We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Model Milk

Model Milk
308 17 Avenue Southwest, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
403-265-7343
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,873 restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: In the old Victor/Victorias Space on 17th Avenue SW Calgary,308 17 Avenue Southwest, Calgary, AB T2G1P3(403) 265-7343 ‎ · modelmilk.ca
CALGARY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Put this place on your do not miss list, food is outstanding and service some of best I have experienced, order the FISH TACOS it is a whole fish and feeds at least 4 people ,great menu from small plates to large plates.

WELL WORTH THE TRIP

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    72
    31
    15
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Loved it! Maybe just the spirit of the season, but I don't think so....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited Model Milk in calgary on December 27 with 3 girlfriends and loved it. Modern, clean interior, but unlike many of the new restaurants it is warm and inviting. Even though it has high warehouse-type ceilings painted white, the natural brick walls, wood floor, and ambient lighting make it cozy and comfortable -- kudos to the designer. This is a high-class establishment but casual and not pretencious at all. The food was exceptional, both in innovation and quality. Prices are higher, but not as high as some in Calgary for less quality. We shared the rabbit and shrimp/chicken spring roll appetizers and both were excellent. Artic char main was great and enjoyed by all -- cooked to perfection. Service was attentive and our server was very knowledgeable about the offerings. The menu is very creative and you will have choices never seen before on a Calgary menu! The portions are on the smaller size, which worked very well for the four of us -- it allows for an appetizer, main and dessert, without feeling like you swallowed a bus. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had heard about this restaurant in the Calgary Herald and wanted to try it out ourselves. We really enjoy trying new places to eat in the city but you don't always get what you had hoped for.
The four of us spend alot of time going over the interesting menu and the waiter was particularly helpful answering all of our questions with genuine friendliness and knowledge. The girls settled on two smaller plates each and the guys had the wallebe and lamb. Yummy is all we can say... the mix of flavors were delicious and unique. The beet salad is to die for and |I thought our friend was going to faint over the apple pie.The atmosphere is very hip and cozy, the only downfall is when it's full, it is noisy. If you can handle that you WILL NOT be disappointed. Can't wait to go back and try the fish tacos.Best service and server in a long time and we appreciated it!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place - Awsome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been to model milk several times as is right around the corner from where I live. I understand that not everyone will agree with me as people have different tastes. I also completely understand that some people may not have a great time there (food or service wise) because it is a really busy place.

The menu is small, 6 appies, 6 small mains, 6 large mains and 2-3 sharing dishes. If you can find something there that you like it is fantastic. If you love the Earl's giant sized menu this is not the place for you. The food is always fantastic. I normally get the fresh flown in East coast oysters and the Pig( this is pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon). How can you go wrong with that. I do wish it was one bite bigger but I am fine with that. You can taste the skill and quality that is in the food.

The service is always great. When it gets busy maybe you have to wait an extra coupe of minutes but you don't go there to get in and out quickly.

The atmosphere is great. There is a small and cosy front lounge and the back is lined with wood and sparsely decorated, and it works. It flows nicely and you get a casual but upscale feeling.

Cost: This is not McDonald. Drop in for some beers, $15-20. Dinner with someone around $60-80 but it is totally worth it.

If you go there and like it you will love it. If you go there and don't like it, that's fine it may not be what you are into.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The name is a little odd, but once you get there, it all comes together. The ebb and flow of the once milk factory has hints of old fashioned milk glass, and canisters, but there are none. It is clean, honest and seriously good food. The menue is hard to read, bring specs if you need them, but very cool menues, and concept to them. It is kid friendly, but more on Sundays, when they do a family dinner concept, old-school where the food comes in large platters piping hot, and plump full of flavor... with much to share around, for all kinds of palate. The servers are deightful, and warm. A great great place for a corporate event, of all sizes. This group knows how to get it done, and well. 5 stars in my books, I love it every time. Oh and if you get the chance, try every item on the menue. And they are good at recommending paring wines too...

I have had every type of visit here, expept solo... all were great.

Call ahead!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Model Milk also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Model Milk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Model Milk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.