We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reasonably good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

If you are in rush and wanna spend a night between your flight, it very clean, easy access hotel, everything designed for business stay, although it's sold building and now there is lots newer hotel around. Of course with higher price.
Comfortable beds and very quite, average bathroom, big TV, poor coffee, if you upgraded to suite it make ur stay much more pleasant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    51
    50
    14
    15
See reviews for
25
43
14
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This was decently convenient to the airport we used (calgary), and also not too far from the downtown area. Right off of major highways - driving into downtown was very quick and easy, as was getting back to the airport. The lobby looked modern/stylish/nice and we thought our room was clean, comfortable and spacious. person at front desk was friendly and helpful. Bathroom looked clean and tidy as well. We would stay here again if in the area. We also enjoyed a nice dip in the pool!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

It's an airport hotel, so you have to expect some aircraft noise! Hotel was as expected, clean room. Staff friendly & efficient, no complaints at all really. Not as close to the terminal as it used to be due to a road closure as a result of the airport's expansion.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the south side, which faces away from the aircraft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were on a layover, trying to get to Mexico so this is where Westjet put us up. The hotel was a bit of a ride from the airport. It is a nice, modern hotel but I don't know what was up with the heat because it was HOT in the room all night. We had the window wide open at -5C and it was still hot. I guess the Sandman wanted to prepare us for Mexico. If we were there for another night, we would have changed rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in Sep 2013 after a long haul flight from the UK. We arrived into Calgary late on Sunday night, so got a taxi to this hotel which took about 15mins from the airport. We then got the shuttle from the hotel back to the airport the next day to pick up our car and start our 8 day drive through the Rockies.

The hotel is really clean and has a connecting restaurant which was nice for breakfast/dinner. The staff was also friendly. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We missed our connection home from Calgary and were given great accommodation at the Sandman with vouchers for dinner. Everything was wonderful and we enjoyed a marvelous meal served by very friendly staff. I accidentally left my Blackberry (containing all of my information and pictures) in my room when I checked out December 28th, so I contacted the front desk from Ontario and they put me through to Housekeeping. I got Mia's voice mail and left a message about my problem. I really thought that I'd never see my phone again. Mia called me back with the news that it had been found and they could ship it to me using any service that I preferred. Mia and I had to call each other several times to exchange information, and my phone arrived as expected. Thank you so much for all your help and concern.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is in need of some major renovations. The wall paper was falling off in our room, there was a large drywall patch and the ceramic floors in the bathroom were all cracked. I'm not sure if the cleaners did not vacuum the room or their vacuums don't work well but there were small rocks and pebbles throughout the room. The staff were friendly. The hotel is very hot throughout.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calair, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. Your kind comments regarding the staff are much appreciated. Please rest assured that we are in the process of going through each room and performing renovations such as painting, caulking, replacing tile etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport

Address: 25 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only minutes from the YYC Calgary International Airport, Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary Airport offers everything for the business and leisure traveler. Multi-purpose meeting and banquet rooms, a business centre, an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, are just some of the amenities this hotel has to offer, making it the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites, Calgary Airport
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Sandman Inn Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.