We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Calgary to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada (Southeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
BOYLE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

last two times i have stayed there, there has been a very strong odor in the mornings, say aruond 6-7 o clock which smells like cigarette smoke. it is actually so strong it wakes me up. as a non-smoker it it bothersome.
also, when i get to check in.... sometimes you can stand there for 5 minutes before one of the staff acknowledge you, i know they are busy, but a simple smile rather than being ignored. i almost left this last time.
i rate quietness low , as the mini fridge compressors are very loud and delivery truck in early moring outside of window.(back up alarms)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you 466kmac for taking time from your schedule to review your recent stays with us. I apologize for any time you have had to wait to check in or have not been acknowledged upon arrival. That is not up to our standards and I will remind the front desk team of the proper procedure.

I have put a note on your profile requesting to be placed on the back of the hotel overlooking the police station instead of the hotel parking lot to avoid any noise pollution. Maintenance will take a look at the fridge in your last room to ensure it is in working order.

During your previous two stays, you were in different areas of the hotel so I am unsure where the cigarette odour could be coming from. If you experience this again during your next stay with us, please call the front desk immediately so we are able to investigate. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free. Any guest who wishes to smoke must do so outside.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    104
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
102
48
9
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PLAMONDON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Travelling on business, I can count on the rooms to be clean, comfortable and staff to be courteous. Wifi is good quality, and rooms allow workspace with plugins for laptops. Breakfast included is good, simple meal which is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks WR1234_12 for your kinds words. I am glad our amenities suit your needs. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have been staying at this hotel regularly over the last 5 years. Service, comfort and quality have always been outstanding. Rooms are impeccable. A pleasurable experience when away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you Rebecca for taking time from your schedule to write a review of your time with us. We are are pleased that we are able to make your stays with us for the past five years pleasurable and we hope you continue to choose the Wingate Calgary for your future trips to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Quality of front desk people is very good and marks the diference in this hotel. Housekeeping can be improved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you Eric for reviewing your recent stay at the Wingate Calgary. I am very glad that the front desk team makes the difference for you each time you stay!

Your comment has been passed on to our executive housekeeper and she will ensure her team is aware as well. Please feel free to call me at 403-514-0099 to provide me with greater detail.

Thanks again, we will see you on your next trip to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Have stayed at this property many times. The staff is EXCELLENT! The rooms are nice, but need a good cleaning. Behind the bathroom door and the tub surround are quite disgusting. The breakfast is nice, a little crowded at times. Location is good and prices fair.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you Wendy for taking time to review your recent stay at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. I am very happy to hear you find our staff excellent. I have to agree that we have a great team here!

I have passed on your comments about the bathroom cleanliness to our executive housekeeper and she will address your concerns with her group.

I agree with you that our breakfast room is not always large enough to accommodate all the guests that arrive for breakfast at once. During our busy weekends we have one of our meeting rooms available for overflow when it is available. We have found this helps out when all want to eat at the same time!

Thanks again Wendy, we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LETHBRIDGE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The front desk staff are great especially Renaldo. He is very friendly & professional & always remembers who I am when I stay there. He always makes everyone feel special including my nephews when they come to see me at the hotel. A great hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks so much Gina for taking time to rate your recent stay with us. We are lucky to have such great staff and I am pleased Ronaldo makes your stay so great. Keep us in mind for your next trip to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMROSE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stay here from time to time for both business and pleasure. Cleanest and competetively priced for the area. work out room was up to date and the pool area was clean. The continental breakfast was good 1 day and bad teh next day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review your past stays with us. I am glad you enjoy our facilities and have been here for both business and leisure!

I would be interested in hearing from you to discuss your breakfast issue on the second day of your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our offerings and welcome any guest feedback, good or bad.

Please call me at 403-514-0099 if you wish to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary

Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#12 Business Hotel in Calgary
#12 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.