We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like heat in your room, stay away from this hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Pointe Inn

The Pointe Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Pointe Inn to your Saves list
The Pointe Inn
1808 19th St NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 4Y3, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you like heat in your room, stay away from this hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The room was extremly cold and not very clean. There was the bare minimum for towels, if you can even call them that, as well as soap (one bar). We tried using the bathroom fan to help circulate the air, but had to turn it off because it sounded as if it might catch on fire. You definately get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    3
    23
See reviews for
2
5
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Upon checking in we were told to wait because they were too busy to help us. 40 minutes later we're told "I guess I'll have to help you now." As she was checking us in she got mad because we didn't have the exact credit card used to book, and threatened to cancel our booking and refuse us a room. Only after getting extremely upset with her did she allow us to put a $200 cash deposit down (which she demanded expecting us to refuse) and when we handed cash over without disagreement plus the cost of the room she tells us the room has already been paid for on the credit card and it's on the account. Then refuses to explain why she needs a deposit if it's already paid for and the room already has a credit card attached for incidentals other than to say "It's THIS hotel's policy and you're already pushing your luck with a cash deposit."

Checking out was a much better experience, but their "continental breakfast" was stale cereal with no milk.

The room was freezing the whole time we were there unless the heater was running full blast and we couldn't hear the TV. The cable had no channel guide and most of the channels had no sound. When we phoned the front looking for a channel list we were told "try changing the channel and see what's on". The microwave wasn't plugged in and didn't reach any plug in. The soap provided smelled like urine and was left untouched (we used our own shampoo to wash our hands).

I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very nasty hotel, lots of druggies and crackheads in this place!
Every thing was dirty and sticky. Walls are paper thin. Basically no real beds - just mattresses on a disgusting fecal mattered stained carpet floor.
I had to stay here for one night as everything else in the area was booked solid so I had no other choice.
If i was to do it all over again, I would of just rented a car and slept inside of it.
I probably got one hour of sleep that night.

Room Tip: You are better off sleeping under a bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked this hotel in July, so we would have a place to stay the night before catching a flight out of Calgary, close to the airport. WHAT A MISREPRESENTATION on the site we booked through! Some of the reviews were pretty negative, others not so much. We erred, on the "not so much " side, and now I am writing to say it was NOT even a good place to stay, and we'll never do that again! The area the hotel is in looked quite run down. There was a large sign on the outside of the hotel, stating it was under new management and being remodeled. Inside the small lobby we asked the desk clerk how long renovations had been going on and she stated, "Two years". The carpets in the hallways are dirty and stained, adding to the somewhat unpleasant odor. The room was small, but clean. The furnishings looked newer but cheap and the bathroom was functional and clean as well, but only one bar of soap was part of the amenities. The two double beds were uncomfortable. Honestly, we weren't sure if the rental car would still have it's tires on the next morning! The airport was definitely more than 3 miles away as advertised, more like 10 miles. There is a Thai Restaurant on the premises and the smell was everywhere, long into the evening. If it wasn't for the fact that we had not cancelled 24 hrs ahead of time, and our card would be charged regardless if we went to another hotel, we decided to tough this one out.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel. It was cheaper, but even at their price, it was a poor value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

we pulled up and the outside looks run down. when we went in the lobby was nice and the staff were friendly but as we went down the hallway and in the elevator it looked almost scary the cieling was low and the rugs were stained and it looked old. when we got into our room the beds and room were small it smelled funny and made me sick. There was a old tv and funny table and chairs that barely fit. we left just as quick as we got there. The room was clean and the staff was nice but that wasn't going to keep me there. It was only $97 a night but i chose to go next door to the best western and pay an extra $54

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Booked two weeks at Pointe Inn despite the negative reviews. Had no choice due to the fact there were 7 of us arriving from UK and it being Stampede week didn't help and had to find hotel for all of us within our budget. Very scared with thoughts what have I done? But once we checked in, we realised the rooms weren't as bad at all! We had bed made and clean towels every day! Nice flat tv, even a little fridge!! The AC was bit on the noisy side, free wifi( but sometimes bit on the slow side), we were even given a new box of tissues when we used up the one that was given! The shower was great with lovely hot water! For breakfast there were tea and coffee, cereal, fruits and muffins- free! You don't get that for free with some posh hotels!!! There is a laundry room and iron and ironing board is available on request. The staff were friendly and we had free shuttle bus drop off to the airport ( we asked in advance). Yes, Pointe Inn is not the luxury hotel we all would like to stay but for that price, what do you expect? They are under new management and is improving but we have no major complains during the two weeks we were there! Don't be put off by the negative reviews!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the global oil career expo as this was the only place we could find a room that had NOT been price-gouged ($300 - $700/night for average rooms!!!). After reading the reviews we expected it to be horrible. Although it wasn't great (small and dated) it wasn't as bad as we expected - until the next day that is. After showering in the morning, we noticed that the water that had collected on the walls and ceiling had turned yellow. I had to towel off the ceiling so it wouldn't drip on us. We didn't stay a second night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pointe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pointe Inn

Address: 1808 19th St NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 4Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Pointe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointe Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pointe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.