We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be right with you....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joey - Chinook

Joey - Chinook
#100A - 6455 Macleod Trail SW | Chinook Mall, Calgary, Alberta T2H 0K8,, Canada (Southwest Calgary)
+1 403-692-6626
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 2,769 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southwest Calgary
Description: Before or after the movie. Before or after shopping or both, this is JOEY Chinook Mall. It's a good thing that gets even better in summer with a rooftop patio.
Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“I'll be right with you....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As this restaurant is in the Chinook Mall complex, it's very convenient to stop by before or after a day of shopping.

Seated promptly by the hostess; were told our server would be 'right with us'. After a few mins another hostess came by to take our drink orders since our server was really, no where in sight.
It was the tail end of the lunch time period and there were many servers walking by our table, so it was impossible which one was assigned to our table. After about 10 mins, a server came by and said that she would 'be right back'. We then observed her go to two other tables with her POS machine to take care of their cheques. When she finally came by to take our orders it was nearly 15 mins!

After expressing our disappointment thus far (as 5-6 other servers walked by our booth numerous times), she took our orders and then came back to advise us that she was going off shift and that another server would be taking care of us. Nice. The replacement server was super cool, thanks Summer.

Our food was tasty but took a while to come out of the kitchen..all for 2 salads. This was after the room filled with some smoke and the fire alarm went off for a bit.

Overall the food experience was good, service originally very disappointing. There seems to be a trend in some of these restaurants that the servers are so assigned to their 'sections' that you are more or less invisible unless you are in theirs. Go for the food but give yourself some extra time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice rooftop patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had lunch here the other day, first time on the rooftop patio, and was pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere. I had the Beach Salad which was good with a freshly grilled chicken breast. However, for the $17. cost I think a few more strawberries, pecans and pieces of goat cheese were warranted. My benchmark for a great salad is the Thai chicken salad ($14.) served by Crazyweed in Canmore and so far no one in the city has come close to it for quality or value.
Our server was pleasant but as someone else had mentioned on a different review site it is a shame that female servers are still getting hired in 2013 based on looks and bodies that can wear tight black clothing. The one male server I noticed certainly wasn't eye candy for the female patrons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Eau Claire better, but staff here is great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Ladies night out and glad we had a reservation before the movie. The staff was upbeat and helpful. Loved our cheerful fast talking waitress. Very accommodating by giving us separate checks. A great way to insure great tips.
The lettuce wrap was not nearly as good as the one at Eau Claire location, too bad because theirs is a step above P F Changs. They had a wonderful mushroom soup and the salad was large enough for two to share. Not a lot of atmosphere but fun anyways.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Early Supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I friend and I dropped by for an early supper on a recent cold and snowy evening
We had a very welcome cup of coffee before ordering
I had the lobster sandwich with a side of yam fries
Everything was hot and delicious and really hit the spot
The staff are always so friendly and welcoming

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Rooftop Patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Believe me there is no where better to go when your wife is in the Chinook Mall shopping, head to Joeys grab a pint and some wings and if it is nice sit in the rooftop patio area, you won't be disappointed. I love going in and watching some of the game over a drink instead of following my wife around when she is shopping, you will too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey - Chinook also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Joey - Chinook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joey - Chinook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.