We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
220 10A St. NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N1W6, Canada (Hillurst)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at River Wynde on two separate occasions and loved it both times. Great location, lovely house, comfy beds, great breakfasts, friendly hosts. Nothing really I can say bad about the place. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Little extras like washing our clothes or us and packing a travel pack of muffins for our car trip were much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
26
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I myself and my wife stayed in Earth room for a night. This place is super cool and Diane and Deanne were very good in customer service. Their breakfast, ahhh, mouthwatering.. Apart from this, it is very close to downtown and train station. This would be my 1st choice if I am visiting Calgary again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haegendorf, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

fantastic time with the two hosts of River Wynde! Nice rooms (sharing bathrooms), breakfast excellent. located in a very nice area of Calgary! totally recommendable...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at River Wynde for a relaxing trip to Calgary before getting married. It is a really cool, beautifully restored old character house with large rooms. We enjoyed the city but honestly the best part of our trip was relaxing in our room, having a glass of wine on our deck or in the beautiful garden, and exploring the old house. The floors are squeaky and you have to share the bathroom - but there are not many rooms sharing and in a full house we still felt that we had tons of privacy and quiet, and if you want a box with a private bathroom - stay at a Ramada. De is great - not too intrusive but really energetic, fun and helpful. Staying here you feel like you're in an oasis but can see the city at the same time. We'll stay here any time we come to Calgary - beautiful.

Room Tip: The Sun room is wonderful - large deck overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We travelled across Canada and this was one of many of our stops. A really nice place in a great neighborhood. We liked the peace and quiet the rooms offered and the restaurant selection in the area. It is a well above average place to stop and stay if you are in the Calgary area. Formidable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Pretty, tasteful rooms in this B&B. Friendly hostesses and great breakfast. Free use of their computer.
Minus: shared bathrooms so don't go if this bothers you.
Big plus: in one of the most interesting neighbourhoods in Calgary (and there aren't that many). Good restaurants, cafes, tearooms and funky shops. Close to Bow River. Can walk across the bridge to get downtown.
On a nice quiet residential street.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms may be nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I have given a lot of consideration before submitting this review as the website for River Wynde promised so much. Unfortunately, for us, the reality fell well short of the mark. The reviews, in the main, were glowing but I feel they sound a bit like 'the Emperors new clothes' - you only see what you want to see.
On the positive side, River Wynde is in a great location and close to all amenities, it's spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and the breakfast is more than adequate.
We stayed in the 'kensington cottage' . It is not like any 'cottage' that we have ever experienced. It is a converted garage at the end of the garden with no toilet or washing facilities. To access these it was necessary to walk across open decking (in our case, in the rain) and enter the house through the kitchen, where other guests were already sat eating, to use the shower/toilet next to the kitchen area. Toileting and showering was an uncomfortable and embarassing experience as I could clearly hear the other guests and no doubt they could hear me! In fact, as I left the washroom one of the guests commented that she thought it was a closet! The supply of a bathrobe and felt slippers did little to help our discomfort.
Again, in fairness, we were aware that the cottage had no toilet/wash facilities but we
had the impression that access was via a covered walkway not open, slippery decking
through the kitchen. Use of the toilet during the night, in the rain, meant that any attempt at further sleep was totally disrupted.
We decided on the 'cottage' as previous reviewers had mentioned the sleep disruption in the main house due to creaky floorboards. I cannot comment on this but believe me, our 'trips' from the 'cottage' to the toilet were even less conducive to peaceful sleep as featured on their website.
In our view the accommodation at River Wynde was disappointing for our first Canadian B&B experience. It did not meet our expectations and , dispite a small discount , did not represent good value for money

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast

Address: 220 10A St. NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N1W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Hillurst , Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on a quiet residential street, in the heart of one of the trendiest shopping districts in Calgary. Just minutes away from the downtown core of Calgary by foot or light rail train, we have delivered comfort and value to business and vacation travelers for over thirteen years! Offering many amenities; feather duvets, hot breakfast, loaner bikes, gym access, robes, slippers, high speed wireless internet, large well-appointed rooms with hardwood floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.