We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but old and smelly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Suites Calgary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Suites Calgary to your Saves list
Regency Suites Calgary
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0K1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20%
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location, but old and smelly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

I read reviews about the dated furniture, but didn't see any mention of the odour and stains that emanated from the furniture. The kitchenette had chairs with broken legs, sticky counters and unclean dishes; the bathroom (1 for a 2 bedroom suite) was extremely small and the fan barely worked. We cut short our stay and moved to another hotel. The front counter staff are very nice, but the cleaning staff was woeful - my wife heated up her coffee in the microwave and forgot about it - 2 days later, when we returned from a mini trip, the cofer was still in the microwave. The upside is that this is downtown, but I haven't had to stay in a room like this since I was in a rented room when I was a university student 20 years ago.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    20
    6
    14
See reviews for
18
20
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011 via mobile

I read the reviews and was expecting a roach hotel that was crap. This a good hotel that is downtown. Lotsa restaurants near by, a macs, subway, liquor store and 2 mediocre restaurants across the street + awesome ones just another block over. A/c rocks! AllinAll just a good stay in a good room that doesn't feel old besides the chunky tv. I'm no critic or pushover....this place is great for its location, regular hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

The hotel is located downtown Calgary and they have a small parking lot. The rooms are big. You can even have closed bedrooms. Ideal for sharing or even familly trips. The furniture is a little dated but very functional. I had a full kitchen, coffee maker, fridge, stove, even a dishwasher! Many great restaurant and shopping area are walking distance. The free WIFI connection is decent too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

This hotel is a bargain in downtown Calgary. The rooms are functional, if somewhat dated. The kitchenettes are very well stocked; if you bring back leftovers or feel like cooking from scratch, you'll (typically) have what you need at hand. In one of the two rooms I stayed in it would take five minutes for hot water to reach the shower head, but after the first morning this was just a matter of turning the tap five minutes early.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed here for the third time in as many years. Overall a good experience. Pleasant and helpful staff. Parking is still an issue; one member of our family had to park 3 blocks away for the first night. The back lot was being paved. Had to call 2 out of the 4 days to have housekeeping clean the rooms, but they were very efficient when they did get there. This is a convenient and economical hotel for anyone needing a downtown location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

I was heading to Calgary for a training course and chose the Regency Suites hotel due to the close proximity to the training course. I booked online and received a confirmation of my reservation... all seemed good.

A few days before I was scheduled to go, the course was cancelled so I had to cancel my reservation. I checked my confirmation e-mail and it clearly stated I had to cancel 24 hours prior. No problem...I'm days out. Here's the cancelation policy that was sent to me:

Cancellation Policy: 24 Hours notice of cancellation is required. Reservations cancelled after 4p.m.
on the day prior to the date of arrival will be charged a cancellation fee of one
night plus applicable taxes. Reservations for JULY require a 1 week (7 DAYS)
notice of cancellation!
**The client has agreed to the cancellation policy**

I call and to cancel and they state "you don't get a refund because you got the "book two weeks in advance and save" deal. I explain to them that the confirmation e-mail states otherwise. I get the "oh well... must have been a human error".

So, long story short... they won't refund my money despite having a written policy stating otherwise. I would have understood a "cancellation fee" or something along those lines. And I will be taking the course another time and there would have been a good chance they would have had my business (and future business) then. Obviously not now and I will be informing the training institution to inform their business partners to NOT book with the Regency Suites Calgary. They obviously have no regard for their customers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

We flew from Europa to Calgary and stayed for 2 nights in this hotel to 1) get over the jetlag 2) see a bit of Calgary before moving towards the Rockies. Nice enough place in general, only negative remarks are the old-fashioned room-decorations and a scary lift. On the plus side they did offer smoking rooms which made up for those.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Suites Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Suites Calgary

Address: 610 4th Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 0K1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Suites Calgary 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regency Suites Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Suites Calgary Hotel Calgary
Regency Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Suites Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.