We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar Marlborough

The Keg Steakhouse & Bar Marlborough
425 36th Street N E | T2A 6K3, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-235-5858
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 2,769 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We went as a family to the Keg 2 weks ago and the food was great. Great portions and the service was very good. Will definetely go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    8
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Service with a smile and excellent food! What more can you ask for??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

It's been at least ten years since I've been to this location. My memories of The Keg were always over priced food and half assed service. But this time it was different. The Keg still looks the same, as I remember it... But WOW!! What a difference this time. We had a party of five and our service was perfect. One of our guests is pretty hard to serve. More like a servers nightmare. He needs everything and more. For example, his drink is a cesar so he wants a tall glass, easy salt, vodka on the side, ice on the side. Extra lemon on the side. My god!! It's one drink but it takes 6 glasses to serve it. Then to order his meal it's a good ten minutes discussing the horse raddish. Poor guy handled it perfect. Not only did he get everyone's order right but he managed to get everything including a great tip out of our hard to serve guest. He was simply perfect!! Spenser was our server tonight and I really can't say enough about him. He really knows how to keep the guests happy. He is very good at his job. I really appreciate good service and it's not easy to find anymore so if you are thinking about heading to The Keg for a night out I would definitely recommend sitting in Spenser's section. You will get great service. Your food will still be hot. You won't be disappointed. Thank you for a great dining experience tonight Spenser. We had a great meal and our overly needy guest really appreciated you taking the time to get his crazy order right. And to find out the name of the Horse Raddish you served. Lol.. thanks again. You rock!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was very impressed with the service and quality of food at this location. Very informative staff with quick service and punctuality with checking up on you during your order. Great food and awesome quality. Would be hard to top the service at this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Illinois
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Overall good but some areas for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We sat in the bar area so we could watch hockey (duh) and the service was good.

However we had a few issues with drinks (flat beer, mixed drinks that were not supposed to be) and a long wait for our food.

Overall the food was good and we enjoyed the chance to watch two games at a time in the bar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Needs a little work!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I generally don't have problems at "The Keg". It is usually one of those restaurants that is always good and no fail. I haven't been to this location before in the many years I have lived in Calgary. The waiter was just OK. He started to ask how the meal was before we even took a bite. Then we saw never him again. I had the Sirloin Oscar. Ok, I know this isn't the best cut of meat, but at the Keg it is generally pretty good. The first 3 bites all had gristle, it didn't get better. It is a shame the waiter didn't come back to get those comments. The shrimp and scallops were the worst I have ever had there. Very tough and rubbery. I was very disappointed. The waiter didn't ask if we wanted dessert or coffee at the end of our meal. Again disappointing. Maybe a bad night, maybe that is always the way it is there. Who knows!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse & Bar Marlborough also viewed

 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse & Bar Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keg Steakhouse & Bar Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.