We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Calgary City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Calgary City Centre to your Saves list
HI-Calgary City Centre
520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

HI Calgary is a comfortable place to stay with friendly staff and a great location. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the kitchen quite large. I found the staff to be very helpfull and easy to understand with a good knowledge of the area. There is some confusing construction work surrounding the hostel and not alot going on in but apart from this the location is close enough to everything you would need during your stay. Over all a great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... M, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you bearing with us throughout the construction and we look forward to the changes that will be made after. We're glad that you were comfortable and found our staff friendly and our location convenient.

Best regards,
Jason Wong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
5
15
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Moved to Calgary and used this hostel as transition accommodations until I could find something more permanent and was extremely impressed and I know I am going to miss some of the friendly faces. The location is phenomenal, just steps to the local C-train line (which is free from there through downtown), The zoo, Fort Calgary and the Glenbow museum are short walks away. The staff does its very best to take care of any needs and is always willing to give advice about what to do and where. The hostel itself is well organized, and kept very clean. Safe Travels!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at this hostel for 5 nights, very professionally run, well maintained, very friendly and helpful staff throughout.
The hostel is clean and very comfortable, good kitchen facilities and nice back yard area for BBQ's etc. free pancake breakfast is included, you can't beat it for value!
it is very well located downtown, just a block from the tram and the start of the city centre shopping area. I had read previous reviews saying it was in a bad area but that isn't right. The area is currently under development and there is a bit of ground / building work going on and the whole area is being improved under a new city regeneration programme. When its complete it will be one of the swankiest areas in the city. It is certainly a safe area.
I have stopped in lots of hostels all over Canada on a 3 month tour and I would say that this was the best I stayed in.

Room Tip: Be nice to the reception staff! Rooms at the back are quieter, facing away from the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... M, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate the positive comments in regard to the value, location, breakfast, etc. We are very glad you had such a great experience here and hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Jason Wong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you're stepping off the plane at Calgary Airport or fresh in town, this is a great starting point. As with most Hostel Internationals, the staff are extremely helpful and will assist you planning your onward movements.

Free breakfast, tea, coffee and juice is a mega bonus too. The rest of the facilities are well kept and clean.

The local area, which previous reviewers have slated, is no where near as bad as it is made out. It certainly appeared a safe part of the city and improvements are currently underway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... M, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the review. We too are excited for the improvements underway and are glad you found the area to be safe as well. Thank you for the compliments on the staff; we pride ourselves in being as helpful as we possibly can for our guests. We are always happy to hear guests enjoying our free breakfast and amenities.

Best regards,
Jason Wong
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The city of Calgary has not much to show but when you go there is worth staying at the HI Calgary City Center.
I stayed there for all most one week to get some rest from previous traveling and preparing for the Rockies. The facilities are well maintained and clean as I like it. Some times the C-Tram crossing gate is bit anoying when you try to fall asleep but close the window and there is nothing between you and your sleep. The included breakfast (Panecackes, toast, jam, cofe etc.) is a good reasons to get up.
The receptionists were allways friendly and helpful (Thank you Jason for helping me with the car rental.).
So if your going to visit Calgary for whatever reason consider spending the nights in the City Center hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... M, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our service.
Happy trails, Jason Wong, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have stayed in this hostel for over a week now and I have to say its a really cool place to stay. The staff are just awesome. Really really helpful regardless of the questions; one ask, they are a complete fountain of knowledge. Great at recommending place to visit, things to do, where to get different stuff one needs, directions, whatever!

The choice of food at breakfast is awesome, fruit, muffins, pancakes, bread, and tea/coffee all day.

Bed are comfortable and the free towel is a real help. Shower have warm water and it's constant, unlike other hostel's I stayed where it's either too hot or freezing.

Location is really good, right in the heart of the city and close to trains and buses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I recently stayed at HI Calgary and i realy enjoyed my time there, it's a realy nice hostel the staff are very very friendly and very helpfull, they put a lot of effort into keeping the place clean and beds are very comfortable. The hostel is close to downtown and has alot of free stuff included in the price. I highly recomend this place and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs is further away from common areas so quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-Calgary Host... M, Manager at HI-Calgary City Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for rating us. Hopefully you'll come back to visit!
Best regards, Jason Wong, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#1 of 102 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Delta Bow Valley Hotel
#29 of 102 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#3 of 102 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#16 of 102 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Hyatt Regency Calgary
#15 of 102 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Calgary City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Calgary City Centre

Address: 520 7th Avenue SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G0J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated HI – Calgary City Centre! Start your day off right with our FREE all you can eat breakfast from 7:30am – 9:30am every morning (including buttermilk pancakes, milk, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, bread, jam, peanut butter, muffins, fruit and juice)! Enjoy our newly upgraded FREE high speed WiFi anywhere in the building! Other hostel amenities include: - Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hours - Free parking - Free Computers - Free storage facilities, even after check out - Free local phone calls - Free faxing, photocopying, printing and scanning - Free pool table - Free BBQ usage - Free towels and linen - Brand new TV room with a 60” flat screen TV HI – Calgary City Centre offers 6 bed dorm rooms (female, male and mixed) featuring individual lockers, bed lights, as well as private/family rooms with en-suite and a new 40” flat screen TV; make sure you book ahead as these sell fast! We have upgraded security, including cameras and state of the art door locks throughout the building as we continue to ensure the safety of all our staff and backpackers traveling to Calgary. Our friendly front desk staff are here for you 24 hours a day, available to answer any questions or concerns you may have. We are experts when it comes to getting you around the area, and we always have recommendations for local sightseeing, so don’t be shy! Check our activity boards for daily listings of local events and information. Our hostel is located on the edge of downtown; a 5 minute walk will take you to exactly where you want to be. Within downtown you will find dining, shopping, entertainment and cultural districts for every taste and budget. Other attractions are easy to get to with the help of the nearby C-train (a 2 minute walk from the hostel) that is FREE within the downtown core. Our central location is a great starting point for the next leg of your journey. The airport bus #300 stops two blocks away from the hostel, and the Greyhound bus depot is a short 15 minute train ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your HI-Calgary City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Calgary City Centre Hotel Calgary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Calgary City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.