We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but doesn't make you feel welcome” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M4L2, Canada (Northwest Calgary)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members up to 10% off
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Calgary
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but doesn't make you feel welcome”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Hampton is a lovely, clean hotel. BUT.. I haven't had a great experience as a participant in a course held there over the past couple of days. It's been embarrassing to keep hearing "oh the course provider needs to pay extra for that..." and "oh that's not included in the price of the conference package", etc. There are no washrooms in the vicinity of the conference room and you need to pay to use the ones on the floor below. Today was the ultimate disappointment and awkwardness. In an effort to cut down our lunch break (hotel doesn't have a restaurant and walk to neighboring restaurants in today's blizzard was cold and time consuming), I collected requests from my fellow participants and ordered delivery in. The poor instructor was at the brunt of the hotel's anger. Apparently we (the participants) are not allowed to get food delivery. I really don't understand what harm or cost we caused the hotel. If they served food I would totally understand the unwelcome competition. I hope the course provider doesn't book this hotel again. I feel completely unwelcome and have warned my own company not to book this hotel for travelers coming in for business purposes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to us via Trip Advisor. The Organiser of the Meeting was privy to our terms & conditions prior to arranging the Meeting and should have communicated this to you. We do have a Caterer whose services were offered to the Meeting Organiser who turned down the offer, taking into consideration that many restaurants are within a 5 minute walk of the Hotel.
However, please know that your satisfaction is important to us and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet your expectations moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    105
    47
    7
    11
See reviews for
98
42
18
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellvue, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Food is average to poor. The room is not good for a business traveler. It has no amenities for a desk , power bar, proper chair and lighting. The room is where overpriced for the value. The room is worth about $129, not $189 a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The Manager did contact you personally to get further information on your comments and we were happy to hear you mention you would love to return to the Hotel. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

If in the NW motel village is the place to stay, off Crowchild and next to the Banff Trail C-train station. The staff here is excellent, helpful, and friendly. I had to make two special requests during my stay and it was taken care of instantly. The pool and waterside are excellent (my 4 year old was in heaven) and the complimentary breakfast is a feast. We stayed for 7 days and had a new hot item every morning along with the usual muffins, oatmeal, yogurt and fruit. We stayed in a suite which included a full size fridge and small cooktop (this was not listed in the description so a pleasant surprise) as well as dishwasher and microwave. It was a nice little apartment for a family stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. We look forward to you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My second time here, friendly staff and nice service,
this place was renovated from my last stay a couple of years ago. much improved.

would have given 5 if not for the below

PARKING WAS SCARCE TO BE FAIR THIS PLACE WAS SOLD OUT.
the pool was not warm enough both times i stayed here. breakfast with hot food nice.
could be more flexible with the early arrivals. I was early for my stay and had to wait 1 hr where as their reward member and regular guests were given preference over me.

Room Tip: get in early if you need a choice of floor or room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is nice and close to the university if you have business there but is also right off 16th so it is easy to get pretty much anywhere from here. It is in a but of a wasteland of other budget type hotels but this seems to be by far the best. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Nice to have heated underground parking when the weather gets bad. The complementary breakfast offered a good selection if items. Staff was very friendly and helpful and there is a small shop to purchase snacks, water and essentials. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The complimentary Breakfast was excellent, The rooms are clean and Quiet. The staff is Friendly. There is heated underground parking although your vehicle has to be under 6'3" There is a pool with water slide and a hot tub

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Rooms have microwave and fridge, hotel is close to major amenities and attractions. Pool is nice. Staff is friendly and the breakfast has a few hot items. Pastries and fruit selection could be better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Sales & Marketing at Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Both, Management & Staff "thank you" for your great comments and are happy to hear "it is your favorite place to stay in Calgary".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest

Address: 2231 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M4L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Calgary
#18 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#25 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully decorated and appointed rooms and suites. Large lobby with gas fireplace. Continental breakfast with hot items in Breakfast area. Swimming pool with waterslide, hot tub and fitness area. Free WiFi, business centre Underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest Hotel Calgary
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Hampton Inn Calgary
Calgary Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.