We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful, quality location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Calgary City Centre

Save Saved
You added HI-Calgary City Centre to your Saves list
HI-Calgary City Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI-Calgary City Centre
520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very helpful, quality location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my buddy arrived at this hostel the day before the Calgary Stampede, fearing it would be fully booked. As it turned out, we could get the last two beds for Thursday, Saturday and Sunday. For Friday night there were no more beds available, but the staff told us to check back the next day to see if there had been any cancelations. As it turned out, that was the case and they saved the beds for us. The pancake breakfast was good, although more brown bread, fruit and proper juice would have improved the quality. In my experience the staff was very helpful and kept the hostel clean and running fairly efficiently. The location is excellent, as it is only five minutes walk from Stephen avenue, ten minutes walk from Stampede park and twenty minutes walk from the zoo. The free parking only adds to the benefits that this hostel give you. Prices are high during the Stampede, but for what you're getting, it's pretty much a bargain!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
9
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sparwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A stayed a few nights while on a course in Calgary. Room, kitchen, bathrooms and general areas were kept clean. A basic breakfast of pancakes and small selection of fruit was included with the stay which you don't see too often with hostels. Staff was very good at keeping the noise level in the hallways and bedrooms down after 11pm. Earplugs were also available if need be (which thankfully, they weren't!).

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed there for one night with my boyfriend last year and it was great, we had a private room including bathroom and it was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the common area and the breakfast and meeting other backpackers, We'd go there again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed while in town to see the Flames and was in easy walking distance to the game and town for afterwards.
The hostel was comfortable enough. The bathrooms at the time weren't the cleanest, nor was the communal kitchen, but it was good enough.
As far as hostels go, this is among the better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I`ve stayed here a few times. It can be a mixed bag of backpackers, people on work visas, and Canadians from other provinces looking for work in Calgary.

Stayed in rooms 102 and 103. 102 can get a little cramped, but there are large lockers to store your stuff in.
This place has a seating area on the main floor, a quiet room upstairs and in the basement there`s a tv room with a pool table. The upstairs has a balcony, the main floor has a deck and a back yard. So there is tons of space and you don`t need to be confined to your dorm room.

Huge kitchen which is well equipped, 2 fridges to put your own food in. Free breakfast in the morning, coffee all day long. Hard alcohol isn`t allowed there, but beer & wine is permitted.
Showers always have hot water and towels are provided.

Some reviews have stated that the place is in a dangerous location.
This is only half true. If you are looking for trouble, you can find it. If you`re going out to the bars on 8th or 17th aves, just be smart about it and don`t come back stumbling drunk. Or if you do, go out with a group of people. (I`m sure you can easily find someone at the hostel to have a drink with)

The only cons I`d say about this hostel are that if you do not have a laptop, then you must pay to use the internet there. Most hostels I stayed in offer a free computer or 2 for guests.
Maybe some label for the cupboards, sometimes you have to hunt for plates, cups, ect.
And if you`re an night owl like me, sometimes it gets cold in the lounge area on the main floor. The basement and upstairs quiet room are locked up after a certain time a night, which I understand for safety reasons, or to avoid partying.

One huge plus for me was that Jason let me store my things for a day after I checked out, as I was having an issue with the house I was moving into. He went out of the way for me to avoid a big headache. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I would highly recommend this hostel. The staff were fantastic and really went above and beyond including driving me to the airport when I was late for my flight! The hostel was clean with good kitchen facilities and free breakfast. I could not fault this hostel and think it is excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I’ve had reason to stay in Calgary about a dozen times over the past six or eight years, for stays ranging from overnight to a week. My first choice has always been HI Calgary City Centre. A dorm room bed is just $29 per night, which includes bedding and towels, free breakfast with pancakes, muffins, and bananas, free WiFi, and free coffee or tea all day. Amazingly, its only two blocks from the east edge of downtown and the City Hall C-Train station. A few blocks more and you’re at Glenbow, Epcot Centre, shopping, bars, and the bus stop for the airport. In the early years, it was all tourists; now there is a mix of tourists and people coming into Calgary looking for work or on their way to the oil patch. Always lively; check out special deals posted on the board like half-price for HI members at the Calgary Zoo. A great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HI-Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Calgary City Centre

Address: 520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your free all-you-can-eat breakfast! We have buttermilk pancakes, muffins, oatmeal, toast, fruit and juice served every morning from 6:30am - 9:30am. Plus, there’s coffee, tea, and hot chocolate all day.Other free amenities include Wi-Fi in all common areas/guest rooms, local phone calls, faxing/photocopying/printing/scanning, linens and towels, BBQ usage, and a pool table.Our hostel is located on the edge of downtown; a five-minute walk will take you to exactly where you want to be. Within downtown you’ll find dining, shopping, entertainment and cultural districts for every taste and budget. Other attractions are easy to get to with the help of the nearby C-train (a two-minute walk from the hostel) that’s free within the downtown core.Our friendly and experienced staff are available 24 hours a day to aid you with all your needs. They're always happy to recommend cool places for you to check out, so be sure to ask.Each of our dorm rooms has six comfy beds that come with individual bed lights and lockers. We also have private rooms (with and without ensuites) that include TV and DVD players. These rooms are limited, so please book well in advance. All dorm and private rooms have secure key-card access.HI-Calgary City Centre's neighbourhood, the East Village, is getting an exciting transformation!Years in the planning, Downtown Calgary's East Village is slated for redevelopment to become one of the city's new urban villages. The neighbourhood will offer some of the hippest shopping, dining, recreational and residential opportunities in the country. It's welcome news to the area – this is actually where Calgary was originally founded – and HI-Calgary City Centre is thrilled to be a part of this change.As with all neighbourhood redevelopment projects, there will be some inconveniences to the people who live, work and visit the area, most notably traffic changes and construction noise. Please be aware that you may experience some of this during your upcoming visit to our hostel. Our friendly and helpful staff will do all we can to minimize the impact to you. Never hesitate to contact us for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your HI-Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Calgary City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.