We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single traveller best choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 99 Hotels in Calgary
Drumheller
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Single traveller best choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I chose the Sandman for it's proximity to the airport. With an airport shuttle service and Moxies it's perfect for a woman travelling alone. I had a late lunch at Moxies prior to checking in, and a lazy evening meal reading the paper and catching up on emails. Service is always good, rooms nice and clean.

Room Tip: Because of the difficulty of the shuttle negotiating the airport construction I'd suggest you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    48
    13
    15
See reviews for
25
40
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Check in was fine and staff were friendly. My wife and I stayed in a King suite which seemed "aged" We had some trouble finding an extra electrical outlet for our laptop but did manage to stretch the cord across the room to the table. We noticed the wallpaper coming off the wall around the window, the TV remotes were very hard to function and the baseboard heaters made an incredible "knocking" sound when they were turned on. Bed was comfortable and there was actually a bathroom fan that works. Room was clean but the first floor is not very quiet.

Room Tip: Top floor would not be as noisy in regards to foot travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel goes above and beyond to make everything right! we had booked on line thinking everything was directly to this hotel. we very quickly found out this is not so. If you wish to book this hotel and would like the park and stay, call them directly. The manager explained this to us and gave us the park and stay package anyway. Will return to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Traveled to Calgary for a Global Show. Hotel isn't far from Airport or my corporate office. Location & reservation had been setup by our local administrator. Hotel was clean, looked to be a bit dated compared to other hotels in the area. Several room amenities for the extended stay traveler. Gym was a bit small. Had dinner and drinks at Moxie’s several times, great place. All in all not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We chose to stay at the Sandman Calgary Airport before an early morning flight to Montreal. We had to be at the airport before 6 AM. The rooms at the Sandman are clean with comfortable beds. There are decent towels in the bathrooms, not the little thin ones you get at some medium-priced hotels. The price of a room with a Queen bed is just $149.00 plus taxes. For an additional $5.00 each you can be shuttled to the airport in their van - this is a really good deal especially as you are allowed to leave your car in their parking lot for up to 2 weeks at no charge (make sure you get a pass from the front desk to leave on the dashboard). When you return to the airport you call the shuttle and it picks you up at no charge. What a great deal !! This was perfect for us. we drove the 1 1/2 hours to Calgary and checked in. There's a Moxie's on site so our son and daughter-in-law met us there for dinner. the car was secure, the bed was good, the wake-up call was on time, the shuttle got us to and from the airport efficiently. This makes travel easy and calm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 4 nights last week. Everything seemed good until we got home and my wife noticed bed bug bites all over her body. We've stayed here numerous times but we'll definitely never go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_calair, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
As is protocol, as soon as the guest called to let us know there may be an issue with one of our rooms (5 days after they had checked out) we quarantined the room and called in a professional pest control company. Their report states that there is NO evidence of any activity in the room. There have also been no concerns from previous guests or guests that had stayed in the same room prior to us being informed and placing the room off market. With bed bugs being found in places such as movie theatres, rental cars, apartment buildings, etc. our housekeeping staff are trained to inspect each room thoroughly upon each guest departure and again there have been no reports of any activity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Pierre la Bourlhonne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stopped here a couple of times in July & would do so again if visitng Calgary (a great place to visit). We used it first as an "arrival" point to go on to Yellowstone & a week later as a meeting point for friends arriving from UK; Hotel itself was much as expected albeit the room was bigger & probably better than expected. That the Hotel is located within a huge building construction site was a surprise & that is going to be the situation for some time to come there was no noise from same although there will undoubtedly be when work starts on the buildings that are going to be constructed on the adjacent sites. Like a lot of "Airport" Hotels there is nothing of interest in the walkable area. However, with a free shuttle collection from the airport & a cheap return shuttle price it is pretty good. Has a good restaraunt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport

Address: 25 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Casino Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites, Calgary Airport
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Sandman Inn Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.