We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inglewood Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inglewood Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Inglewood Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1006 8th Ave. S.E., Calgary, Alberta T2G 0M4, Canada (Inglewood)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 51 Calgary B&B and Inns
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our stay here during the Calgary Stampede was wonderful. We were greeted by Valinda and Helmut and welcomed into their home like family. Both were very helpful with directions and hints regarding places to see and and experience. The choice of breakfasts was a nice surprise - with something for everyone, artfully served. Breakfast was quite enjoyable not only for the food but for the varied company at the table each morning. Our hosts introduced everyone and from there conversation flowed throughout the meal with fellow travellers from many countries.
The location is central to many sites and an easy walk to the Stampede. We quite enjoyed the walk along the river to the Stampede grounds. We would defintely stay here again if we visit Calgary again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
33
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Hotel is near the Bowriver. The breakfast from Valinda was very good with many fruits. A good start for the day. The hotel is near from Downtown and you can walk.
Helmut was very friendly and rent also two bisycle.
The rooms have european standard and are very clean.
Helmut and Valinda gave us many tips for our hikingtours in the Rocky Mountain and Calgary.
When you would like to visit Stampede is the hotel perfect. You can walk and in 15 min you are
on the place.

Thank you so much!!!!!

Benno and Katrin

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice area of town near the river - we were happy to use the B&B as a base for walking everywhere else in the city. Helmut was full of suggestions for things to do in Calgary, so we weren't short of options. Our room was a good size with a comfy bed and good shower. Valinda prepared a tasty breakfast each morning, and it was fun to speak to the other guests staying at Inglewood. Helmut even gave us a lift to the airport, which was most definitely beyond the call of duty. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Located in an old neighborhood of Calgary next to the Bow River and paved walking trails, this B&B is a model of what such lodging should be. Helmut and Valinda are as friendly and helpful as everyone has described. The breakfast menu is a changing one every day with three items to choose from but with lots of variety and creativity. Rooms are large and very comfortable with our hosts eager to please on any thing extra needed. Shoes are removed at the front door in the old European tradition. Free wifi is offered in the rooms if you have your own laptop computer or downstairs on theirs in the dining area. Driveway parking is available and there's ample street parking as well. The location is great for walking to such sights as the Stampede grounds (perhaps 2 km. distance and a 20-minute walk along easy footpaths) and the downtown is a straight walk along nearby 9th Ave. (perhaps 2.5 or 3 km in 30 minutes). The Glenbow Museum and 200-meter high Tower are on the same 9th Ave. as is the parallel pedestrian-only shopping zone of Stephen Ave. which also has numerous restaurants. But not to be outdone in that department is an excellent pub called the Hose and Hound (an old converted firehouse) just around the corner from the B&B that offers an interesting, eclectic menu of very good quality. Certainly a great "center of operations" for those wanting to attend the July Stampede rodeo and other activities on the grounds as parking around and at that facility is limited and, as one would expect, congested during Stampede dates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Inglewood B&B is named after the local neighborhood, which for a time was the center of town until the CPR moved its main station to a location across the Elbow River. Inglewood gradually deteriorated into a scuzzy condition until people began to recognize the advantages of low cost property near the city center. Our hosts, Valinda Larson & Helmut Schoderbock, built the house in a traditional style so it fits nicely into the area. The inside of our B&B wasn't especially noteworthy, but the place was very clean and well-managed. Valinda and Helmut were very friendly and helpful with tips on dining, etc. Three different breakfast options were offered to take account of special dietary needs. The hosts joined us for coffee and a chat, which is one of the best things about B&B lodging. A minor peeve--there were no chairs in the large bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This was our first stop in Canada and it was a good one! When we arrived Valinda welcomed us and showed us the house / room. Shoes off and don't be afraid of the cats :-).
Valinda also mentioned some local bars and diners, downtown Calgary is a 10-15 minutes’ walk.
The room was clean and the breakfast was good. Valinda's whiteboard with all the names and breakfast choices; loved it.
The breakfast table is also a good way to start your day, everybody is introduced to each other and all the travel tips are being exchanged.

Definitely a place to come back to. Ask Valinda for the "Cat Story" (the one she saved).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Valinda and Helmuts homely B&B. This was our first night in Canada and our first experience of Calgary. Valinda and Helmut are really welcoming and happy to suggest places to see and eat depending on your taste. It's a really nice walk into the main city centre, right along the river path. There is also a good local pub, the 'Hose and Hound' which is built inside an old fire hall, within a couple of minutes walk. The room was nice and cosy and the shower was good. The nicest thing about it is that they are both around at breakfast, even having breakfast with the guests, so its got a real 'family' feel- it was nice to meet Rolf and his family (who wrote the review below)! Valinda's home made muesli was my favourite breakfast of the two week holiday!!! Shame we didn't get to stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inglewood Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglewood Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1006 8th Ave. S.E., Calgary, Alberta T2G 0M4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Inglewood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Calgary location in quiet neighborhood along park and Bow River. Free: off-street parking, WIFI, guest computer station. Comfortable rooms, professionally prepared food, friendly and helpful hosts. English and German spoken. Walking distance to Calgary Tower, Convention Center, Calgary Zoo, Fort Calgary, Calgary Stampede, Saddledome, downtown businesses. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inglewood Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.