We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, Helpful staff, smoky airport shuttle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
2420-37 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8S6, Canada (Northeast Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, Helpful staff, smoky airport shuttle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for two nights, and as usual, chose the hotel based on TA reviews. My first impression wasn't great - I called from the airport for the shuttle to collect me, and was told they would leave right away, but it would take 20 minutes (a bit of a surprise for an airport hotel). Turns out there are major permanent road closures around the airport, due to the expansion/addition of a runway. The shuttle van arrived, and the interior was terribly smoky. Sitting in the back, with no operable window, I asked the driver to open a window up front, which he promptly did, but with no apology for the smoke. I would hope that the hotel would have a no-smoking policy for their shuttle. In any case, the hotel was fine - clean and modern. Hot water for tea was actually hot at all hours. The return shuttle was ready, at my request, at 4:45 a.m., with a cheerful driver, amd a smoke-free interior :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    119
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
76
87
34
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night before heading to Banff. Nice staff, quiet property, very restful. It's your usual Hampton Inn with free breakfast and wifi. It's not the newest Hampton Inn of them all, but it was clean and all was in good order. I do not like the faucet in the bathroom, it's a low flow water faucet and it sprays water everywhere and water pressure is not good. Just hate those things. Chili's restaurant next door is good for supper or lunch, you can just walk there. Since you're in Calgary, you need a car to do or go anywhere, the hotel is in a business park setting and is not pedestrian or transit friendly at all. I walked to the McDonald's and Husky gas station for snacks and water and it's a strange walk since there is no sidewalk in some areas. Calgary is the most car oriented place I've ever been to and I've been to Houston, Texas... so that says it all. I would return and would recommend for a good night of sleep!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car. Not pedestrian friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We wanted somewhere that was close to the airport and convenient for the Trans Canada Highway to stay for one night and this hotel was perfect. Our flight was delayed and immigration really busy so we didn't check in until gone 11pm, being tired and grumpy I was concerned that they wouldn't hold the room, but there was no issues and the check in staff were really friendly. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. I was surprised at the choice available for breakfast and as a non coffee drinker, I particularly liked the wide range of herbal tea bags available.
This hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We looked for a clean, well-managed hotel near the Calgary Airport for an overnight stay. We found the Hampton Inn & Suites and we liked our stay there. A nice bonus is added to the rate, which is a great hot breakfast. The hotel also provides shuttle service to and from the airport. The hotel adheres to the high standards of the Hampton Inn hotel chain.

No negative comments, except for the fact that the hotel is located in an office business complex area with no restaurants in walking distance, except one fast food which is closed at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The staff and appearance of the lobby were excellent but the hotel is older and feels like it needs a reno. The room was not clean - there were stains on the toilet seats and around the washroom, the in-room coffee maker was not cleaned properly. High speed internet was convenient and the location was good, close to the airport. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Mostly a business traveler hotel but does a good job with it. Rooms were clean and breakfast was satisfying. Several restaurants and shopping nearby. Can't go wrong with staying here before or after a flight.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn near the airport in Calgary. The staff is very helpful, the rooms well appointed and very clean. We were able to leave our vehicle there while on vacation and the hotel had a shuttle available to take us to the airport and pick us up at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport

Address: 2420-37 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 8S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
#8 Family Hotel in Calgary
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#14 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Calgary-Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary-Airport Hotel Calgary
Hampton Inn Calgary
Calgary Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.