We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YU-UM!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Double Zero

Double Zero
751 4th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #387 of 2,873 restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Excellent Woodfired artisan pizza and Italian Food
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“YU-UM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just got back from Double Zero, I have wanted to go for months and finally got the chance. Their wine selection by the glass is great, check out the prosecco, it was flying off the shelves. We had the salami for our pizza rosso and the mushroom for pizza bianco, both absolutely wonderful. In addition to the great food, the atmosphere is alive. Our server was fabulous and was very excited to find out it was our first time at Double Zero...nice! For you wine drinkers out there, I noticed one of the servers checking a glass for cleanliness before using it...nice touch, I hate getting a glass with lipstick. Hope this review helps!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    11
    26
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Gluten Free!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place is great, very busy so book your reservation in advance....for those of us who cannot eat the gluten they have a terrific selection of gluten free on their menu, pay a bit extra for it but it's very much worth it...very very busy at lunch time. Service was terrific.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pretty flavorless pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The service at this restaurant is second to none. The atmosphere was noisy but that was to be expected with the type of restaurant. The pizza itself was just ok. There was absolutely no spice in the sauce, not even a flake of basil on top. If it weren't for the Pancetta I added extra there would be no taste. The crust was the best part, and there was a lack of cheese. I know Italian stlye pizza is supposed to be simple but it should at least taste like something.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Casual atmosphere and located right downtown. Tasty food. Can be very busy at lunch so make a reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The salad had more cheese than the pizza!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I were very excited about going here for dinner, but we were dissappointed. When we came in, we were asked to sit at the bar because all the tables were already taken (even though only a handful of tables were actually occupied). I guess that means that you have to make a reservation here if you actually want to eat at a table.

We ordered a salami pizza and a radicchio salad. The salad was lined in so much gorgonzola that you would think it was free! The pizza itself had a single layer of tomato sauce and one of salami sprinkled with a few flakes of what should have been goat cheese.

I have to say, I would only recommend this place for a casual drink for its atmosphere as our dinner experience was disappointing and overpriced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Zero also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Double Zero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Zero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.