We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice house, walk to downtown - but no private bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
220 10A St. NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N1W6, Canada (Hillurst)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice house, walk to downtown - but no private bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

I loved this B&B, and returned there twice, but will be booking another one next time. The lack of privacy is the main reason - yes, it is not soundproof house, and there are many rooms, which are often occupied even in the middle of the week, and I did not like sharing bathroom when I am paying $130 a night. I loved the balcony in the Forest room. I wish they had room with private bathroom - then I would return again and again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
26
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

The two of us stayed a total of 4 nights for a conference, along with our 3 1/2 month old baby. We had the larger room, with plenty of space to set up our travel baby bed. The staff were very laid back (sometimes almost too laid back...) but generally were amazing and accommodating. The breakfasts were fab, and the kitchen table was full of interesting conversation in the morning. The only negative for us was that there was no sink in our room, which made for a lot of trips down the hall to the shared bathroom. Also a big bonus to be right near 10th Ave in Kensington, and near a light-rail station.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

My family and I actually ended up staying for one night at the sister property River Lee Executive Bed and Breakfast, which is the house right beside the River Wynde.

The self-serve check-in system they have in place is just awesome, especially since we arrived in Calgary pretty late that night. Yes, the floors were a bit creaky, but that was to be expected in an older home in the Kensington district. We did not have any problems sharing the bathroom, and breakfast was great! LOVED the River Wynde eggs omelette.

Deanna and Diana were just awesome, and it was great not to be rushed to pack up and get out of the house, especially to a family that has been travelling for the past 10 days. Thank you again ladies, and hopefully the next time around, we will get to explore the district for more than just a day. IKEA forever! hahaha!

  • Liked — the location, the food and the hostess!
  • Disliked — the creaky floors
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

We booked the Garden Cottage, which is the converted detached garage. It was perfect for what we were looking for. The location is great, in the heart of the Kensington district. Room rates are affordable. Parking is provided.

The privacy of the "cottage" is a nice touch. The rest of the rooms are in the main house; some people talk about the creakiness of the house, but this is not a problem when you're outside in the cottage. Be warned that you have to go into the main house to use the bathroom, but this was not a problem even in the middle of winter, as the house is very close. The room had a desk to use and wireless internet as well, which was a nice touch.

Deanne is incredibly friendly and she provides a fantastic breakfast. We'd stay here again.

  • Liked — privacy
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

Absolutely Fantastic. Location is a plus, hospitality is out of this world. The house was full and I was amazed how well we all managed to share the bathroom without any hassles. The breakfast was devine and it was so nice to sit outside in the garden to eat our breakfast. A great start to a day. Deanne is a wonderful welcoming hostess.

  • Liked — Location, price to time of year in Calgary
  • Disliked — Private bathroom would have made it perfect but we knew we were to share
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

This place is so great. They even give you a gym pass to the gym just behind the backyard. How nice is that?! Breakfast was really yummy and served fresh and quick, at my convenience. The bed was pretty comfortable, too. The only drawback was the shared shower - I guess I had the same schedule as another guest, so I had to time my shower just right. Otherwise the house is lovely, the owner is really hospitable and down-to-earth and the inn is just down the street from a great little pub with lots of young people and good beer. The first snow of the year arrived the same day I did, which made the house so pretty!

  • Liked — The owner was really friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — It was a little noisy upstairs thanks to the great, old wooden staircase
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

What the River Wynde has going for it is the location. It's on a lovely little street, in a quiet location so very close to the Kensington shopping district. You can just walk there!
What the River Wynde has going against it is the house itself. After our initial shock at first seeing it - the house is smaller and simpler than we had thought, we were glad that they had a self-check-in system. That was great! But, once inside, we were dismayed at how noisy it was to simply walk on the floor!! The floors are wooden and old and a part of the ambience. We stayed in the Forest Room, which I agree with a previous poster is the best room to stay in as people won't be walking past this room, since it's at the end of the hall. But we felt bad for people in the other rooms when we would walk past, or go up and down the stairs. Those stairs are noisy!! The one thing we did not like about the Forest Room were the lace curtains on the glass door of the room - no privacy!!! You can see right through those beautiful curtains. Also, if you go out on the balcony from the Forest Room, don't close the door behind you, as you might unwittingly lock yourself out. When we stayed here, all the rooms upstairs were occupied, but we never had a problem with access to the bathroom down the hall. River Wynde is a lovely place, otherwise, decorated beautifully and very well furnished. It feels very homey. And the breakfasts are fantastic! Would we stay here again? Maybe, especially since they have a fan in the room, which can block out most noises.

  • Liked — Close to Kensington, great breakfasts, comfortable room
  • Disliked — the noisy floors and stairs, and the see-through curtains in one room
  • Tips/Secrets — Just know the place can be noisy
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast

Address: 220 10A St. NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N1W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Hillurst , Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on a quiet residential street, in the heart of one of the trendiest shopping districts in Calgary. Just minutes away from the downtown core of Calgary by foot or light rail train, we have delivered comfort and value to business and vacation travelers for over thirteen years! Offering many amenities; feather duvets, hot breakfast, loaner bikes, gym access, robes, slippers, high speed wireless internet, large well-appointed rooms with hardwood floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.