We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Calgary City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added HI-Calgary City Centre to your Saves list
HI-Calgary City Centre
520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Sparwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A stayed a few nights while on a course in Calgary. Room, kitchen, bathrooms and general areas were kept clean. A basic breakfast of pancakes and small selection of fruit was included with the stay which you don't see too often with hostels. Staff was very good at keeping the noise level in the hallways and bedrooms down after 11pm. Earplugs were also available if need be (which thankfully, they weren't!).

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    31
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
11
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed there for one night with my boyfriend last year and it was great, we had a private room including bathroom and it was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the common area and the breakfast and meeting other backpackers, We'd go there again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed while in town to see the Flames and was in easy walking distance to the game and town for afterwards.
The hostel was comfortable enough. The bathrooms at the time weren't the cleanest, nor was the communal kitchen, but it was good enough.
As far as hostels go, this is among the better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I would highly recommend this hostel. The staff were fantastic and really went above and beyond including driving me to the airport when I was late for my flight! The hostel was clean with good kitchen facilities and free breakfast. I could not fault this hostel and think it is excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I’ve had reason to stay in Calgary about a dozen times over the past six or eight years, for stays ranging from overnight to a week. My first choice has always been HI Calgary City Centre. A dorm room bed is just $29 per night, which includes bedding and towels, free breakfast with pancakes, muffins, and bananas, free WiFi, and free coffee or tea all day. Amazingly, its only two blocks from the east edge of downtown and the City Hall C-Train station. A few blocks more and you’re at Glenbow, Epcot Centre, shopping, bars, and the bus stop for the airport. In the early years, it was all tourists; now there is a mix of tourists and people coming into Calgary looking for work or on their way to the oil patch. Always lively; check out special deals posted on the board like half-price for HI members at the Calgary Zoo. A great stay at a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very nice hostel, friendly staff, rooms and bathrooms 100% clean (even at 2am), beds were quite wide and comfortable, breakfast was typical hostel-style, good - only concern about feeding the food, at about 9am when there were most people, everyone took bread and some juice and there was no more for quite long time...it was a little noisy due to construction works near to the hostel but it's not hostel's fault of course...as there is nothing cheaper in town, it's definitely N.1 choice...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... M, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review.

We're glad that you enjoyed the hostel and found our staff to be friendly and the cleanliness of the bathrooms to meet your standards! Breakfast runs from 6:30 - 9:30 so the supplies may run low towards the end of the breakfast, however we always replenish everything when we notice or when a guest notifies us. That being said, we will try to keep an eye on this in the future! We do apologize for the inconvenience of the construction, and we are also looking forward to the improvements and changes to come to our neighborhood. We're happy that you found the beds wide and comfortable and are pleased to hear that we are your number 1 choice!

Happy Trails,
Jason Wong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It was clean, modern, nice beds and linen, bathrooms were spacious.
It seemed to have less tourists/backpackers, and more people who were in Calgary looking for work or a place to live, which meant it had less of a 'lets get wasted' feel, and more of a place where people hang out and talk.
I really liked the whole experience and would have liked to stay longer than one night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... M, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for posting a review on trip advisor.

During the winter months, we have a mixture of travelers and SWAP (Students Working Abroad Program) participants - that being said, we are happy that you were able to meet new friends and didn't find the environment to be too rambunctious / disturb the peace. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Jason Wong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to HI-Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Calgary City Centre

Address: 520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your free all-you-can-eat breakfast! We have buttermilk pancakes, cereal, ilk, waffle, muffins, oatmeal, toast, fruit and juice served every morning from 6:30am - 9:30am. Plus, there's coffee, tea, and hot chocolate all day.Other free amenities include Wi-Fi in all common areas/guest rooms, local phone calls, faxing/photocopying/printing/scanning, linens and towels, BBQ usage, and a pool table.Our hostel is located on the edge of downtown; a five-minute walk will take you to exactly where you want to be. Within downtown you'll find dining, shopping, entertainment and cultural districts for every taste and budget. Other attractions are easy to get to with the help of the nearby C-train (a two-minute walk from the hostel) that's free within the downtown core.Our friendly and experienced staff are available 24 hours a day to aid you with all your needs. They're always happy to recommend cool places for you to check out, so be sure to ask.Each of our dorm rooms has six comfy beds that come with individual bed lights and lockers. We also have private rooms (with and without ensuites) that include TV and DVD players. These rooms are limited, so please book well in advance. All dorm and private rooms have secure key-card access.HI-Calgary City Centre's neighbourhood, the East Village, is getting an exciting transformation!Years in the planning, Downtown Calgary's East Village is slated for redevelopment to become one of the city's new urban villages. The neighbourhood will offer some of the hippest shopping, dining, recreational and residential opportunities in the country. It's welcome news to the area - this is actually where Calgary was originally founded - and HI-Calgary City Centre is thrilled to be a part of this change.As with all neighbourhood redevelopment projects, there will be some inconveniences to the people who live, work and visit the area, most notably traffic changes and construction noise. Please be aware that you may experience some of this during your upcoming visit to our hostel. Our friendly and helpful staff will do all we can to minimize the impact to you. Never hesitate to contact us for assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your HI-Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Calgary City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.