We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful taste of France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cassis Bistro

Cassis Bistro
2505 17 av SW #105, Calgary, Alberta T3E 7V3, Canada (Downtown)
403 262 0036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 2,871 restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful taste of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This small, funky bistro with movie scenes running against the far wall provides a real touch - and taste - of France, especially the southern part of the country (Provence). I've tried most things on the menu and every single dish was a delight, prepared exquisitely for both taste and sight. Great wine menu and, naturally, you can have cassis and pastis. The service is exemplary. I can hardly wait till my next visit to this little bit of France.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    48
    19
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Even in Cowtown you can be right back in south France! "Formidable!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great neighbourhood gem on 17th Ave SW just west off Crowchild. The interior space is very attractive and cool, with a small bar at the front. If you are a francophile and/or want to refresh your French language skills, most of the staff are fluently bilingual and you can order and converse in French if you like. Staff are very charming and friendly, lots of fun. Owner Gilles comes from Aix-en-Provence by way of San Francisco, and may be on the floor at times assisting with service and visiting. Very unassuming and you may not realize at the time who he is.

Menu is typical French bistro, with limited number of selections. Some may consider it a bit pricey. Wine list limited but with good selections at fair prices. Appetizers of ravioli and calamari were excellent, and large enough to share tastings. The pork chop main was excellent, thick juicy and not overcooked. Steak/frites mains were a bit of a let-down, particularly at the price point. Steak cooked as ordered, but a bit thin and pre-cut into small pieces, and fries were the standard large style and not remarkable. Chef should take things up a notch with this classic (such as locally chef at "Charcut" does), such as with crispy shoestring style fries, and more flavourful steak and seasoning. Dessert of chocolate mousse or fruits are served in small glass preserve jars, and were excellent. Coffee and cappuccinos also great.

Enjoyable French music in the background, and French movies projected on the rear wall (not sure about the movie projection idea, particularly if you are seated just below the screening area, a bit of a distraction for your dining companions!).

Very popular, reservations (via Opentable) highly recommended.There is below ground parking in the building, or try surrounding streets (but avoid those areas/sides of streets which require a neighbourhood resident permit to be able to park, clear notice signs are posted). Located in the Casel Marche building which also has a J.Webb wine store and Market 17 fresh market.

Table tip - the table for four in the back corner by the windows lets you admire the interior space, outside and light, and is a bit more private. Avoid the table in the middle of the back wall under the movie projection area.

If you found this review helpful kindly click on Helpful? below.

Happy dining!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Anniversary dinner so we went all out and had the 6 course chef's selection with wine pairing. The meal was sublime and the wine complimented each course perfectly. There was every attention to detail throughout the evening with a brief description of each course and prompt follow up. A course was to be delivered while my wife was in the restroom but an observant manager was quick to turn around the server and wait. Nothing was hurried, everything was to be enjoyed.
We will be back for sure, the food was French to the core and even the servers spoke French.
One of the desserts was the most perfect meringue we've ever had anywhere.
Indulge in this place it is well worth the splurge!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Two Wonderful Dining Experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have had two dinners in the last month at Cassis...both special occasions. For our first meal, a family meal, we shared the ravioli as an appetizer, then each person at the table ordered a main course, some ordering the special of the night...a mixed grill that they raved about (I tasted the steak and it was grilled to perfection), two had the lamb chops, also meriting raves, and I had the fish special of the evening, mackerel very nicely topping a combination of peppers and onions. A few of us had chocolate fondant for dessert...happy, happy! Since our first meal there had been a memorable one, my husband and I decided to celebrate our anniversary there about two weeks later, . Given our lovely experience at the first meal, we decided to order the 5 course meal with menu items selected by the chef for our anniversary celebration. Wow! Our 5 course meal started with the shrimp salad. The salad with greens and cucumber strips, which were marinated, combined with the marinated shrimp, which tasted quite delicate, had a delightful flavour. We then were served a mackerel dish which was cooked to perfection...my husband's favourite of the whole meal. Next came the ravioli...a repeat from our first meal there that I couldn't have been happier about, since I had loved, loved, loved these the first time we had them. Beautiful flavour and texture. We then were served a beautiful rabbit dish with mustard sauce, delicate in flavour, with roasted fingerling potatoes on the side. We were then presented with the customary bread and cheese board. The cheeses were high quality, with a nice balance of flavours in the assortment. By then, we were quite full, but who could resist the dessert...both a creme brûlée and a chocolate fondant. Sent to heaven by these two. Our waiter was quite pleasant and helpful in pairing wine choices with our courses. Who could have asked for a lovelier way to celebrate an anniversary? Will we be back again? No question.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Neighborhood favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We love Cassis. The service is efficient, friendly and not over bearing. The food is great; seasonal, always changing, perfect southern French style and reasonable prices. The dessert Iles Flotants is out of this world. A definite gem in big, busy Calgary.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cassis Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Cassis Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cassis Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.