We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent campground close to Calgary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calgary West Campground

Calgary West Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calgary West Campground
Save
You added Calgary West Campground to your Saves list
221 - 101 Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 5T2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent campground close to Calgary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We actually live in Calgary, but I wanted to get some time in our new Motorhome, even though I had to work on the Saturday. I also wanted to give my 3 kids some time at a pool, while there was still some sunny days left.... We found our pull through site was a little close to the next site, but our units were offset, so we had no issues with our awning being out. The pool was excellent and being that we had full hook-up, we had no issues with power or water. Our site was situated such that we couldn't see the highway, and we couldn't really hear it either. The staff were friendly, and even came and changed our picnic table to another one when we mentioned that the previous one was pretty unstable.

Room Tip: The middle tier of sites have good access, and the highway isn't really heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    6
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It's conveniently located within Calgary city limits, just off the TransCanada. My sister rented an RV to go from Calgary to Vancouver and stayed two nights here. Nice setting with trees and friendly staff. The kids loved the swimming pool and mini golf.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Staff was friendly on arrival. The sites are kind of close together but if your looking for a place to stay near Calgary this is a great place to stay. Showers were nice. We got to them a little later than most so they were a bit dirty but that's not the campgrounds fault. The pool was a great place to cool off after running around all day. The water was clean and a great temperature. We opted for the power water site. Power was never an issue even though the campground was pretty full. It was the labour day long weekend. Water was fine as well. I would definitely come back here again sometime.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Upon arrival front desk was not overly friendly.
Sites not together (3 r.v's) as requested four months ahead of time.
Need to be able to book specific site(s) would be helpful.
Sites way too small.
No fires allowed. (city)
Only thing good was proximity to city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at CWC for about a week as my kids were attending summer camps at the Univ of Calgary. Overall I thought the facility was quite good for what it is. If you are looking for a "camping experience" this is not it. It is basically an alternative to staying in a hotel for a week and is a lot cheaper. The staff was quite friendly and had no issues with us extending our stay an extra night. I got the full hook ups for my trailer, a 21 foot hybrid. The sites are quite close together but they are set up in such a way that it still maintains a little bit of privacy. Not a big deal for us as we were usually in bed early and off to the U of C early as well. Generally it was pretty quiet. The pool was pretty good and offered a cool down on a couple of extremely hot days. We stayed in the "A" loop right at the bottom so there is lots of noise from the highway and road but it didn't bother me. In fact it would block other nose coming from other campers. WiFi is available and laundry facilities. The showers sometimes ran out of hot water but I think that was mainly dependent on what time of day you went.

For what it is I thought it was well run and I would definitely stay there again. For $48 a night I don't think you can go too wrong.

Room Tip: B loop looks a little more spacious but may be more exposed to wind. If going during Stampede phone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We decided to visit Calgary during the stampede and decide to stay at Calgary West Campground with our RV. Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor we almost ended up not staying there, but after having spent a day/night at the campground I wonder why the reviews are so bad???? We were quite happy with the stay - our 27ft RV fitted easily in the allotted spot, the pool facilities were fine, there was a small store, a laundromat. Even a shuttle that took us to downtown/the stampede grounds. We would definitely like to stay there again, if we're ever in that area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had previously stopped at the Calgary West Campground and enjoyed our week long stay but after checking in this time we couldn’t wait to leave and in fact cut our intended stay short. It was as though it was a totally different campground from the one we had enjoyed just a year or so ago.
The previously well stocked shelves of their grocery store now sit empty and bare. The advertised Wifi “to most sites,” which worked throughout the park last time now only worked if your site was next to the office. Anything farther away and campers will not receive anything.
We told them we had a “big rig” and so needed a larger site and they told us that the park was far from full and with that in mind they put us in a medium site right next to another 5th wheel, which left us absolutely zero room to open our slides. After going back to the office we were given a different site but once again not long enough to contain our 5th wheel as well as our truck.
There was no water available but we were told that we could hook up our sewer hose for no extra charge, which might have been nice if we had been able to pry open the rusted on sewer cap to hook our hose up.
I don’t like to write nasty reviews about places we have stayed in and in fact we have not actually had cause to do so other than once before but as far as Calgary West Campground goes, I can’t stress strongly enough how negative I feel about it and to add that we will NEVER stay there again. It makes me wonder if there are now new owners and their main goal is to run it into the ground so that it could be sold or developed into something other than an RV campground.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calgary West Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calgary West Campground

Address: 221 - 101 Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 5T2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Calgary
Number of rooms: 270

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calgary West Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.