We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Calgary

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Calgary to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Calgary
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada (Southeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swift Current, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We came upon this hotel, rather by accident. After arriving late in the city, and neglecting to book a room ahead of time, our 'usual' hotel was full. The Wingate had one room left, so we quickly grabbed it. We were very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, very clean, and the hotel was very quiet, despite being full. Parking is easy. The staff is excellent, particularly Ronaldo, who went out of his way to make us feel welcome. He is observant, attentive and friendly. The Wingate is now our new 'usual. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you Terri625 for your kind words about not only your stay but also Ronaldo. I have passed on your review to the staff and management team who are all pleased with such a glowing review.

We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    104
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
102
48
9
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

quiet, good sized rooms. decent continental breakfast.
This property has a good fitness area as well as pool and water-slide.
Restaurant/pub across the parking lot has good food and beverages with lots of big screens.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you Gr8Canadian for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our fittness centre, pool and waterslide as well as get a chance to enjoy the Darby Arms pub.

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday evening for a wedding. It was clean and quiet and the front desk staff were friendly and were accommodating. Plenty of free onsite self parking. We had a family suite with two queen beds and a pull out couch, and a single bathroom. Beds were comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was the make your own toast variety, but there was hot good tasting coffee and some selection of things to eat. They made an effort to keep the area clean and stocked. There is an adequate pool area and a fitness area, though we didn't have time to try either. There is a McDonalds about a 10 minute walk away.

We stayed there during Stampede week, so the cost seemed high for what is good basic accommodation on the outskirts, but I expect their regular rates would be more reasonable. A good choice for businessmen who have to stay in Southern Calgary or perhaps a family traveling north-south through Calgary, as it is not all that far off the Deerfoot.

Room Tip: We had a room that was opposite to the parking lot in front of the building. We were looking at some...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you Full_Nelson_12 for taking time out of your day to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our expanded deluxe continental breakfast while you were with us.

A few weeks each year our rates are higher than other times. This is due to our close proximity to the Spruce Meadows show jumping facilities and of course Stampede.

I hope you keep us in mind for your next trip to Calgary. You will have to give our pool and fitness centre a try the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband, our 12 yr. old son, and I checked in the evening of July 21. We had no reservation, and the hotel was close to full. Ronaldo bent over backwards to fit us into a room that not only met our needs, but exceeded our expectations.

The facility was beautiful, we enjoyed the king suite. It was a spacious two room space with a huge, spectacular jacuzzi bathroom. The service was good, and the complimentary breakfast offered plenty of choice.

Thank you Ronaldo and Wingate for making our visit so pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you AB_Travellor for your kind words not only about our hotel, but also about Ronaldo! I am delighted that Ronaldo exceeded your expectations and will share your review with the staff and management team.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are doing business south of Calgary, this hotel offers pleasant accomodations. Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, good water pressure!
WIreless Internet is spotty, sometimes good speed, but was mostlt fairly slow from my perspective; Breakfast provided is convenient, but I guess I'd go out if I had to do it again.

Would stay again based on comfort and quality, if I needed to visit customers in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you Pete L for posting a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and would stay with us again suring your next trip to Calgary.

We are currently looking into different options for our complimentary wireless internet and should have a solution in place within the next few months.

I am interested in receiving more feedback about your breakfast comment. While we feel we provide an expansive selection of quality items, we may be overlooking something that would make our complimentary breakfast even better. If you wish to discuss this with me, you can call us at 403-514-0099.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for the Stampede. The staff is super friendly! The waterslide is such a bonus to the pool area. Overall it was very enjoyable. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks Kari M for your review of your stay with us. I am delighted we were able to make your trip to Calgary so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel. First of all, if you are a 1st time tourist to Calgary, this hotel is at the very far south end, far from the airport, downtown and most tourist attractions. Close to Shawnessy big box shopping area and restaurants.
The location suits our needs perfectly though and there are not a lot of other hotels in the area.The price on our previous stay was quite reasonable but it was way too high this trip although this was during Stampede and Calgary hotels all double or triple the usual prices.
This hotel appears to have more business travelers than families.

The rooms are pretty standard and very clean and we have had a king suite with a pullout couch for the kids both times and they are very spacious. They accommodated us with an early check in but put us in the wrong room type; however, apologized and corrected it promptly. I noticed some small dogs staying in the hotel but there were no pet odors of any kind in our room. Our room this time #221 had a problem with the deadbolt not locking properly and the cards not working 100% of the time either. It was on the backside of the hotel facing the police station and was very quiet.

The breakfast is okay, lots of space and doesn't feel crowded. A new toaster that actually toasts would be a good improvement.

The best part of the hotel is the waterslide. We had to ask them to turn it on for us in the morning both times we have stayed, so if it is not running don't assume it isn't working. It is high and fast and our 4 & 6 year olds love it, and we have a lot of fun on it too. Bring lifejackets or water wings for the kids as the pool is around 5 feet deep at the bottom of the slide. The pool that it comes out into is rather small but we've always had the pool area to ourselves or only had to share it with a few other people so it wasn't a big issue. The front desk has cameras in there so when some teens were not using the slide safely they came in and reminded them of the rules. The hot tub is nice and hot BUT the jets do not work. They didn't work on this trip and they also didn't work back when we stayed in January, please fix this!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin A, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you Travelling_Mumma for taking the time out of your schedule to review your second stay with us.

I apologize for the delay at check in but I am glad everything was sorted out straight away.

As you mentioned, we do allow dogs and cats in the hotel. After a room is vacated that had a pet in it, our housekeeping team removes all linens from the room and shampoos the carpet. We do this to ensure there is no hair remaining in the room for the next guest.

I have passed on your comments about the deadbolt and lock to our Maintenance Manager and he will make sure everything is in working order.

We have checked the toaster in our breakfast area as you had mentioned it doesn't toast. Our thinking is that the guest before you could have adjusted the temperature and speed dials on the toaster, causing it to not toast the bread to your satisfaction. During your next stay, if the same problem arrises, mention it to our breakfast attendant and they will check the toaster temperature.

I am glad you were able to find some time during your trip to play in the pool. To conserve energy, we do not have the waterslide running if the pool is vacant but can have it up and running in a matter of minutes. Thank you for mentioning the hot tub jets. Our Maintenance Manager is looking into a new pump to make the jets in the hot tub more powerful. Hopefully this is installed for your next stay!

Thank you again Travelling_Mumma and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Calgary

Address: 400 Midpark Way SE, Calgary, Alberta T2X 3S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Calgary
#11 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#12 Family Hotel in Calgary
#12 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Calgary 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business is what we do best at the Wingate by Wyndham Calgary. Use our 24-hour business center to fax, photocopy and use the net - all free of charge. You can also surf the net in your guest room with our free high speed internet access. Relax & relieve stress after a long day by working out in our fitness centre, swim in the pool, and finish off by relaxing in the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Calgary Hotel Calgary
Wingate Calgary Hotel
Calgary Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Calgary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.