We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibo

Cibo
1012 17 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
403-984-4755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cibo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #178 of 2,769 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between 9th and 10th Street SW
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We ate there last nite. We had the lamb meatball appetizer, which was delicious and the arancini, which we could have skipped. I don t know what the spice was in the meatballs but the flavors were awesome. We had 3 pasta dishes: pappardelle (lamb), the farfalle (boar bacon and chicken), and ravioli (beef and pork) and one piatti, the steelhead trout piatti. All were excellent.

Service was great.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    60
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Gnocchi Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This place is beautiful on the outside and inside. During patio season, they definitely have one of the best in Calgary. If you order a starter, be sure to order the Gnocchi. I have had gnocchi at several other restaurants, including some in New York and Italy, and this is the best gnocchi I have had thus far. I'm sure that any of the mains are fantastic, however, I would highly recommend the gorgonzola pear and walnut pizza. This pizza comes drizzled in honey and will not disappoint. The service is always fast and friendly and the prices are very reasonable. When looking for a great dinner out in Calgary, you'll do very well choosing Cibo.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Start with Scodellina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Been here a few times now and have never been disappointed. Great menu, friendly helpful staff who provide very good service and most importantly amazing food! I highly recommend starting with Scodellina, the Tuscan Chicken Liver Pâté is to die for!!!! Save room for dessert, you need to have a mega sweet tooth but totally worth it..

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Share and share alike! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Cibo is a 17th Avenue hot spot in Calgary and on my fourth visit, I continue to be impressed. Service is terrific, with knowledgeable staff. The pizza is undoubtedly among the city's best. The sharing dishes go down well with my family. Will keep on coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wish this place wasn't as amazing as it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Love the Food, Atmosphere & Service, the only problem....It is too good! It is always busy, even on Tuesday nights! If you want the most delicious Gnocchi EVER! you will be better off making a reservation a few days in advance. Love the way they do their appies too with little mix and match bites of things. The golden beets with goat cheese & hazelnuts! The riccotta cheese with apricot jam and crostinis! MMMMM All so good. Great wine list too!, not big by any means but great choices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.