filled up which is always a good sign. The spring roles, peanut chicken and spinach and chicken curry dishes were very good. Would recommend!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT MEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is my second review of this restaurant and the food is still as tasty as ever. Had the Beef Satay $8.00 and Spring Rolls $8.00 to start, then ordered the Chicken Cashew Nuts $16.00 and tried a new dish Braised Short Ribs in Massaman Curry (Beef Short Ribs, Massman Curry, Coconut Milk, Baby Potatoes, Onions, Roasted Peanuts) $23.00. Unfortunately I felt that this dish was very expensive for what you got (see photo) Only 3 pieces of ribs and a couple of undercooked new potatoes. Too bad as the taste was excellent but the value was not there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance, Great Service, Great Food, Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I spend two months a year in Thailand and am married to a Thai so I thought besides just reviewing our travels I would tried to help folks find great Thai food in Calgary.

This is my favourite Thai restaurant in Calgary if it wasn't so pricey we would dine there more often but somehow getting a great meal in a little family run restaurant for under $2 in Thailand jades my price point somewhat on Thai food. It is my wife's second choice my next review will be her fave. She did love the food here she's just more family restaurant style I'm the fine dining fan.

The ambiance is great the decor suits, the service is fantastic and the food is awesome, delicious and well presented. This is Thai fine dining which a lot of places aspire to but fall very short of, however it does come with the price tag to match. I think great food and experience is worth the extra money but it wont be our go to at these prices its a special night out place.

Special Note: Only shortcoming on food when my wife asked them for Thai level heat/spiciness it came up a little short (I could still eat it!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and a very tasty meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This place was recommended by the hostess of a local B&B. I arrived without reservation to a packed house on a Friday night. They quickly asked me if I cared to sit outside, and since 17th Ave was bustling and the evening was lovely, I quickly accepted the suggestion. Service was great. A nice young lady came to see me immediately, and was very attentive throughout my stay there. I had the Tom Yum Soup with Seafood and the Spring Rolls, which were uniquely presented in individual shot glasses. Friends of mine went a few nights later and loved the place. I would definitely go again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao San Thai Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Khao San Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao San Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.