We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful, quality location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Calgary City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Calgary City Centre to your Saves list
HI-Calgary City Centre
520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very helpful, quality location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Me and my buddy arrived at this hostel the day before the Calgary Stampede, fearing it would be fully booked. As it turned out, we could get the last two beds for Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. For Friday night there were no more beds available, but the staff told us to check back the next day to see if there had been any cancelations. As it turned out, that was the case and they saved the beds for us. The pancake breakfast was good, although more brown bread, fruit and proper juice would have improved the quality. In my experience the staff was very helpful and kept the hostel clean and running fairly efficiently. The location is excellent, as it is only five minutes walk from Stephen avenue, ten minutes walk from Stampede park and twenty minutes walk from the zoo. The free parking only adds to the benefits that this hostel give you. Prices are high during the Stampede, but for what you're getting, it's pretty much a bargain!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    41
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
14
59
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparwood, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A stayed a few nights while on a course in Calgary. Room, kitchen, bathrooms and general areas were kept clean. A basic breakfast of pancakes and small selection of fruit was included with the stay which you don't see too often with hostels. Staff was very good at keeping the noise level in the hallways and bedrooms down after 11pm. Earplugs were also available if need be (which thankfully, they weren't!).

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed there for one night with my boyfriend last year and it was great, we had a private room including bathroom and it was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the common area and the breakfast and meeting other backpackers, We'd go there again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed while in town to see the Flames and was in easy walking distance to the game and town for afterwards.
The hostel was comfortable enough. The bathrooms at the time weren't the cleanest, nor was the communal kitchen, but it was good enough.
As far as hostels go, this is among the better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I would highly recommend this hostel. The staff were fantastic and really went above and beyond including driving me to the airport when I was late for my flight! The hostel was clean with good kitchen facilities and free breakfast. I could not fault this hostel and think it is excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I’ve had reason to stay in Calgary about a dozen times over the past six or eight years, for stays ranging from overnight to a week. My first choice has always been HI Calgary City Centre. A dorm room bed is just $29 per night, which includes bedding and towels, free breakfast with pancakes, muffins, and bananas, free WiFi, and free coffee or tea all day. Amazingly, its only two blocks from the east edge of downtown and the City Hall C-Train station. A few blocks more and you’re at Glenbow, Epcot Centre, shopping, bars, and the bus stop for the airport. In the early years, it was all tourists; now there is a mix of tourists and people coming into Calgary looking for work or on their way to the oil patch. Always lively; check out special deals posted on the board like half-price for HI members at the Calgary Zoo. A great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very nice hostel, friendly staff, rooms and bathrooms 100% clean (even at 2am), beds were quite wide and comfortable, breakfast was typical hostel-style, good - only concern about feeding the food, at about 9am when there were most people, everyone took bread and some juice and there was no more for quite long time...it was a little noisy due to construction works near to the hostel but it's not hostel's fault of course...as there is nothing cheaper in town, it's definitely N.1 choice...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... M, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review.

We're glad that you enjoyed the hostel and found our staff to be friendly and the cleanliness of the bathrooms to meet your standards! Breakfast runs from 6:30 - 9:30 so the supplies may run low towards the end of the breakfast, however we always replenish everything when we notice or when a guest notifies us. That being said, we will try to keep an eye on this in the future! We do apologize for the inconvenience of the construction, and we are also looking forward to the improvements and changes to come to our neighborhood. We're happy that you found the beds wide and comfortable and are pleased to hear that we are your number 1 choice!

Happy Trails,
Jason Wong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to HI-Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Calgary City Centre

Address: 520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated HI – Calgary City Centre! Start your day off right with our FREE all you can eat breakfast from 7:30am – 9:30am every morning (including buttermilk pancakes, milk, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, bread, jam, peanut butter, muffins, fruit and juice)! Enjoy our newly upgraded FREE high speed WiFi anywhere in the building! Other hostel amenities include: - Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hours - Free parking - Free Computers - Free storage facilities, even after check out - Free local phone calls - Free faxing, photocopying, printing and scanning - Free pool table - Free BBQ usage - Free towels and linen - Brand new TV room with a 60” flat screen TV HI – Calgary City Centre offers 6 bed dorm rooms (female, male and mixed) featuring individual lockers, bed lights, as well as private/family rooms with en-suite and a new 40” flat screen TV; make sure you book ahead as these sell fast! We have upgraded security, including cameras and state of the art door locks throughout the building as we continue to ensure the safety of all our staff and backpackers traveling to Calgary. Our friendly front desk staff are here for you 24 hours a day, available to answer any questions or concerns you may have. We are experts when it comes to getting you around the area, and we always have recommendations for local sightseeing, so don’t be shy! Check our activity boards for daily listings of local events and information. Our hostel is located on the edge of downtown; a 5 minute walk will take you to exactly where you want to be. Within downtown you will find dining, shopping, entertainment and cultural districts for every taste and budget. Other attractions are easy to get to with the help of the nearby C-train (a 2 minute walk from the hostel) that is FREE within the downtown core. Our central location is a great starting point for the next leg of your journey. The airport bus #300 stops two blocks away from the hostel, and the Greyhound bus depot is a short 15 minute train ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your HI-Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Calgary City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.