We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vegetarian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho So 1

Pho So 1
1609 Centre Street NW, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #927 of 2,927 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Vegetarian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I always get the veggie egg rolls over vermicelli noodles. Very tasty! It's the only place in town that makes it so good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seddons Corner
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Soup, Vermicelli, and Service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I can't count the number of times I have eaten here over the years and I only had one meal ever that wasn't up to their standard.
The vermicelli dishes are wonderful, as well as the salad rolls. Their Pho (soup) is a must try. The broth has such a wonderful flavor that I have never experienced at any other Vietnamese restaurant.
It's really worth the visit, only if you want authentic Vietnamese food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“A go-to Vietnamese restaurant for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I have been frequenting Pho So 1 for years. The service is efficient, the food is consistent and good, and it is easy to have lunch in under 45 minutes. We generally order a vermicelli bowl and the sate beef soup. Both are excellent. As other reviewers have noted, there is a decent quantity of meat in their dishes as compared to some other Vietnamese restaurants. The different sizes of meals offers a choice depending on how hungry you are. The only downside is parking. The parking lot is usually crowded due to traffic to the grocery store and the mall. On street parking can also be a challenge as this area is typically crowded.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pho's what you come here for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The salad rolls and pho are the two reasons I eat at Pho So 1. This is the place that I generally will go to when I am craving Pho. I also like the fact that they actually have a small in terms of portions. Most restaurant offer you a selection of M, L or XL or L or XL and it is usually way too much food. The ratio of meat and vegetables is well balanced and the broth nicely balance in terms of flavour and spices. Salad rolls are always fresh and reasonably priced.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Big portions, Bland flavours.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We ate lunch here just before Xmas, the place was 1/2 busy. We had meat and shrimp salad rolls to start, we found these quite dried out, probably prepared the day before and not fresh on demand as we are used too.
We then had the medium size seafood noodle soup, and the small size well done beef noodle soup. Portions are generously large. Seafood came with prawns, squid and fake crab, the soup broth was very bland. The beef noodle soup stock was also very bland.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho So 1 also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Pho So 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho So 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.