We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport

Save Saved
You added Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I decided to just book a hotel room with a nice restaurant for New Year's Eve so that we didn't have to worry about driving. We chose this hotel because it was close to us and it had a Moxies restaurant. The room was nice and clean, the staff was friendly. The only complain we had was that the pipes in our room (our room was on the main floor) kept making a banging noise every so often. We didn't really complain about it right away as we thought it would just go away. We had our dinner and went back to our room and watched movies while we waited for the New Year's eve count down. We finally went to bed shortly after midnight and the banging from the pipes continued on through the night. If you were a light sleeper, you would probably find it hard to get a good night's sleep. We mentioned it to the staff when we checked out the following morning so hopefully they had it fixed. Other than that, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the New Year's Eve dinner was really good too.

Room Tip: If you get in your room and hear the pipes making noises, ask to be moved at the noise will not stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    47
    13
    15
See reviews for
24
40
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is situated near the airport but also close to Calgary city center.
Check in and reception staff friendly and efficient.
Room was clean and confortable with all facilities we needed but rooms and hotel need to be refurbished.
Good restaurant for an evening meal. Breakfast was nothing special but satisfying.
Complementary airport shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The room was spacious clean and also had a wonderful soaking tub. It was more like a mini suite than a hotel room. The price was quite reasonable in comparison to some of the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Would recommended it to anyone staying near the hotel and price well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Cda
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have used the Sandman Hotel due to the proximity to the airport, as we have had a couple of layovers in Calgary in the past year. While not the "Ritz", it was clean. After 2 different stayovers there so far, we have found the rooms to be similar in that they are clean, although someone dated. I would suggest the hotel is older and does not have that new, fresh look, but is fine for a quick overnight before travelling on. Also, with Moxie's restaurant in the hotel, we do not have to leave the building to get a dinner or breakfast. The airport shuttle used to be free and while still free to be picked up, you have to pay now to go to the airport. The staff are usually nice, but we found the front desk person at our 4:30 am checkout time to be less than friendly.

Room Tip: Some guests on the ground floor hear all the people traffic in the hallways coming and going to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I chose the Sandman for it's proximity to the airport. With an airport shuttle service and Moxies it's perfect for a woman travelling alone. I had a late lunch at Moxies prior to checking in, and a lazy evening meal reading the paper and catching up on emails. Service is always good, rooms nice and clean.

Room Tip: Because of the difficulty of the shuttle negotiating the airport construction I'd suggest you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Check in was fine and staff were friendly. My wife and I stayed in a King suite which seemed "aged" We had some trouble finding an extra electrical outlet for our laptop but did manage to stretch the cord across the room to the table. We noticed the wallpaper coming off the wall around the window, the TV remotes were very hard to function and the baseboard heaters made an incredible "knocking" sound when they were turned on. Bed was comfortable and there was actually a bathroom fan that works. Room was clean but the first floor is not very quiet.

Room Tip: Top floor would not be as noisy in regards to foot travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel goes above and beyond to make everything right! we had booked on line thinking everything was directly to this hotel. we very quickly found out this is not so. If you wish to book this hotel and would like the park and stay, call them directly. The manager explained this to us and gave us the park and stay package anyway. Will return to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport

Address: 25 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites, Calgary Airport
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Sandman Inn Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.