We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean and cheap stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Calgary City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added HI-Calgary City Centre to your Saves list
HI-Calgary City Centre
520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good clean and cheap stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was good. Rooms were clean and of a good size. Nice staff, large kitchen and breakfast was the best. Only a 10 min walk to downtown but the free trains are almost straight outside the door. That can cause a small problem, bit of late night noise from the train crossing, but apart from that, this place was quality.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
13
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This location is ideal for attending the Calgary Entertainment and Comic Book Expo, it's just a ten-minute walk to the stampede grounds and is perfectly adequate as far as hostels go.

The faculty is clean and staff are very friendly. They serve a continental breakfast and have tea and coffee all day as well, but bring a travel mug as they don't have any to-go cups.

Make sure to get the room you requested while booking, during our visit they did not have the room we booked available and we were disappointed as the room we requested had multiple beds and a bathroom and we were required to share a bed, which was not ideal.

Otherwise this is a great location for a decent price and we would definitely stay again in the future and recommend it for anyone looking for a less expensive option in a handy downtown spot.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived after a long flight from Manila. I found the room and bed very comfortable. It was only a short stay as I arrived after midnight. I left the next morning for Medicine Hat. I didn't even wake up for the free breakfast. I had the whole dorm room to myself, bonus!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the towards the court may be quieter. The LTR runs close by. I still had no problems sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Great Hostel, the staff is very helpful. It's clean, a real sense of "sharing" and "community" in the breakfast as it has free food and a place for every guest in the refrigerator that is respected.

Free wi-fi and clean bathrooms.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... G, Assistant Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your great review! We are glad that you enjoyed our location and amenities. Thank you for your kind words about the staff and I will be sure to let them know. We hope you can stay with us again soon!

Thanks,
Cassandra Moore
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

I had urgent business in Calgary and need t place to sleep for 6-7 hours and this was perfect as they are placed close to the city centre. I arrived pretty late so unfortunately did not get any time to meet all the other travellers. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the room itself (shared with 5 others) was sufficiently large and quiet. The washrooms were clean. The breakfast in the morning was good too. I only wish I had some more time to get to know more people there!

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I've been here for a month, for work. The staff are great and the breakfast is a good start to the day. The location is great, and can only get better with the restoration of the east village. But mostly it is the people here that make me sad to leave. There is a real community feel here, all you have to be is open to talking to the people around you and you'll discover that. All in all 5/5 for me :) Dó.

Check this link to see the future of the East Village........

http://www.evexperience.com/3d-animations/2014-3d-animation

Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

I've stayed here quite a few times over the years, and I generally have a good experience. It is a hostel, and in the dorm rooms, privacy is at a premium. But, I have found that people are usually pretty respectful, if only because they are in the same boat. If privacy is an issue for you then there are private rooms available. There was a flood in Calgary a few years ago so they had to renovate. I stayed in a private room last summer and I found it was nice and quiet.

There are many travelers from around Canada, and the rest World, and meeting new people from all over is a highlight of my stays. I haven't traveled outside of the country yet, but staying in a hostel is probably the next best thing.

8th Ave. is within walking distance so if you need something to do in the evenings then there are a tun of pubs, and bars nice and close. and the nearest C train station is even closer.

If you're traveling on a budget, or want a great cultural experience then you should definitely consider HI Calgary Center. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HI-Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Calgary City Centre

Address: 520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your free all-you-can-eat breakfast! We have buttermilk pancakes, cereal, milk, waffle, muffins, oatmeal, toast, fruit and juice served every morning from 7:30am - 9:30am. Plus, there's coffee and tea all day. Other free amenities include Wi-Fi in all common areas/guest rooms, computers, local phone calls, faxing/photocopying/printing/scanning, linens and towels, BBQ usage, and a pool table.Our hostel is located on the edge of downtown; a five-minute walk will take you to exactly where you want to be. Within downtown you'll find dining, shopping, entertainment and cultural districts for every taste and budget. Other attractions are easy to get to with the help of the nearby C-train (a two-minute walk from the hostel) that's free within the downtown core.Our friendly and experienced staff are available 24 hours a day to aid you with all your needs. They're always happy to recommend cool places for you to check out, so be sure to ask.Each of our dorm rooms has six comfy beds that come with individual bed lights and lockers. We also have private rooms (with and without ensuites) that include TV and DVD players. These rooms are limited, so please book well in advance. All dorm and private rooms have secure key-card access.HI-Calgary City Centre's neighbourhood, the East Village, is getting an exciting transformation!Years in the planning, Downtown Calgary's East Village is slated for redevelopment to become one of the city's new urban villages. The neighbourhood will offer some of the hippest shopping, dining, recreational and residential opportunities in the country. It's welcome news to the area - this is actually where Calgary was originally founded - and HI-Calgary City Centre is thrilled to be a part of this change.As with all neighbourhood redevelopment projects, there will be some inconveniences to the people who live, work and visit the area, most notably traffic changes and construction noise. Please be aware that you may experience some of this during your upcoming visit to our hostel. Our friendly and helpful staff will do all we can to minimize the impact to you. Never hesitate to contact us for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your HI-Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Calgary City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.